We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

great stay at The Viking. Reception area has been refurbished and receptionists were very friendly,helpful and polite. Room was comfortable and clean. Meals were excellent, good choice on menus for dinner and the help yourself breakfasts gave you a great start to your day.. Entertainment was superb with great artists and compere and host Buddy Lee is out of this world. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAELO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean breakfast absolutly first class entertainment very good brilliant compare the only negative was smoking arear right outside reception everything else most enjoyable thehotel has also been partly refurbished will be visiting again in the near future

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Whet to the show in the viking hotel which most night is free for everyone even non resident what a great night of entertainment would have gladly paid a fee for the show. you could have paid a small charge to secure a seat but there was plenty anyway. Bar prices not to bad for a hotel just like in a normal bar. The venue was very clean abd the standard of the acts was first class would good again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a great weekend stay at The Viking.The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable.We were on half board basis and could not fault the food at all it was excellent.The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.The entertainment was brilliant and we enjoyed all the acts on show.Overall great weekend stay and looking forward to the next time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lowy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just came back after a weeks stay in the Viking Hotel and absolutely loved it. I have holidayed in Blackpool for many years and stayed at various properties both hotels and bed / breakfasts, but none compare remotely to the Viking. The room is basic but comfy and clean (just what you need), the food is amazing with a different choice every night and the staff are first class. Above all though the entertainment in the Talk of the Coast venue is excellent and very professional, with the compare Buddy Lee one of the major draws. His interaction with the audience must be experienced to appreciate.
I will never stay at any other place in Blackpool again except for the Viking.

Room Tip: All rooms are basic but clean with towels changed every day if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69JOHN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just had a two night stay (not as nice as two years ago) my daughter room was very small and dirty,fag burns in carpet,cobwebs in bathroom,but our room which was next door was a lot bigger and cleaner,we did have a very noises bathroom door with a couple of dips in the carpet,but it was ok for a two night stay.i want to go bad because it was an adults only and the buddie lee show and guest artist are brill.but I must had MIT there sister hotel the cliffs is clean and smarter

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdbayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A four night stay as part of a Choice Hotels deal. Greeting at reception was warm and friendly. Ample free car parking is available with a pass provided by reception.
Our room was comfortable - upgrade to sea view room if possible.
Food is good but served quite early for us. If you want wine with your meal it is possible to order a bottle during the hotels happy hour and then take it to your table saving some of you hard earned cash

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing