We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say , lovely people and lovely hotel , stayed for 3 nights with a buffet all you can eat breakfast and an inclusive dinner with a variety of choices and a brilliant cabaret act every night all included in the price for less than 300 quid for two people , based right next to the pleasure beach it is the perfect location, polite staff and brilliant service, I would recommend this place for anyone over the age of 18 as the entertainment is adult orientated other than that a brilliant time was had by all :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    416
    98
    34
    24
See reviews for
106
642
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

my partner and i stayed in blackpool for the week at another hotel when we checked out we decided that due to the weather being so good we would book another night at the Viking and we were not disappointed,food excellent,staff brilliant, room lovely only downside room could have been supplied with a fan as it was very warm even with window open caberet good as usual pity our stay was not longer but will be looking forward to coming back in October,if you compare this hotel with other sea front hotels with entertainment this place cannot be beaten

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Once again we were at this hotel on a weekend. As usual the food was excellent with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. Yes some of the rooms are small but, they are tidy and the beds are clean. They are sufficient to sleep in and get changed. The staff are really very friendly and helpful. The entertainment is second to none. It is also perfectly situated away from the night time buzz. Daily tram ticket lets you hop on and off all day and which are just outside the door of the hotel. We will go back time and time again. This hotel is definitely not for the disabled or someone who cannot walk far as the stairs are quite steep and there is only one small lift. By the way, it is in the process of renovation therefore you must allow for a few inconveniences after all it is for the benefit of their visitors.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the second floor are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank braedale31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

just had another weekend at the viking hotel just my wife and myself, again we could not fault the hotel staff, and reception very good, food very good, entertainment was again first class with buddy lee and terry cotter brilliant.booked in again for january with a party of ten,cant wait for it.

Room Tip: stayed in room202 it was big and with nice deco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgesumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Four of us went on Saturday night to the cabaret evening - not many "paying guests" - except for the hotel residents who had all the prime seats reserved for them. Unfortunately they seemed to have already seen the cabaret and a lot of faces looked glum!! Food was mediocre. Drinks were pricey. Cabaret was cheap smut!! Terry Cotta was a very talented comedian - so why did he have to sink to crude smut? Some very offensive material not appreciated by a lot of the audience. Remarks about Peaches Geldoff in particular upset some of the younger visitors. Likening Prince Charles to George and the Dragon was another offensive joke which didn't go down well with everyone. He was also an extremely good singer and this was very much appreciated by the audience. Buddy Lee didn't seem to have a script - just cheap banter with some of the audience. Cabaret seemed to go on for ever. Male singer was brilliant!! Disco was needed much earlier. Dancing girls were very professional and the bar staff were friendly and helpful. Not the best night out in Blackpool though!!

Room Tip: A central table facing the stage at the rear of the room are the best seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 158David1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveleys,lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hi. My wife myself and 4 very close friends went to the Viking with a Dealmonster meal and and show deal.£25 for a 3 course meal and an evening of entertainment. Well the food was excellent! The enterainment was excellent! Buddy Lee was Brilliant. The Showgirls were very good. But the Star of the Show was Terry Cotter. A Fabulous comedian!! Had everyone in stitches! Iv`e never laughed so much for a long while, Credit to for all the staff they all worked very hard. Well done Viking. A Great night out, We will be back again soon. I cannot comment on the rooms and staying there but I spoke to numerous people who said it was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed on the 23rd and24th june
When we arrived we were informed that the dinning room was closed and all meals would be served in the nightclub talk of the coast. The staff struggled to get the food out and seem to be running everywhere people didnt no where to sit not relaxing at all. BREAKFAST was cold the eggs were like rubber and it took 15 mins for toast. I felt as though i spent two days in the dark. People should havs been informed about the dinning room when they booked the room was very average only good thing was the cabaret. Never again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank karenmarie-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,912 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing