We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and entertainment”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good food and entertainment”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

went for 2 nights all inclusive twixmas,as with other choice hotels,room adequate nothing special,staff good,food and nightly entertainment excellent will be going back to one of them some time this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dereknewton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    411
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
103
627
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

we came to the viking hotel after it was recommended by friends .
from the moment we checked in the staff could not do enough for you ,
we where lucky to be given a room on the ground floor ( no 3 ) which was very clean and comfortable with a tv and tea,coffee making facilaties
we had our own designated table for the whole of our stay , the breakfast was eat as much as you like buffet - cereals - toast or full english tea or coffee.
the evening meals where served at your table after you had made your choice from the excellent menu which had multiple choices
the evening entertainment in the Talk Of The Coast club was first rate with comedians - singers - dancers from 9-00 pm till midnight and sometimes later.
the only slight critacism we had was the prices of the drinks are higher than you would expect but i suppose this is to pay for the quality acts you see.
there was also entertainment during the daytime - bingo - horse racing -singer comedian and a free trip to the tower.
all in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otleyyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

first time in the viking but have already booked again for next year.food good, caberet bar very nice,our room was bright and clean and comfortable,we went all inclusive excellent value for the amount of money we paid,the restaurant is bright and airy food excellent.

Room Tip: our room was on the ground floor,lovely room and very quiet,cannot speak about other floors this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just got back from our stay at The Viking and it has been fantastic, we have provisionally booked for 2014 Jan so my sister and partner can come next time. Staff, food and entertainment second to none. Room large and very comfortable and warm.

Room Tip: floor 1 easy to access if walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Hotel staff very helpful from booking in to cleaners/restaurant.Rooms clean well decorated.Bath/bathroom to small. Food very good.Entertainment very good .Bar prices a little steep.Overall very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamsbottomChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have Just returned from yet another stay at this hotel. As always it's good value for money, food is good , varied ,and plentiful. entertainment is excellent, The compare buddy Lee is unmissable, a very funny man. The cabaret room has been redecorated it now looks much better. however the hotel even though very clean , is in need of a serious refurbishment.The staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was excellent with a good sized bathroom. we 're looking foreward to our next visit in January . Other people that you speak to in the hotel come back time and time again, So The viking must be doing something right.

Room Tip: rooms that are over the resteraunt or cabaret are more noisy. Lift only go'es to third floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Good value for money entertainment excellent everything needs refurbishing and the toilitries are rubbish but at the price who can expect miracles the food is good and plenty of it all in all very good.

Room Tip: higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 748Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing