We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday to Monday in the Viking”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friday to Monday in the Viking”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just back from a weekend September break in Blackpool at the Viking. Room was on the 4th floor and unfortunately the lift ended at the 3rd floor !!! The room itself was badly in need of decoration but was kept spotlessly clean every day. Shower wasn't very good and could do with being replaced. The food was excellent with plenty of variety and the staff were very attentive. The cabaret wasn't bad at all, especially Buddy Lee. On the Saturday night we went to a new Cabaret place called Viva. What a great night we had. Certainly worth going to see. Sunday night we stayed in the Viking. Unfortunately no Buddy Lee. The show finished at 11.00 pm. and without much warning the bar closed at the same time. In fact the barman was pulling down the shutters as it was announced. Would certainly go back to this hotel but would definitely want a lower floor room.

Room Tip: rooms on floors 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benidormlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    407
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
622
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked for a cheap break, it was reasonable and good value for money.
The rooms were a bit dated for my taste but kept clean and tidy.

The breakfast was good, always plenty out and it was always warm and fresh.
We only had dinner one night which was really good; the menu had loads to choose from.

The entertainment was enjoyable, although a wee tip don't sit too far down the front if you are easily offended.

Location was brilliant for us as we were there mainly for the pleasure beach.

Only criticism of the hotel was the price of alcohol, totally over priced. 2 drinks averaged about £8.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just got back from an Illuminations September midweek break at The Viking Hotel.Having stayed here several times previously the standard of accomodation and service continues to be very good.The quality of the food was excellent throughout our stay and the menu is extensive catering for all tastes and dietary requirements.Compare Buddy Lee continues to be second to none and the cabaret is always entertaining with fresh material every season.It is pleasing to see that investment is being put into the Hotel with several newly decorated areas and rooms and new windows on the front of Hotel since our last stay.We were really pleased to see the introduction of Bingo games on some evenings but currently tickets are only sold at main reception between 4pm and 6pm.Many residents forget to get their tickets within this time frame so were unable to play suggest that tickets are sold in the cabaret room until 7.30pm.?

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the Hotel tend to be quieter particularly at the weekend when there is an incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First time here after a number of friends recommendations
There was ample car parking.The staff were excellent always helpfull.The food
was very good although at one meal we were served one baked patato between the two of us but we were give a tray of new potatoes when we complained to the waiter and these were more than enough.The food was also very hot when served so no complaints on that score.The breakfast,buffet, was very good all items very well cooked.
Our room was better than we thought it would be after reading some of the reviews.Whilst only basic it was kept spotlessly clean,the bathroom was adequate,the beds very comfortable and television,coffee and tea making facilities were also adequate.Certain areas of the hotel could have benefited from a coat of paint and wallpaper but that did not detract from the overall ambience.
We liked the fact that we had our selected table in the cabaret room reserved for us on each of the four nights we were there likewise in the dining area.
The entertainment was very good though some nights it was better than others but not to any great degree.The resident compare,Bunny Lee,was excellent and he and the singers were back up well by the Sensation Dancers.
Just a couple of negative points.
1) The bar prices were a little over the top even allowing for the fact that the entertainment was free of charge.
2) On the last night the entertainment seemed to come to an abrupt halt at 11-15
whereas the previous nights it went on till around 12-30am.Not only that it did not
conclude in a very professional manner where normaly the compare ronded events off by at least coming on stage at the end of the final act to say goodnight to the audience.When the last act finished the stage went dead and all the lights went off and the audience sat there shocked at this sudden end to proceedings.
We where left with the impression that "that is the end of you stay so now off you go"
Not too much negativity to stop us from recommending this hotel for a short term break but proberably not as a regular occurence.

Room Tip: Would recommend spending a little extra on a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just come back had a great weekend at this hotel staff very friendly and helpful Entertainment was fab Buddy Lee so funny the other artists were great too It was our 1st time here it wont be our last we normally stay at The Cliffs which is good too if you got children

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbeam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Once again ,we spent this weekend at the viking hotel blackpool,we got a great room in a quiet part of the building ,basic but spotless ,shower with bath ,comfy bed ,tea&coffe,modern telly all you need.Entertainment once again second to none,with the brilliant compare & comic BUDDY LEE once again at his brilliant best,with fantastic acts & the sensation dancers putting on a show not to be missed.We paid £99.00 for the weekend,half board,so it was a bargain,as always,and this is why we always return at least 3 times a year. We would love to give it 5 green circles,but we believe it still overcharges at the bar,and they don't serve diet mixers,as my wife is diabetic,we had to buy our own. This apart we strongly recommend the viking,for a brilliant weekend or even a week,if you want to put a smile on your face.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back,or not above cabaret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a 5 day all inclusive break during the August bank holiday, On arrival had to queue for a good while as lots of people were trying to check in. However once at the desk found the staff member very helpful. We were able to book a table for the cabaret each evening.

The room was basic but clean, apart from under the taps in the shower room basin, they were thick with dirt, also nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc in the actual shower. I did report the tap situation and got an apology.

Plus points were the food and the staff. Minus points were the coffee was awful and we had to pay £1 each time we wanted a decent cup. As hubby does not drink alcohol it cost us quite a bit to get him coffee !!!!!

Also the all inclusive price includes only a sandwich and soup for lunch, one day it was a pie only as they had run out of peas.

Entertainment was very good and the host excellent, in fact he made the holiday for us and we have booked again for next year. Hope though that a proper lunch is provided and that the coffee is upgraded to a decent standard so that one doesn't have to pay £1 extra each time.

The location is good, the food good, the staff good but needs some attention to room cleanliness and please hair dryers essential now in hotel rooms.

Room Tip: A seaview room costs a good bit extra - we chose to get these rooms but up to people if worth or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nncarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing