We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viking Blackpool”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Good value for money entertainment excellent everything needs refurbishing and the toilitries are rubbish but at the price who can expect miracles the food is good and plenty of it all in all very good.

Room Tip: higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 748Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

As a group about 20 we have been going to Blackpool in November every year for the last 25 years or so. We have always stayed at the Claremont, but due to a mix up we stayed at the Viking. What a great time we had and will be making it our regular hotel. Lots of parking (you need to get a pass from reception). Rooms were just like the Claremont. The restaurant is much nicer, very bright and airy, and the food was really good. Entertainment was fab;

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_moran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed at the viking for 5 days and yes it is dated and needs upgrading,but both my daughter who is in her 50's and myself (75 years young) enjoyed every aspect of the holiday! We had two free trips,free coffee and scones,a seaview,excellent breakfast and evening meal all for £154.00 each. I think this is excellent value for money and it is only a two star hotel so dont expect 5 star decor! Everything else was fine. When we mentioned any problem (a small matter of a lightbulb) or a major problem like being woken up at 5.40am from noise from pipes in next room it was sorted immediately, and we were moved to a room we liked with less noise.It is a hotel that caters generally for older clients and it does say that there are accessability issues,but all in all i would highly recommend it.The only gripe i had was that Buddy Lee was not there the week we stopped,but we are booking again for next year.

Room Tip: get a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel
This hotel has so much potential!!! Its such a shame that it hasn't been looked after, it really wouldn't take much to bring this hotel up-to-date. In the shabby state that it is in it really isn't value for money. All the paint work is scuffed, the wall paper is hanging off the walls, the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the rubber seal in the bathroom needed replacing.
The worst thing was that the pillows were lumpy and I didn't sleep well at all.
The hike to our room on the 4th floor was very inconvenient. Stairs to a lift and then stairs beyond that.

The staff
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar bloke was helpful and friendly. Most of the restaurant staff were helpful and friendly apart from one waitress called Jacqueline ... what a horrible woman!!! Extremely rude, not welcoming, should not be in a customer focused role. This type of "customer service" really grates on me, I work in management and would not allow any of my staff to perform like her, she should have been performance managed a LONG time ago!!!

The food
The food was nice, nothing spectacular, but very edible. The best thing that I ate (which I did really, really enjoy) was a sponge with a butterscotch sauce, it was to die for!!

The other customers
HELL!!!! I understand that this is not an issue that can be resolved by the management of this establishment and they are probably of the same opinion as me, the rude, horrible, nasty old women that push you at dinner and breakfast made our two night stay depressing.

All in all don't bother, go to the Claremont instead!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleyandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Have stayed at the Viking quite a few times over the last twenty years and i have to admit that we always enjoy our stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable staff are polite and helpfull. This is the first time we have stayed and not had Buddy Lee and the dancers to entertain us. I was very pleased to find the quality of the entertainment was just as good and over the three nights we enjoyed six very good acts. Also this was the first time we have had a choice to play Bingo not some thing my husband and i would normaly do but we realy enjoyed ourselfs. If i have any thing to complain about i felt the food was not as good as previouse visits breakfast was fine but the evening meal was not its usual standard. It would not stop me visiting the Viking again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Viking Hotel as a very good restarant and entertainment every night it is called talk of the coast staff very helpfull and pleasent. this hotel is sited on the sea front. You get two free trips in the week. certain dates you get Sunday free Full board

Room Tip: pick the seafront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed there as a group week end 2ndnovember,food very good service the same caberet exellent,especially the compare buddy lee,rooms clean,bar prices a little high.have been there several times before .it has self service breakfast which is first class.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £76 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing