We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time.”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Viking Hotel and really did enjoy it. We had stayed here a few years ago but in the Winter time so it was a bit quieter then but plenty of people here this time around.
First of all check in was very quick and the receptionists very friendly and helpful,were informative and able to tell my husband where to get the bus from to go to The Open.
We were in a room at the back of the hotel and had a view of the police station but that didn't bother us at all. We'd booked early in the year and got a really good deal for bed and breakfast. The room wasn't massive but it suited our needs for our short stay there. There was a kettle in the room with the usual coffee, tea bags, milk and sugar which we used when we arrived and they were replenished the next day. I had forgotten my hair dryer but was able to hire one from reception for 10 pounds deposit which was returned when we checked out. The bathroom had a couple of small bars of soap and sachets of body wash, plenty of towels (which were changed the following day) and a lovely hot, powerful shower. The bathroom was nothing special and quite basic but served it's purpose.
The bed was very comfortable and we both slept really well but we did find the room was a bit hot even though the heating wasn't on. Just one of those things but again it didn't bother us too much.
Breakfast is served from 8.30 until 10.00 and we were there around 9ish. Staff here, again, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is self service but that's just how we like it. We enjoyed cereal, toast, full English, tea/coffee and fresh orange juice. It really did fill us up for most of the day and it was nice food.
The cafe bar is a nice place to chill out and look at the views. I ordered a cheese toastie one afternoon (I was a golf widow that day) which came with a bit of salad and some crisps and cost just under 4 pounds and it was very nice. I had a chat with the lady that does food and she was lovely and even offered to make a sandwich for my husband for when he got back from the golf. Excellent service:)
Chose this hotel because we knew it had the Talk of the Coast for the entertainment. Have to say that the entertainment is really good. Buddy Lee is a great compere and comedian and can really work his audience well.
Overall we had a great stay at The Viking. The staff (and I mean all of them) are probably the nicest and friendliest we have ever met. Not one grumpy staff member......that's got to be a first lol.
Hoping to book up and return there soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HEVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We visted the Viking Hotel in Blackpool at Jubilee week.
This is one of many visits we have paid to this hotel, and once again it didn't dissappoint.
Rooms cleaned every day, towels changed whenever you want them and room spacious and comfy.
The food is to die for, and always has been, and you really do get ample on your plate. Ther is a great choice of all courses, and you can enjoy tea or coffee in the lounge opposite the restaurant after your meal
Breakfast is now self service, which is great because you can pick exactly what you want, and there is a great choice.
We were all-inclusive so lunches were laid on a well and afternoon tea one afternoon.
There is nightly entertainment, with a compere, singer, dancers and a comedian in there own cabaret room.
Allin all a great time.
We usually go back at least once a year we enjoy it so much

Room Tip: You can ask for a specific room number, type of room or floor level, and if available they are usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mags1Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hi all you holiday goers. Told you I would be back!! haha
I am writing this sat in their upstairs bar using their Wifi after just filling my face!! lol
yes the breakfast here is just that good! "All you can eat" Yes please ;)
was in the talk of the coast last night and Buddy lee gets better!

Right, better get a move on. lets hope the weather clears up!! :)
love this place! well done you guys :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went in a large group of females for a birthday celebration. The majority of us had a wonderful experience however a few in the group found certain facilities not quite up to scratch.

1) Upon arrival we were allocated a room which only had a bath. There wasn't even an attachment on the taps to provide that functionality. (I for one have never been to a hotel which didn't offer showering facilities and most people we spoke to found this strange!). Due to this we asked for a room change, they only had one room available in the whole hotel and it was an "upgrade" but we took it.

2) The upgraded room had a lovely sea view and was very spacious however after closer inspection we found it wasn't quite as clean as the first. We found a small cockroach, two insects that looked like caterpillars in the towels, a used contact lens on the dressing table and the shower tray was visibly filthy between the tiles. After walking round in bare feet we had to wipe our feet before putting our shoes on as the carpet had made them black with dirt. On contacting reception they offered a deep clean. We were completely satisfied with the results.

3) we were with people who had limited mobility and telephoned the hotel to ask if this would be a problem - we were told that there were lifts. Although this statement is factually correct this doesn't adequately describe the disabled facilities. There are no ramps to cover the 7 stairs to enter the building. The restaurant is located on the 1st floor which has at least 7 stairs (if you go the very long way) or 14 (if you go the short way). I have subsequent found a paragraph on the website which says that:

"accessibility surveys at our hotels have identified hazards at the Viking Hotel and Keswick Country House Hotel, which cannot reasonably or practically be overcome. These hotels are therefore unsuitable for those with limited mobility. "

unfortunately this was hidden in the booking conditions!!!

3) It was pretty obvious that one of the acts booked for the first nights(fri) entertainment had cancelled however instead of explaining this to those watching and putting some music on that we could have perhaps danced to, we were subjected to an hours worth of improv. Great for the first 5 mins but extremely tedious thereafter.

Now for the positives:

The food was excellent with a good selection.
The staff were friendly and helpful
The location is right outside a tram stop so therefore all of Blackpool is easily accessable
The 2nd night of entertainment was brilliant and afterwards we danced the night away (even i was surprised to see my Gran up at 2am!!)
The five other rooms were very nice and clean

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but don't be afraid to ask them to reclean the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairebailey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

we booked in the viking to see a comedian we know, unfortunately he was not on this time, my own fault forgot he was away, anyhow arrived on the 13th july, was told room not quite ready for which they appologised, no problem just left luggage and went for walk, on return room ready, reception staff lovely, explained everything to us, and booked our table in talk of the coast, room lovely, down to evening meal shown to table which is now ours for our stay, staff lovely again. jacq really friendly, cabaret really good, bar staff great, hello paul, cant really find fault with anything, had a fabulous weekend, great food, great entertainment, laugh a minute, will be going back.

Room Tip: room 119 lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misty081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just spent a weekend at The Viking Blackpool, Hotel, Food and Cabaret amazing, staff so very friendly and helpful, would recommend to all couples, this is a child free hotel and for us it was a brilliant break, still laughing at the cabaret which was really top class.

The only complaint is all my clothes have shrunk a little after all the food and drink, will have to diet before my next visit!! Thanks to all the staff!!

Kelvin Metcalfe
Lancashire

Room Tip: If booking, its worth paying extra for a sea view room as some of the back rooms have a few steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

just stayed at the viking this was our 3rd year there. the food was outstanding with a menu to suit everyone very varied and as always left the table full.. the entertainment was very good buddy lee was just as funny this time around overall the whole experience was well worth it the staff were very helpful and polite if you are looking for a hotel which offers exellent service, food and entertainment at a reasonable price then lits the viking for me every time

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing