We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goodweekend break”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“goodweekend break”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

excellent food excellent entertainment a good weekend break i would recommend to anyone we pick it because a month earlier we stayed in the cliffs hotel and the children walking on stage around the artist spoiled the nights

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audreylfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    413
    98
    33
    24
See reviews for
105
636
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry Northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Enjoyed our stay last weekend in the Viking. Rooms very clean and cleaned every day we were there. Our waiter Wilf was very efficient helpful and made us very welcome. The only thing I would say that the reception staff could do with more training some not very sure of services offered.. All in all a good weekend and comfortable stay. And by the way food excellent and good choice.

Room Tip: Book a sea view as we were looking out onto a sal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotdogbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

very good hotel stayed here four or five times ln the last few years staying for our 44th wedding anniversary in june 2011,The rooms are a bit dated but the food entertainment and the politeness of the staff more than make up for this.We think buddy lee is hillarious,and my wife and i think the husband and wife duet oxygen are brilliant and we are both in our sixties

Room Tip: rooms over kitchens extractor fans bit noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronte12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

food top class all staff friendly and very helpfuf our room was nice and clean but had no shower when we mentioned this we were given another room the viking is near the south pier looking onto the sea front you dont have to go out on a night because talk of the coast is part of the hotel entertanment cannot be beaten in blackpool we go to the viking hotel often and always look forward to our next holiday

Room Tip: say what you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just returned from the viking after two nights. First time stay at this hotel will be back. Fab time buddy lee so funny everybody very freindly / helpful. Only downside bedrooms very hot.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millhilllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Our needs were met in total with this hotel with an excellent twin room, good food with ideal meal times, extremely friendly reception, very well laid out cabarat room with entertainment to meet all tastes. Having left in the bedroom with an Apple Mains Unit left in a socket, only noticed on our return home, was promptly found and posted on within two days - excellent service. Always leave the best to last - NO children running around greating mahem whilst their parents "went missing".

Thank you The Viking and Choice Hotels we will be seeing you again when winter comes!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The service was excellent from reception, bars and restaurant. The rooms I booked for my party were the ones I requested when booking and were up to the usual standard. The location (shops etc) in the surrounding area i.e. Bond Street, are extremely poor but obviously this is no fault of Choice Hotels but the local council. We like the South as there are things to do but is quieter than Central but not as quiet as North.

I much prefer the self service breakfast and making own toast. This is much better than eating cold toast as before.

The only disappointment really was that Daz was not working in the bars as much as usual as we have become to know and like this friendly and jolly lad. The fact that Buddy Lee was away on holiday when we visited was a little disappointing but we understand he also needs his holidays but was missed by quite a few guests. I felt there were more vocalists and not as many comediens as before and I would have preferred more comediens especially the likes of Terry Cotta and Carl Schofield.

I would lastly like to give special thanks to Carole and Chris in the Cafe Bar, Paul in the Bars and Zoe and Wilf in the Restaurant.

One thing I have forgotten is Please stop Ian from calling Bingo because as you will appreciate we are playing for money and all the interruptions he brings to the game are not acceptable and also please try to ensure that non-residents do not play as this year
one couple who were non-residents but visiting residents won over £200 on the last evening.

Room Tip: Room 119 is a lovely large double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,074 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,984 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing