We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing, outstanding, lovley, breath taking brilliant excellent wonderful,comftable reasonable a place I can't wait to come ba”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I came to this hotel with my mum and stepdad,it was chosen at random we went in and were cheerfully greeted,I felt at home already! The hotel is a lovley size,warm and cosy! The design is very basic but refine its style is lovley and its nice and different,wonderfully fantastic! My room was very comftable and a reasonable size the bathroom was nicley done out and the bed was comfy! The living room was full of,friendly welcoming guests,who also greeted us! The staff were amazing!so polite and helpful I saw them more as friends,the service was great and the price was reasonable! The breakffasts were delightful especially the full english and orange juice! I cannot tell you enough,about the merville hotel it is just breath taking, and the staff again,they are a credit! I am so happy to off been a guest at the merville hotel and have already booked to come back!!! Huge well done to there team!!! 5stars!xxXxx

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiaremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just come back from a hen night, the hotel was a bit 80's and had random carpets and furniture but overall it was fine. It was clean which was the main and the breakfast was nice. It was also round the corner from the bars and clubs. Just what we expected of a BnB in Blackpool and for the money we paid it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPageHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

7 phone calls days prior to visit to ask questions about info already submitted on behalf of the girls football club, including "what room numbers have you been allocated?"; "how many of you are there?"; "How many people is the buffet for?" All of which were answered and confirmed weeks before departure.
Car parking cost £10 per day.
Members of my party had to wait over 3 hours for rooms to be sorted out and allocated and then some of them had to be relocated elsewhere.
After we had gone out and returned, the next receptionist had no record of us being booked in, good job I had my receipt and room key!
Bed linen had been laundered with a sweet inside it which was now all down the length of one side Ugh!
The radiators came on over night - in June? - with no means of turning them off.
Wallpaper was hanging on - just about!
The single bed was too hard for my daughter to sleep on and still be able to play football the next day.
Want a cabaret? Have 2 - another double booking!
Food? ok if you liked sausages! (Breakfast and evening meal)
Overall, far from impressed.

Room Tip: arrive early, tell them exactly what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel is a complete shambles, Fawlty Towers would be better.
The staff double booked the rooms which meant we had to spend 5 hours sorting out accomodation for 62 people, 17 had to move to another hotel which was even more disgusting. The reception staff and the Manager were rude and arrogant, they did not even apologise to us for ruining our weekend. The rooms were tiny, dirty and the beds were awful, food was poor quality and not suitable for children, as this was booked for a Kids football tournament several people had to eat outside so the kids did not go hungry.
I would never set foot inside this place again and not recommend it to anyone that cares about their health, if you want to get drunk on a stag / hen do and sleep in a doorway somewhere in Blackpool then this is the place for you !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Hednesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

arrived at the hotel friday just after lunchtime had to wait over 2 hours to be checked in!!!!!!!!!! their excuse was their regular receptionist had 'disappeared' this after the manager was 'sacked recently!' our booking an u11 & u13s girsl ftball team was made months ago! excuses NOT ACCEPTABLE we shouldve been welcomed in this economy not shunned. They only reason my family got our room sorted out was that i myself rang another member of the team that had already arrived to find out they had put another family in our team into 2 incorrect rooms (a family & 3 room instead of a 3 & 2 room). The hotel would not let me reallocate the rooms myself but made the other family cut short their visit to the sandcastle water park to sort out their room! they were reallocated a 2 person room only to find out later on that evening that another member of our team had also been put into the same room!!! OMG eventually they were reallocated a room after tears & contacting the organiser of the ftball tournament! We got 1 drink compensation! not good enough considering the hotel had to relocate 3 families from the u11s 2 of which went home the same evening due to the hotel they were relotated to being even more of a disgrace!
Friday we had a buffet which was ok but certainly not a childrens buffet - hello 2 childrens ftball teams being the reason we went!
Saturday morning 1 member of our team handed their key into reception as not to loose it on the ftball field - on return the hotel had misplaced the key, the spare so handed our a master key!!!!!!! luckily enough the person it was handed to is completely trustworthy. this wasnt the first key problem - on arrival a member of our team had been given a spare key as a guest aparently on their way to heathrow had taken the main key with them back to south africa!
Saturday evening meal - myself & friend had the salad which was tuna the presentation was rubbish - tuna hanging over the edge of the plate but the worst thing was the lettuce was still covered in soil! I as an adult can handle this but the icing on the cake was when my 13yr old daughter asked for mayo & was offered something that was certainly either not kept refridgerated or was out of date! it was like yellow water!
The caberet was double booked on friday night, the waiter said the place was like faulty towers the other waiter thought we were booked an extra night? they had booked single adults into the same hotel as our childrens booking which i believe shouldnt happen the hotel manager was absolutely vial when approached about our problems oh £10 parking per day, the toilet didnt flush properly in our room which couldve been cleaner, a clean towel had a womans hair on it, the hotel as a whole still had heating in june no air con! it was very noisy.
You decide if this hotel should even be allowed to stay open let alone be visited!

Room Tip: dont visit unless you dont have a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel for football tournament ,,,,, on arrival of our team it was discovered they had over booked big time,even though two days before we had booking and rooms confirmed for 62+ people, it was one disaster after another evening meal was poor out of date mayo and general up keep of hotel was terrible, would I stay again NO not even if it was for free..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

great location,lovely owners,tended to all our needs, and some collegues who needed room changes,nothing was too much bother,will be back again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank officialScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,061 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#63 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £56 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing