We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it love it love it”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here from 13th July for seven days and I can honestly say it was great.Room was clean & comfortable, food was very tasty and plentiful and the entertainment was first class, can't wait to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

First time we have visited this hotel after it being recommended by friends, was really impressed with the service, quality of the food and the entertainment! Had a fantastic time and would definitely go back again, already planning a return trip. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you to all the staff at the Viking hotel for making us feel welcome, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Viking hotel on 5th July for 4 days. A bit of work being done in reception ,but no delay at check in , staff as usual very helpful.
Sea view room was more than big enough, but bathroom a bit old fashioned needs modernising ?
Restaraunt had good choice of menu and food was lovely . Self service puddings is a brilliant idea.
Staff service was very good and friendly.
Thre night club talk of the coast gave us the best nights fun and laughter in ages . Buddy lee was buddy marvellous the other acts fantastic all in all a brilliant time . Would recommend it to any one who wants a good weekend in blackpool

Room Tip: Sea view seem to be. Bigger than average?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is pretty fair in every respect but be careful of the hot water, when I say hot I mean HOT! maybe hot enough to make tea, the shower low on pressure but ok. The only gripe was that the hotel is being painted on the inside meaning detours getting round.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is at the moment having a face lift, meaning diversions to get from one place to another,
In general the the hotel is well placed for south pier and pleasure beach. As a non drinker I thought that 2 pints of lemonade with orange squash at £5-30 was a RIP OFF!!.
The food and accommodation was good with fresh towels daily, the compare likes to take the 'mick' out of everyone, not my kind of entertainment, the show girls and singer's were ok but very loud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

There was a little work at the entrance for a new reception area, which looks great. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and food good. The breakfast is self serve buffett with everything you want for a cooked British breakfast including cereals, orange juice and hot drinks. Dinners were terrific, with a good dessert buffet. There is food available during the day at the bar/lounge next to reception at reasonable rates. My baked potatoe and salad was hot and delicious. The single room was spotless, though cozy. There was a tv and hot drinks in the room. The show was great fun I never stopped laughing and the dancers were flawless. My only complaint is piped music in the bar lounge and lobby which was ridiculously loud and you couldn't have a conversation without raising your voice. The sea views are excellent from the bar lounge and the hotel is in a good position for the pier, fairground, horse buggies, trams, buses and such.

Room Tip: I heard rooms on the second floor were bigger than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickey1Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Food great! Entertainment excellent? Room small and shabby, badly in need of refurb. Stayed Wed - Thur very good value for money especially the buffet breakfast. Staff friendly but where very busy. Not a very good checkin experience due to refurb of reception area but cannot fault hotel for that. Bathroom very small kept knocking the toilet roll holder off very annoying! Good location on seafront. Would stay again but in a seaview room which are much larger.

Room Tip: Seaview room if possible. Inside rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40044TaffyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £69 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing