We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an improvement!”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“What an improvement!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The last time we stopped at the Viking it needed a few improvements, i am glad to say this has happened.Food excellent, loved the self service at breakfast time.Evening meal superb, and the staff brilliant in the dining room.In fact the reception staff are an excellent first impression, this is what you need people who can converse and have empty with other people not has in a lot of cases using foreign staff, well done! In the dining room the meeters and greeters who were both ladies had a great sense of humour and efficient.Cleaning staff again cant fault extremely courteous and finally the bar staff all helping to make an excellent hotel. Forgot, last but not least, entertainment top class and you don't have to leave the hotel what more can you ask for .We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipKBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    407
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
622
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked a 4 day all inclusive break for myself and my husband. Check in staff very friendly and helpful. We arrived mid morning and were given a pass to put on car windscreen which allowed us to leave our car on their car park and go into Blackpool. We returned at 3pm for check in. We asked for a second floor room and got exactly what we asked for. Room was lovely, although we did pay extra for a sea view. Breakfast was self service and very plentiful with a good choice. the bacon was the best I have had in any hotel home or abroad. Dinner was excellent. Hubby is a fussy eater only liking plain food and he had a roast dinner every night. 4 choices of main course and 6 or 7 starters and desserts. The all inclusive package is brilliant. A hot lunch is provided and all the alcoholic drinks on their all inclusive list are free even in the Talk of the Coast. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We recommend a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but booked for the Saturday night show in the talk of the coast we had a fab time we sat down to eat a 3 course meal at 7.30 ,the meal was very nice Soup to start followed by chicken breast wrapped in bacon and veg ,sweet was apple crumble and custard !!!! we moved seats for the show so we were at the right angle to get a better view of the show and for the next 4 hours we were entertained by the best show weve seen !!! Buddy Lee was a fantastic host and his double act with Carl Schofield was worth the entrance money alone it really was that funny and all for £25 per person a great night had by all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Viking, this is about our 4th stay at this hotel. The main reason is why we like this hotel is the adults only,and the entertainment .On the Friday night it includes Buddy Lee who is always fantastic and Lennie Anderson who we haven't seen before but was excellent. On the Saturday night Buddy is on again always with a different show however somebody came on called Billy Hudson the coffin man and he was absoloutly atrocious people were actually walking out. Will be returning but not for a while the hotel is in need of refurbishment and the food lets it down very average and more often than not sometimes cold.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millhilllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have no fear in recommending the fantastic Viking hotel.We have stayed twice a year for the past 14 years approx and just back yesterday from another superb week-end.The food was delicious as always.The kitchen and resteraunt staff work so hard to please and are keen to help.It is good to see lots of the same staff each time you go.
As for the entertainment you will never get better than BUDDY LEE.He is an absolute master with the audience and a genuinley nice guy.He never ceases to amaze with his talent and cheeky good fun.
So if you can ignore the chipped paintwork [that is the only fault I can find]you will go home exhausted but with a big smile on your face.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have stayed with Choice hotels on seven occasions now and have found every stay thoroughly enjoyable and excellent value for money, particularly the 'all inclusive' deals, would most definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

we stayed for 2 nights half board .the room was lovely entertainment great .location great food excellent.the whole hotel was lovely friendly staff.the drinks were a bit expensive will definately return but will be going all inclusive.

Room Tip: we paid extra for seaview but wouldnt next time you can only see straight ahead .small window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing