We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never even got in the hotel”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never even got in the hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

9 of us booked here with booking.com booking in advance with kids in the group thinking we would have some where to stay.3 of our guests arrived in Blackpool travelling from the north east first to find out we didn't have a room and they were transferring us to the colonial hotel.9 of us were in total disgust at the hotel we had been moved to and more gutted the fact we had a hotel booked.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank terwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    115
    80
    58
    95
See reviews for
84
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Went for the fourth time in a year the staff bent over backwards to help me as I was taken really poorly , and nothing was a bother to any of them from them at front desks to bar man also cleaning staff .going back again soon as taking my hubby to be ,we're the hotel is is fab as its two minutes way from hounds hill shopping centre a huge ty to Shaun ,Darren who isn't there anymore and Vanessa ty xx

Room Tip: I like the second floor rooms at front of hotel but ther like gold dust lol xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caggles725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Visited on a trip Fri - Mon in September.

The rooms are clean, nice and warm.

The bar is welcoming and tidy.

Breakfast had changed this year, it was previously buffet style but is now served and you only get small portions.

We have booked again for end of Sept next year already!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereds2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

hi just had a travelstyle bus holiday, for the money we paid it was very good value, food was good, entertainment at night was good, staff brill, couldn't want anything more. rooms were clean, wifi worked. just ask anything and there was allways someone there to answer your questions.easy for shopping and buses and trams not far away. would stay again 100%. thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just stayed at the Melville with a coach party on a budget holiday and was very pleasantly surprised. Didn't have very high expectations of the hotel but was wrong.The rooms are good for the money nice and clean lovely comfy bed slept like a log.
The food was always very hot and the speed of service was amazing. The waiting staff were very attentive and one waiter Jimmy really made our stay enjoyable his personality was wonderful cheering up the whole of the dining room and providing a really good quality fast service The position of the hotel is great right in the centre of town a short walk to all the major attractions and shops.
For a budget hotel i can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked a holiday specifying the need for a ground floor room.On arrival told we had to go to another hotel, The New Oxford due to over booking, on a second floor room!
Two days later we were told we had to move as the hotel was being closed as a coach trip had cancelled and we would be accomadated in The Melville, the same one which had no space!
Our cases should have been moved by them but we ended up doing that ourselves.We were told that they would be put in our room when we left them at 9o'clock but they were still behind the counter on our return at 3.45pm.
There was no remote for the television and after several enquiries the staff didn't bother to look or help. So no television for a whole day!!
We sat at the same table throughout our stay but on the Thursday we were told very rudely that we would have to change to another one as ours was reserved, bearing in mind that there was nothing to say this.
Though we were offered free evening meals to make up for some of the inconvenience I feel that was inadequate.
We have been coming to this hotel regularly and feel we were treated very shabbily!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just got back from Melville hotel with coach party. As a reasonable cheap holiday not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is just behind the Tower & next to the shopping center. So very near the sea front. The hotel was very clean & staff friendly & helpful. I hope manager knows what a gem he has in Jimmy. Never seen anyone working so hard!!! He sometimes did the work of 2 waiters when others didnt show & was still cheerful.
The room was clean & as my husband is disabled we had a room on the ground floor. Not recommended if you are not a bar person (we're not). We had noise very very loud from both the bar in the hotel but also the bar next door. It was as loud as if we were in the bar itself. It stopped reasonably early, at about 11.00. But it was too loud to have the television on. Take ear plugs!! In all we enjoyed our stay but wouldnt stay here again because of the noise. If you like to go to the bar in an evening I would recommend this hotel as is good value.
The food was basic but was always hot & on hot plates. Nothing to get excited about but ok.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor as very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 69 in Blackpool
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#32 of 69 in Blackpool
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#54 of 69 in Blackpool
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 69 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 69 in Blackpool
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing