We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rita Griffiths and friends We had the Best laugh and melted the winter blues away”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rita Griffiths and friends We had the Best laugh and melted the winter blues away”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went on the 5th Feb 2012 Sun-Friday all inclusive it was absolutely fabulous the weather was faily good for this time of year.Food was very good chef special was to die for..Entertainment was excellent Terry Cotta Buddy Lee and Carl Schofield kept us laughing no winter blues when you stop at the viking. Our friend who has difficult walking and needed a wheel chair(Even though it does not cater for people with disabilities due to the amount of stairs) was well looked after, nothing was to much trouble for the staff I cant wait to go back very soon well worth it..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    412
    98
    33
    24
See reviews for
105
635
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

we went in january for the all inclusive week, it was absolutely marvellous,great food, great entertainment amd the staff bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. will definately be returning

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainem1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Recent 5 day stay at Viking was the fourth in the last 18 months which speaks for itself.As usual the room was clean and adequate and we now have little difficulty in finding our way up/down the right stairs,the correct lift and the corridor to our room.The food was as good as you will get anywhere and the staff were friendly, obliging and very hard working. Another plus point is that you can usually get your car parked and get in and out without being jammed in. Will certainly book again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFWorkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Went with group of friends. Food excellent, hotel bright and clean, situated on promenade at South Pier. 10 min bus ride into Blackpool town centre. Nightly entertainment fantastic, with very good money prize Bingo slot in between . Only downside was too many stairs. Seems to be 2 buildings joined together with a lift for each side of the building. The lifts do not serve all floors and the cabaret room is in the basement. Dining room is on first floor. A bit of a problem for the elderly or disabled as too many stairs. Staff wonderful, rooms cleaned every day, all en-suite. Part of "Choice Hotel" group which has a good reputation.

Room Tip: make sure there is adequate heating if going in cold months
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valhallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsford
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

What a great all inclusive break we have had at the Viking. From start to finish the staff were very good and pleasent the entertainment could not have been better the restaurant staff and the food was better than some hotels we have stayed at. It was our first time at the Viking but family we were with have stayed once or twice before and all they said about it was true. The bar staff looked after us very well even though it was inclusive the bar area was allways clear.
Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greybadgerheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Once again another lovely weekend at the Viking. The food you get for the price you pay is very good although now it is all inclusive you can see where the cut backs have been made, (no choice with bread rolls and more of a help yourself routine) There are new windows in the bar area (double glazed) so maybe they are starting to update the hotel bit by bit. Rooms were clean and plenty of towels although the heater was a bit hit and miss but luckily it wasn't too cold. The entertainment on the friday night was not too good, Buddy Lee seemed to be flagging and his act seemed a little tired although Terry Cotta revived the evening and was brilliant. Saturday night Buddy Lee was back on form so perhaps he was having an off day on the friday. All in all a good weekend and the all inclusive is the way forward so take note all you other Blackpool Hotels.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chickalaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

the week we had was good ,food and entertainment good only jeff lee spoilt it he was rubbish ,and on web sight it says smoking rooms and you stopped it ,the facilitys was very poor as there was no roof or sides on thesmoking area ,our friends booked for smokin rooms but when they got to know there was no smoking it was too late to book any where else we have come to viking for at leased 7 years but we will not be back if nothing is done about smoking facilitysso i hope you see into this - cpinkney stayed 22/01/12 -26/01/12 room number 119

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chistine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
3,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,073 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing