We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust the majority of these negative reviews”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My friends and I stopped at this hotel this weekend and we were thinking we were in right trouble after we read the current TripAdvisor comments but rest assured people, it's obviously some disgruntled ex-member of staff or a someone with to much time on their hands. The staff we dealt with (Marc, Garry and Kevin) we're all top blokes, very professional and they couldn't do enough to help us. How they put up with us four drunken idiots i'll never know but they were fantastic. Yes this isn't the Marriott but people aren't paying for the Marriott. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy enough. What more do you want? If we go back to Blackpool to watch the football again we'll have no hesitation in stopping here. Keep up the top work guys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarniedeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Melville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here with friends in Jan for two nights

Worse hotel ive ever stayed in!!

Staff - Thanks Garry for you unhelpful and unprofessional help. By far the rudest and most arrogant person I have ever had to deal with. If this hotel was part of a chain then you can guarantee they would have a better class of management. If I wanted to hear your shocking conversation about women and straight people then I would of gone to a third world county where its deemed more acceptable

Rooms - outdated but comfortable

Cleanliness - ok, could be better, but for the price, to be expected

If anyone who reads this hotel ever reads these comments then please sort your staff out as ive been using the Melville for a good few years with friends, wife and family, but I wont again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Couldn't swing a cat in the room, there was a general run down feel of the place! floor boards creaked throughout the building so you could hear every one passing your room at night, WiFi didn't work, the staff were rude and I just couldn't wait to get out of the place to be honest!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt87p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

this Hotel is an ideal spot to stay as close to most attractions ie.Winter Gardens, The tower & shopping centres etc.The staff were friendly and the food was very good but the rooms are so in need of attention!!! curtains hanging off rails, very sparce and basic. The bedding and towels however were spotless which is a plus for this establishment.The Hotel has a good lounge and a bar with an enormous T.V. Unfortunately this hotel is so in need of some TLC to bring it up to scratch, but ok if you dont plan to stay too long in your room.

Room Tip: most rooms seem to be of the same standard
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzyq60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My Sister and I booked this Hotel for Mum and Dad for a pre-Christmas getaway . The staff were extremely attentive and friendly , rooms clean and tidy and the food fresh , tasty and well presented and served by a great team , Entertainment was provided in the Hotel and Mum could relax with her crossstitch in the lounge . The hotel is central so that they did not have to worry about getting out and about during their stay . A big thank you from them to the staff . Will be booking them in again very soon .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went with 2 friends on coach trip very friendly helpful staff especially Anna and Jimmy, food good entertainment very good, rooms small but adequate as we were out most of the time could brush up on cleaning of rooms but all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anouska2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff are brilliant, the food is good the rooms and hotel are very clean, the rooms are a little dated and abit small but when I go on holiday I dont stay in the room much anyway, would love to go back, think Su who was a waitress was brill and to all the other staff a job well done.Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#48 of 73 in Blackpool
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#63 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#51 of 73 in Blackpool
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#14 of 73 in Blackpool
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing