We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers reincarnated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
hednesford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers reincarnated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

7 phone calls days prior to visit to ask questions about info already submitted on behalf of the girls football club, including "what room numbers have you been allocated?"; "how many of you are there?"; "How many people is the buffet for?" All of which were answered and confirmed weeks before departure.
Car parking cost £10 per day.
Members of my party had to wait over 3 hours for rooms to be sorted out and allocated and then some of them had to be relocated elsewhere.
After we had gone out and returned, the next receptionist had no record of us being booked in, good job I had my receipt and room key!
Bed linen had been laundered with a sweet inside it which was now all down the length of one side Ugh!
The radiators came on over night - in June? - with no means of turning them off.
Wallpaper was hanging on - just about!
The single bed was too hard for my daughter to sleep on and still be able to play football the next day.
Want a cabaret? Have 2 - another double booking!
Food? ok if you liked sausages! (Breakfast and evening meal)
Overall, far from impressed.

Room Tip: arrive early, tell them exactly what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    115
    79
    58
    94
See reviews for
83
151
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel is a complete shambles, Fawlty Towers would be better.
The staff double booked the rooms which meant we had to spend 5 hours sorting out accomodation for 62 people, 17 had to move to another hotel which was even more disgusting. The reception staff and the Manager were rude and arrogant, they did not even apologise to us for ruining our weekend. The rooms were tiny, dirty and the beds were awful, food was poor quality and not suitable for children, as this was booked for a Kids football tournament several people had to eat outside so the kids did not go hungry.
I would never set foot inside this place again and not recommend it to anyone that cares about their health, if you want to get drunk on a stag / hen do and sleep in a doorway somewhere in Blackpool then this is the place for you !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Hednesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

arrived at the hotel friday just after lunchtime had to wait over 2 hours to be checked in!!!!!!!!!! their excuse was their regular receptionist had 'disappeared' this after the manager was 'sacked recently!' our booking an u11 & u13s girsl ftball team was made months ago! excuses NOT ACCEPTABLE we shouldve been welcomed in this economy not shunned. They only reason my family got our room sorted out was that i myself rang another member of the team that had already arrived to find out they had put another family in our team into 2 incorrect rooms (a family & 3 room instead of a 3 & 2 room). The hotel would not let me reallocate the rooms myself but made the other family cut short their visit to the sandcastle water park to sort out their room! they were reallocated a 2 person room only to find out later on that evening that another member of our team had also been put into the same room!!! OMG eventually they were reallocated a room after tears & contacting the organiser of the ftball tournament! We got 1 drink compensation! not good enough considering the hotel had to relocate 3 families from the u11s 2 of which went home the same evening due to the hotel they were relotated to being even more of a disgrace!
Friday we had a buffet which was ok but certainly not a childrens buffet - hello 2 childrens ftball teams being the reason we went!
Saturday morning 1 member of our team handed their key into reception as not to loose it on the ftball field - on return the hotel had misplaced the key, the spare so handed our a master key!!!!!!! luckily enough the person it was handed to is completely trustworthy. this wasnt the first key problem - on arrival a member of our team had been given a spare key as a guest aparently on their way to heathrow had taken the main key with them back to south africa!
Saturday evening meal - myself & friend had the salad which was tuna the presentation was rubbish - tuna hanging over the edge of the plate but the worst thing was the lettuce was still covered in soil! I as an adult can handle this but the icing on the cake was when my 13yr old daughter asked for mayo & was offered something that was certainly either not kept refridgerated or was out of date! it was like yellow water!
The caberet was double booked on friday night, the waiter said the place was like faulty towers the other waiter thought we were booked an extra night? they had booked single adults into the same hotel as our childrens booking which i believe shouldnt happen the hotel manager was absolutely vial when approached about our problems oh £10 parking per day, the toilet didnt flush properly in our room which couldve been cleaner, a clean towel had a womans hair on it, the hotel as a whole still had heating in june no air con! it was very noisy.
You decide if this hotel should even be allowed to stay open let alone be visited!

Room Tip: dont visit unless you dont have a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel for football tournament ,,,,, on arrival of our team it was discovered they had over booked big time,even though two days before we had booking and rooms confirmed for 62+ people, it was one disaster after another evening meal was poor out of date mayo and general up keep of hotel was terrible, would I stay again NO not even if it was for free..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

great location,lovely owners,tended to all our needs, and some collegues who needed room changes,nothing was too much bother,will be back again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officialScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed with my wife during Grand National weekend,had read reviews before I travelled and was a bit concerned by some of the bad reviews I had read.There was no need to worry as these reviews were obviously written by people who didn,t understand why people go to Blackpool.The Hotel was busy but clean and evening meals werevalue for what we paid,breakfast was one of the best I,ve had in the U.K. The staff were friendly and helpful.We found Comrades Club along the road about 50yds. very welcoming and for a 1wk. temporary membership £2.00 which we savede on our 1st round very cordial and entertainment 1st class.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stantheman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

It was my sons 21st, we were a group of 22 mixed ages from 18 - 50. The Staff were excellent throughout the whole weekend, NOTHING was to much trouble for them. Saturday we booked a buffet, food was excellent and plentiful, they also provided a karaoke and put up decorations we provided. The hotel is in excellent location for night life and if you ask at reception they are able to provide tickets for most of the best nightclubs. We would highly recommend this hotel to all.
We read reviews before going, to which some people were very negative towards the hotel. We can personally say that this hotel is extremely clean, all staff were polite and very helpful which made my son's 21st the best it could have been.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#50 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing