We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2013”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Year 2013”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very good value break. The room was small and basic but very clean and totally adequate. All public areas are very clean and the restaurant in particular is. The staff in all areas are very friendly and attentive and are obliging if there is any problem. The food at both breakfast and dinner is very good and there is a large choice and we were allocated the same table for all meals throughout the stay. The cabaret show at night is excellent and all the acts we saw were of a very high standard. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLeyther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    411
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
103
627
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

stayed 2 nights all inc 28 th and 29 th Dec 2013 had a fantastic time buddy lee and entertainment staff fabulous. great food. Could nt find fault. Already booked for next year .p.s Jo is in the naughty book.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfaulkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Right from the start you are met with mulled wine and mince pie then it's food and loads of entertainment the whole stay is brilliant.cant wait for celebrations of New Year's Eve with lots going on.the meals are really good with loads of choice to suit all.tonight is 5 courses and good company as everyone is very friendly.just like to wish everyone happy new year

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a lovely Xmas with Sam, Mary and their son Nick at The Viking Hotel & Talk of the Coast. The weather wasn't too kind but it didn't detract from the holiday Mario the manager organised lots of games and other stuff for us to do so no need to go out I can only say what I keep saying about this hotel it's fabulous and so friendly and the food is second to none.

Room Tip: book early and pick your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryxBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here in September, we had a great time stayed here for 4 nights Monday to Friday. The food was amazing however my boyfriend didn't seem to agree although he is more of a burger n chips sort of guy so McDonald's 2 minutes up the road was fine by him,I would definitely recommend the food, the staff were all very friendly however I think they could explain things better in the dining room, for example when we went down to breakfast no one told us it was self service and I had to ask, the reception were staff were brilliant and very helpful when I explained that we had a problem with our room, we were moved in to a sea front room for the last night and I would definitely rev comment paying the extra as they are a lot more spacious and are decorated better, we are a young couple and did feel more awkward because of this and did get some funny looks from elderly guests, this was also pointed out by the comedian which made me feel more awkward, the shows were all good however I would have prefererred to sit near the back instead of right at the front when there is a comedian on, over all I would stay again and would recommend it but not to couples our age

Room Tip: Play the extra for a sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Party night at the talk of the town cabaret bar Viking hotel Blackpool was great!! Three course Christmas meal, cabaret, overnight stay and all you can eat English breakfast £38 pppn. What more can I say!! The rooms where lovely and clean, warm and Newley refurbished. The staff where very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was freshly cooked and hot. Looking forward to going again next year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsiwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a group Party night with accomodation and cabaret party night . Rooms, Xmas dinner and cabaret all exceeded our expectations.All the reviews of comedian Buddy Lee are true, he is a riot. Being fair, the rest of the cabaret were all excellent. My room at the hotel was perfect, great sea view and comfortable. Breakfast was a good buffet .For the price we paid, this was an exceptional evening, and will probably be repeated again next year.

Room Tip: A sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing