We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, delicious food, fantastic entertainment, amazing weekend stay!”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, delicious food, fantastic entertainment, amazing weekend stay!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my partner have just returned from another amazing weekend at the Viking Hotel, Blackpool. We visited from Friday 1st August 2014 to Sunday 3rd August 2014 (2 nights). We have stayed here several times before and I honestly don't think there is anywhere else in Blackpool I would rather stay. I got a great deal by contacting the hotel directly and spoke to the manager Mario, who always looks after his visitors, and offered us 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast (DBB) for an amazing price of just £89pp, I thought that was worth it just for the food and room, especially being on the sea front, so we grabbed the offer and booked, cheers! The Viking also has the amazing show bar "Talk of the Coast" that also gives the hotel a big thumbs up from us!

We arrived at around 1.30pm on the Friday, and as soon as you walk in the hotel you can tell it has been given a very big face lift and decorated throughout to an exceptionally high standard. We were given our room key and a pass and shown which way to get to our room, the receptionist was very helpful. Upon entering our room, it was massive, it had a large double bed and 2 single beds, so you can imagine how big it was, with extra room that walked into the bathroom, there was tea and coffee making facilities, large mirror, vanity desk and chair, all the beds were made up, extra pillows just in case, the decor was very modern, a large flat screen TV, and exceptionally clean. (See the attached photos)
After a little rest, we left our things in the room and went back downstairs to reserve our seats for the evening entertainment. But much to my delight we had already been given some great seats when I booked the room.

We then went and jumped on the tram which stops pretty much outside the hotel, we went into Blackpool town centre, it takes literally a few minutes and at £4.50 for a day rider you can use on both bus and tram, great value. But even if you wanted to walk it (which we did on the way back) it only takes 20-30 minutes. Blackpool has a million and one things to do, as you will probably know. We went shopping, and some more shopping, oh and some more shopping! (That's women for you)

We got back to the hotel, nice and airy inside, got to our rooms to have a shower and change, the showers last time we visited were very temperamental but not this time, it worked great. Towels were also provided and changed on a daily basis. As well as small essentials such as soap etc.

We then went down for dinner around 6.30pm. The dining room is well set out and with the refurbishment it looked and felt amazing compared to our last visit, so much brighter, the room has numerous sized tables for different sized parties. The food is the up there with the best I have eaten, none of your greasy rubbish, it's all fine food a choice for everyone too, even your fussy eaters like me. There is now hot and cold food stations so you can help yourself to as much (or as little) as you like for your starter and dessert, there must be a lot of effort in the preparation, there where salads, cold starters, hot starters, and yes plenty to choose from, there is also an array of hot and cold deserts to choose from, the main course is brought to you by your assigned waiter/waitress that you may choose from a menu, we had the lovely Jackie who looked after us, and she certainly did, service with a smile, and she wasn't afraid to have a good laugh with us, which I thought was great, makes you feel very welcoming. So top marks for you Jackie!! The food was great, the starters are that good you have to watch yourself and not get to full and save room for your main and dessert.

The night time entertainment is great, whatever they are paying Buddy Lee, it inst enough, because we was in stitches within minutes of him walking out on stage. It's great how he feeds off the audience, you can tell he loves his job and the acts that are on nightly are a range of comedians and show artists (singers), the show girls are also great. On the Saturday night we had a comedian Terry Cotter, I don't think there was a dry eye in the room (tears of laughter) with his constant stream of jokes, what a night! The only one 'down side' was the prices at the bar, around £3.40 for a pint, but considering the entertainment didn't cost anything, I guess it sort of weighs itself out a bit.

Off to bed and the beds are very comfy, well it was in the room we stayed in anyway, and duvets and pillows are nice too, no thin rubbish, thick and warm.

In the morning breakfast is served at a reasonable time, until around 10am so still plenty time for a relaxing lie in and still catch service, which is great because I don't like to rush in a morning. The breakfast is buffet style, get what you want as much as you want, and there is LOTS of it. From everything on a full English breakfast such as bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, mushrooms etc to bread/toast, orange apple and fruit juice, cereals, yogurt, jams, a wide choice of fruit. Tea and/or coffee is served to your table by the waiting on staff who again are brilliant.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely be back again, without a doubt!! I would also like to say that the refurbishment is a great accomplishment and gives the hotel that high modern standard, that holidaymakers look for these days. Fantastic job! :) See you soon :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a see-view room, well worth the extra couple of quid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    410
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
103
626
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying at the viking, first time in blackpool for years, room upgrade to seaview is worth paying for. staff very friendly and entertainment is good, my wife isn't happy that there aren't any hairdryers, since she brought everything else, including the kitchen sink.:) hotel is very relaxing and close enough to everything. mainly couples and not many large groups makes it an ideal couples getaway, will definitely come back. we booked B&B because we weren't sure about the meals, there is plenty to choose from close by but what i've heard from other guests is that the food is excellent, I can say that the breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from and all fresh. Service at breakfast was fantastic, The staff make this hotel what it is. I would imagine most people would enjoy this hotel with the variety of entertainment and number of places to sit and relax. :)

Room Tip: we were in room 351 which had 1 double bed, 2 single beds, en suite with shower and bath and a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stay every July for a long weekend. The cabaret and in particular Buddy Lee is fantastic - Buddy ad libs and feeds off the audience, haven't laughed so much since last July. We always stay full board which is definitely the right choice - the food is always excellent and the staff have being there for years and always remember everyone. My only slight criticism are the rooms, albeit they are clean they are in need of updating. With that said we have re-booked for next July!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the years and each time the entertainment makes the stay, Buddy Lee is funny and the Sensation dancers are good. The food is good and enjoyed the meals. The rooms are clean and ok. Would stay again. The car parking is ok if you get here earlier enough.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie_Molly_Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

just got back from a 5 day stay at the viking hotel,rooms very nice towels changed daily,very good choice of food excellant staff,entertainment very good but buddy lee did repeat himself nightly,overall a brill hotel highly recomend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgecannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We as a family spent 7 days here a few years ago.. We found the Rooms to be clean and the food very good.. The hotel itself is perfectly situated and close to the Pleasure Beach which certainly pleased my children. Close to the south pier and other amenities. The evening entertainment was very good. Plenty to keep everyone amused. The staff were very friendly and they certainly were an asset to the hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is above average but no option to choose this on trip advisor. The food here is really good. The choice for evening meal is varied and for me it was difficult to choose as everything sounded delicious - which it was. The only problem I had which really irked me at the time was when I chose the smoked salmon starter. The waiter asked me did I know it was actually 'raw' salmon and did I still want it. Maybe he thought people from Liverpool were uncultured, who knows, but it felt very patronising and made me feel uncomfortable at the time. That said, the staff were very efficient in a very very busy dining room. The breakfast was great too and set me up for the day. Mine and my friends twin room was decorated nicely and in fact was the biggest of all our groups so certainly no complaints there, the main thing was that it was clean and the cleaners came in both days we were there. I like the fact that when staying here you have a reserved seat in the club in the evening. Buddy Lee is a good host and funny. There were 17 of us women so he kept bantering with us which was fun although I think some of the other guests got a bit fed up with it as he kept picking on our table, also a couple of the young girls with us got a bit embarrassed and actually left for a bit. All in all I would stay here again, especially for the food.

Room Tip: There's a lot of scaffolding going on at the back and we had a view of a wheelbarrow. Seaview wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goesawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,091 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing