We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cabaret host/comedian Buddy Lee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“cabaret host/comedian Buddy Lee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A surprise overnight stay (to avoid Bank holiday traffic) last night proved a winner. We have stayed at the Vikings sister hotel, the Cliffs, which is exceptional but MR. BUDDY LEE, who is THE FUNNIEST, MOST ENTERTAINING COMEDIAN would bring us back for the cabaret alone. With a wonderful young vacalist and another brilliant comedian, Carl Schofield we enjoyed over 3 hours of top class live entertainment.

Room Tip: As there are periods of "adults only " at this hotel, request a large family room during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    405
    91
    31
    22
See reviews for
101
613
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

we stayed in room 231 for our 2 night stay didn't sleep for 2 nights due to a water pipe running allnight reported this to reception on 2 occasions nothing seemed to be done also on checking out told a member of staff I wasn't happy the answer I got was don't book that room again my answer was we didn't book it in the first place not very good customer service from our point of view we visit the Viking about 3 times a year but we will be lookin at other hotels in future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

What can I say, other than another wonderful stay, food continues to be great value and quality, plus the evening entertainment is the "icing on the cake".
The weather was fine too so all in all a wonderful time.

P.S. I don't want to say to much just in case I cant get booked the next time we want to go, so as Buddy would say go to the Cliffs its better there !

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just come back from the Viking (25th to 28th April) and once again enjoyed our stay. The reception has been decorated and updated and looks much more up to date. The room was adequate if a little dated and the bathroom was rather tired, could do with a revamp but this didnt spoil our stay in any way. Our mum had a single room which was more like a linen cupboard (109) with a tiny sink which was squashed between the wall and the very small shower cubicle, our mum is 88 and isnt confident with showers so we asked for another room with a bath, we were told we would have to wait until the last night of her stay to move or they would try another one of their hotels, we stayed put, but would advise that if you particularly want a shower or a bath you let them know when you book or before you arrive.

The restaurant was very efficient, the staff worked their socks off and our waitress (Jac) was very good. We have stayed in the Viking many many times since the late 1990's and have noticed on this occasion that the standard of the food is slipping slightly. 2 of our party had the turkey salad, the turkey had been chilled within an inch of its life and was as tough as an old Blackpool landlady, the chef's 'signature dish' was at times unavailable and was the same every single night, also on a couple of occasions the meal had been under the heater in the kitchen for so long the mashed potato had a crust and the gravy had a skin on it, the cod was so small it could have hidden under the veg without detection for quite some time. The desserts were very school dinners but seemed to go down very well with the extremely elderly clientelle.

The jewel in the Vikings crown is the entertainment, in particularly Mr Buddy Lee, a true professional, he never fails to please and has the audience eating out of his hand in no time, particularly love the way he interacts with the other acts, particularly Carl Schofield...entertainment at its very best, you dont see acts of this calibre anymore. The bar prices are not cheap,but are comparable with other establishments in the area, and the late residents bar upstairs was well used by ourselves, manned by another Viking stalwart, Paul.

The hotel seems to appeal the more senior amongst us and the young at heart, we felt quite young in comparison :-) ..this may put some people off as sometimes the dining room looked like an old peoples home, it wasnt a problem for us, we were all there to have a good time, after all its Blackpool not Magaluf. See you again very soon at the Viking :-)

Room Tip: If you have a preference, ask for a room with a bath or a shower. Try not to get a room over the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is an average hotel - the room (advertised as a standard double room) we were given was the smallest room i have ever stayed in (Room 401) There was a 'small' double bed, a dressing table (with drawers), a 15" TV, a small wardrobe. The shower room was so small you had to come out of it to get dried, and to put it bluntly you had to back into the room to sit on the toilet!!!!!! and to cap it all, the tiles/grouting in the shower were very dirty! - had to put towels onto the floor as this was dirty too. No toilet brush. Towel rail falling off the wall. Shower room door sticking - did have a massive panic attack after getting stuck in there but my partner was able to push from the outside - I had to stand in the shower cubicle as the door when opened would have knocked me out!!!! very dangerous especially for 'older' people. My parents would never have opened it!
The only good thing about this room was the sea view! but on Monday morning I was greeted by 3 workmen on the flat roof outside my window mending the roof! - they even winked and waved! Good job the curtains had been still closed after I came out of the shower!!!! I understand work has to be done but not when guests are still occupying the rooms adjacent to the terrible noise! For the 2 nights we were there, we had some blue plastic roof sheeting hitting our window day and night!
The food was good - stayed Bed, Breakfast and Evening meal. Just like anywhere always a mad dash at restaurant opening times!
If you stay there on a Saturday evening, do not expect to sleep before 2am as it is very noisy from the music and entertainment throughout the hotel, but mainly from the revellers as they decend the stairs to their bedrooms, bang the doors and talk as loudly as they can about their evening. We did stay out late ourselves but as we are respectable people we respect other peoples privacy and acknowledge that not everyone wants to know other peoples business!
Quite a lot of stairs, and the lifts are small. Also the lift only goes to Floor 3, so to get to our room you had to climb an extra level.

Room Tip: Not sure which would be a good room - Room 401 terrible. Room 117 very noisy corridor, as it is on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxygenHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a break at the Viking we haven't been for a few years so we thought we would give it a try again, Food very good except 3 nights it was the same chefs signature main meal, which we found rather odd, but there was plenty of other choice, the help yourself breakfast is a good ideal as you don't have to wait to be served especially if you are going out for the day as we did. lovely bedroom, lovely fluffy towels changed daily, entertainment at night was very good, except for 1 act called Evolution he was good but she wasn't, but the other acts were good, Buddy Lee and Carl Schofield were fab what a late night that was. Would go back its the first time we have had an all inclusive break and it was good. Car parking is great too, no problems as with other large hotels in Blackpool. Just a shame they have stopped doing the talent show on a Weds night. Well done though Viking we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view room as the back of the hotel isn't a very appealing area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallymoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Check in was painless. Car park was handy. We stayed on the 3rd floor room was adequate, tv, kettle, if a little shabby. Bathroom was dated but everything was in order. Not overly clean & there was a faint smell of smoke, there were a few niggles but nothing major. There were a lot of steps and doors to navigate. Lifts seemed oddly placed.
Dining room was very good with views out onto the beach, the food was very tasty and well cooked with a good selection available. The entertainment let me say was the best I have ever seen in a hotel. The compere Buddy Lee was funny without being offensive & he built up a good rapport with the audience a few of the guests even bought him drinks and gifts....Overall I would recommend a stay here if you do not want to venture far from your hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you do not want to hear the cabaret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylorgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing