We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Hull, UK.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Melville Hotel on 28th April 2012 when we where on a trip with National Holidays. The hotel provided us with tea, coffee and biscuits in the bar on our arrival which was very welcoming and whilst you had your drink they came to you and told you your room number and gave you your key, it saved you queueing in the reception whilst they allocated rooms. On entering our room, it was warm and there where enough towels and soap on our bed and we had a toweling shower mat (not sure where the paper ones people are talking about came from) We had a double bed and a single bed, as did the room where my sister and nephew where sleeping. We where in room 1 that is right near the lift and I was a little concerned that we might be kept awake by the noise from the lift but we couldnt hear it. We went for our food in the dinning room, which we had chosen when we got our key and every course we had was hot and tasty, which was a plesant surprise for me as hotel food isnt always as hot as I like it. The remote for the televisions are at reception so if you want one just ask. We had a very plesant stay even though it was only for one night, but I would go and stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    115
    80
    58
    95
See reviews for
84
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel from the off set created issues - Turned up to be told there was no chip and pin facility to pay the remainder of my bill for the 5 terrible nights spent at the hotel , had to chase round blackpool searching for an atm .
There was no TV and No Wifi in the rooms as they claimed they were getting it fixed , it was like being in an open prision , did complain and requested a 50% refund as I felt the hotel was substandard ... didnt get a refund and would recommend the hotel up grade its facilities , there were also H&S Concerns regards fire extinguishers and fire doors being left open ..

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Rhyl
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Melville Hotel (70-72 Adelaide Street) in Blackpool is ideal if you are attending any event at the Winter Gardens because it's located in the street at the back of the venue. It's also very close to the shopping centre, High Street and promenade. So handy for shoppers, day trippers and clubbers.
The best lit Hotel in the street, so easy to find if you are staggering back from a night club. Friendly, helpfull staff.
Only two car parking spaces available but there are car parks close by. A radiator in the room so even if the heating isn't switched on you can still have a warm room. Plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe.
I stayed there with my 21 year old daughter, we were attending the Fitness Convention at the Winter Gardens and we had time to browse around the shops and even hit the night clubs, I was lucky enough to park in the designated car park space at the back and so I was reluctant to move my car incase I lost the space so we walked everywhere - so I am thankful that the Hotel is situated close to everything that we needed.
I have stayed in Blackpool on two other occasions (stayed at other Hotels) but now I have found the Melville I will be choosing this Hotel for future visits to Blackpool.
One thing I would say which could be bad for someone staying in March but not attending the Fitness convention is that you can hear the music pumping out of the back of the Winter Gardens from 8am to 6:15 on Friday and Saturday and then 8:30 and 3:15 on Sunday. So unless you want that early morning wake up call then avoid this Hotel on that occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iteachfitnessclasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

stayed here on the 23 march 2012 staff very friendly lovely accomadaton just like to say a big thankyou to all the staff at the melville hotel bar staff very friendly too would recommend this hotel to anybody thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleigh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we had a great time at the melvill.breckfast was amazing .......went out of their way to get me black pudding.they change breckfast time so we could get a early start.which they didnt have to, rooms are clean and tidy customer service amasing..re booked for a second nite at last minuite...no probs ..... wicked value for money ............see next year

Room Tip: room 44 .this was the room we had and was class
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lloyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

would like 2 say thank you 2 all staff at the melville hotel,everyone who stayed the weekend really enjoyed themselves.would recommend hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonToonarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would just like to say a big thankyou to Toni and the rest of her team at the melville who all helped make my daughters 18th on sat. 12th Nov. a really special night. we had a party of 17 ladies spread over 7 rooms and don't think any of us had a problem. The rooms were clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble and the welcome we recieved when we arrived was great. We was out all afternoon, came back to change and we had asked if we could put banners up for my daughter, but when we walked in the bar Toni had already sorted it with a lovely buffet too what a lovely surprise! There was also a DJ on in the bar so had a few dances before we went on the town. This was our second stay and have booked again for June. The breakfast was lovely and served very quickly even though they had a lot of guests. I would suggest anyone staying here who does have a problem with towels, bathmats etc. speak to the staff at the time, (they dont bite! very approachable) and give them a chance to sort things, its too late when you leave. The location is excellant and yes a couple of the rooms may be a bit small but its a big hotel with lots of rooms and excellant value for money. I apologise to any of the other guests if we were a bit noisy, we was celebrating and not the hotels fault but don't think we were that bad. Can't wait for June! xxx

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hels277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to do a buffet for your group and to help your daughter enjoy her birthday. All comments will be passed on and we really look forward to seeing you all again in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#28 of 69 in Blackpool
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 69 in Blackpool
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 69 in Blackpool
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing