We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights (Sunday and Monday) B & B on a KGB deal. The staff were very helpful, especially Helen and Shaun. Our original booking was for a twin bedded room but they let us swap for 2 singles on arrival at no extra charge. My room (59) was very small but comfortable enough and the TV reception was the best I've ever had in a Blackpool hotel. My friend's room (19) was much larger and lighter, with a bay window in the bedroom and a large window in the en suite.

The hotel was full on Sunday night so we all encountered some noise from other rooms and/or creaking floors but that's to be expected in a building like this. Monday night was a different story - very quiet.

Another friend stayed for 3 nights; his room was on the ground floor adjacent to the bar. After a noisy first night he asked for a quieter room and this was provided without quibble the next day.

Breakfast was good: choice of cereals, fresh fruit (apples & oranges) and full English with choice of brown and white toast. Friendly service.

The Melville is in an excellent location right opposite the Winter Gardens, minutes away from the shops and Tower.

It has limited parking spaces too. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms near the bar if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraC2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was a god standard and in a great location at the end of the street was winter gardens and hounds hill shopping centre across the road the staff were really friendly! The rooms weren't giant but not small they were very clean and had a TV ! there is a large dining room with plenty of space ! The waiter got our order wrong a couple of times but was always there to help and was very kind ! As the hotel was in a central location in Adelaide street it was easy to find your way and only a 15 minute walk from Blackpool north train station. overall this hotels is of a very good standard - especially compared to some little b&b's ! The staff are kind and as we went out of season there was no entertainment but there was still a bar and a large cinema style screen - as the hotel was quiet we got to pick what was on TV :) Also the food came very quickly but was fresh and a few options of cereal and grapefruit ! Very good hotel :)

Room Tip: Lower floors are probably better as they are closer to the bar, dining room, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Brilliant staff brilliant value would highly recommend this hotel to all!! the staff at hotel wr very helpful n kind they upgraded us to the bridal suite for no extra cost the room was luxurious and we wr over the moon to be so kindly upgraded we will recommend this hotel to all of r friends an family and any one else thanks for a great stay we will return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulabell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located and close to the Winter Gardens and Tower. In a few words, the hotel is reasonable value for money on the deal we had. Blackpool really needs to get it's act together as it has gone downhill since I was last here. Parking is expensive and made a cheap holiday hardly so but worse was the condition of the piers which needed repair and quickly. Why was it necessary to have some awful musak blasting out on the piers? It was awful and deafening and totally unnecessary. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel suffered equally with imposed noise from some radio station. So, the hotel.

Service great. Friendly and informed and caring staff. No problems there. The room? Small for a double but adequate and to be expected I suppose. Bed comfortable. Sleep fine. Niggles? Only given one hand towel for two and half a roll of lavatory paper. No spare.

Breakfast was acceptable.Fruit juice and cereal and a cooked English breakfast. Strange sausage. Dinner [included] was choice of two starter, mains and pudding plus coffee. Nothing 5 star here but great service and a pleasant meal in a nice dining room [apart from the noise].

In summary this a hotel that is trying hard; they own another close by and they deserve to succeed. Just drop that awful racket in the dining room. We want to talk not have a headache

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend, great location & great staff, nothing was to much trouble, would definitely go back to the hotel again. we were right by the winter gardens, & the Houndshill shopping centre? cant wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clairedavies1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Melville hotel in Blackpool very good food spotlessly clean and the staff where do I begin from Elaine on front desk to jimmy servin breakfast they bend over backwards to help you my friend Nicole myself and our two daughters had a most wonderful two days this week at this great place defo be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hello, we stayed at this Hotel from Monday 7th to Wenesday 9th April 2014.
Never been to Blackpool before, we were very happy to stay at this very well placed Hotel and will be happy to stay again, a bit dated but refurbishment underway, having said that it was clean, warm, comfortable and welcoming.
The breakfasts were excellent, cereials, juice and full English + toast, the food was good quality as was the tea and coffee everything hot and served with a smile, all you need in a Hotel.
Very attentive staff, treated all clients as important and equal.
So, if you are visiting Blackpool we recommend this Hotel, we parked the car on arrival and did not use it again until departure, the town is so close you do not need to drive! 5 minutes to the sea front, Blackpool Tower, The Winter Gardens, shops, restaurants, cafes etc.
We are well travelled but we have not found better staff anywhere, nothing is too much trouble all done with a smile, Spoil yourselves - stay at The Melville.
We have no connection to this Hotel other than very satisfied guests!

Room Tip: If you have a problem (unlikely) the staff will do all they can to resolve it quickly without any fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#62 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing