We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We thought the entertainment was disappointing-we stayed specifically for the entertainment as we took our two mums for the weekend,and there's not a lot to do on the streets of Blackpool at night for two ladies of a certain age!

The compere went on for far too long-he was admittedly quick-but hisact consisted of repartee with members of the audience at the front.
OK for 5 minutes,but this went on FOR EVER,two nights running.No good especially if you can't see who he's talking to.The two lady singers we saw were good,the visiting comedian also OK.

Our room was also a bit disappointing,dark,cold,the windows were strangely at chest height so you had to bend down for a view of the police station!

Positives.....the food was good,Jackie was fine,service was fine.
Would we stay again?-no.
We visit Blackpool every year with our mums,and expectations do have to go down a couple of notches,but can't understand why this place has had such rave reviews!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBinksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    412
    98
    33
    24
See reviews for
105
635
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

on arrival at the hotel check in was ok and the room was fine , we did not have dinner at the hotel the first night as we went out for a drink in the bars and missed dinner.The next morning we went down for breakfast and was shown to our allocated table and waitress 'the dreaded jackie' the breakfast wasnt that good small with what i would call a slice of fat oh sorry bacon the waitress jackie does not appear to have any waitressing skills or any manners but surely the management must know this as there are other bad reviews on here about jackie, the saturday night we went down for dinner and on our table was a saucer full of mint sauce these dishes were randomly scattered around the restaurant,we ordered the starter and were asked by another guest can he use the minnt sauce on our table as the waiter he asked for some pointed to our table to get it, we obliged but told the guest thet he could keep it as all his table were using it. when we ordered our main meal we too wanted some mint sauce , we asked jackie BIG MiSTAKE she then proceeded to go to the same table as we get the mint sauce and tried to put it on our table spoon in the dish we asked her could we have fresh as we didnt know if any of them guests could have had the spoon in thier mouths,jackie told us she had just put a clean spoon in we told her that she didnt as we watched her pick it of the table the mint sauce had bits of food in it from the others guests using it ,we asked for fresh and she said she would get some from the kitchen 10 minutes later another waitress came out with another mint sauce again with bits in we did not use it by this time jackie ignored us and refused to take our plates we had to ask another waitress to clear the table and get our desserts jackie would not serve us and kept giving us the evil eye come on management sort your staff out how many other people does she do this to ? we were able to tell her but your other guests the older people may feel a little intimidated will not go again for this reason!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POLLY4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

make sure you see buddy lee in the viiking just brill

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

this was my second stay at the Viking, I couldnt fault the service the rooms the bars or the entertainment if i wanted to,many thanks to all the staff.My only complaint is it takes us 6 hrs to get there ha ha, Not much the Viking can do about that . however well worth the journey cant wait til next one

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Great value, great weekend - we will be back. Cabaret is fantastic - this is our 4th time at the Viking and we would recommend to everyone. The only downside is the parking. Although I know the hotel has no more room, Saturday night is dreadful I drove round and round before I found a space a few streets away. A little worrying in case the car was not OK but it didn't spoil the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We have been going to the Viking Hotel for short breaks for a number of years and have never been disapointed in any way with either the quality of service, the rooms, the food or the entertainment. If the traveller is expecting luxurious rooms then they will be disapointed, the rooms have everything that is needed but most importantly they are clean and kept clean with daily service.
The food on offer is very varied and with very good menus and a good selection of choices for the main evening meal all cooked to a high standard and served by a very experienced staff who are friendly and willing to attend to your every request.. Breakfast is never hurried and a good quality meal is provided to get the day off to a good start. Lunch is not provided except for certain all inclusive breaks which happen from time to time, usually during the closed season. There is a Cafe bar on the ground floor which provides drinks and food at reasonable prices.
The Viking is known as the entertainment centre of the north. There is a good variety of entertainment provide every night with comedians, singers and dancers. During the week nights there is the usual bingo sessions with cash prizes.
If the traveller is looking for a pleasant experience, good food, comfortable rooms and plenty of entertainment they could do a lot worse than go to the Viking Blackpool.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w_hatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Staff are wonderful food is very good. There is always a good selection of
entertainment with 2 artist on every night.
It is convenient for the centre of Blackpool and surrouding places.
The one downside is you cannot pick your next door neighbour and some people have no consideration for others.
The Viking is adults only and this is a great plus for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
3,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,976 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing