We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #61 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Absolutely brilliant hotel, me and my fiance booked this hotel with a wowcher deal, words cannot describe what an amazing time we had, upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted with very friendly staff who were very polite and helpful, the room was beautiful, can not fault a single thing, very clean, the breakfast was fab, great selection, hot and a buffet so able to serve yourself with friendly, happy staff to assist if needed, the hotel has a lift which is a bonus, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and a big flatscreen tv, there is nice seating area outside and the lounge is very clean and homely, there is a 24 hour bar and you can come and go as you please without having to worry about doors getting locked at a certain time etc, the location is perfect, right next to the big shopping centre, winter gardens, blackpool tower, the beach, central pier, restaurants and walking distance to the nightlife but not to close so if you want a quiet night your not stuck in the middle of it all, there is parking available right outside, a car park just across the road and the hotel has it's own secure parking which is where we parked, all the staff made us feel very welcome and it's always nice to see happy faces day and night, we have stayed in blackpool on numerous occasions and paid a lot more for 1 night then what we paid for our whole stay and I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, brilliant value for money and we will most definately returning, 1 thing I can say is if for any reason you are unhappy with anything at all if you just let the staff know they will most definately do their absolute best to help as we reported that the signal was lost on our tv and could not get it to work, within 10 mins the lovely man came and had a look and because he could not fix it bought us a new tv up, an all round excellent hotel xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Klee2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    115
    80
    58
    95
See reviews for
84
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here as we acquired a good deal through Groupon, for 2 nights B&B. Our room ( No.23 ) was immediately off the stair landing, with our bed up against the stair wall. The room was dingy, and badly in need of modernisation, paint, carpet, furniture.....the lot !! We didn't use the shower as it too looked shabby, with the plug hole stained, almost rusting !! The glass shelf above the sink was hanging off, and there was only one hand towel between the 2 of us. Still, as we are Merlin Premier Pass holders, we were there to spend time at the attractions, and spend as little time in the hotel as possible. Our first night went reasonably unhindered, and the bed wasn't too uncomfortable. Breakfast ! Usual choices of cereal, juices etc, but a rather annoying chap stood and served you with 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, and 1 egg...... you could then help yourself to beans, toms, toast, fried bread etc....... all of which was luke warm !!
On the 2nd night, we had a rude awakening as some inconsiderate person, who spoke with a foreign tongue, knocked our door loudly at 11.50pm, and tried to open the bedroom door !
That was it for us !! We got up at 6.30am, after a restless night, and made our journey home, without the breakfast saga !!
Sorry Melville Hotel........ you may be nice people, but your hotel leaves a lot to be desired, and we won't be returning any time soon !!

Room Tip: Don't pick room 23 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barry210357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Adviser. I am very sorry that you were not happy with your room, and would have liked you to have voiced your dis satisfaction whilst you were here with us at the hotel, so that we were able to offer you an alternative room and give you the chance to experience The Melville Hotel at its best.
in regards to the breakfast, you were staying with us on a Go Groupie Voucher during the International Dance \week and as we have Guests of all nationalities we find that the Buffet Breakfast with the offer of a Continental Breakfast As well is the best way to please everyone. Obviously on your discounted Go Groupie Voucher you were offered a Full English Breakfast both mornings but of course we also offered you the continental breakfast as an alternative should you have wished to try it. In regards to the amount you are allowed, we do not specify that you can only have 1 item of each ingredient, had you have asked for more then our staff would have gladly obliged.
We are very sorry that one of our international guests made the mistake of thinking that your room may have been theirs, unfortunately this is out of our control, but we would have gladly spoken to the guest had you have made us aware of this during your stay.
We respond to reviews such as yours as i have checked our handover paperwork and at no time during your stay or on departure did you make us aware that anything was wrong or not to your liking.. Had we have known, we would have done everything possible to assist you and change your experience here at The Melville Hotel. As you can see from our previous Trip Adviser comments, we do try to go out of our way to make sure that every guest enjoys their experience with us and if not we will do what we can to help. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a girly weekend after getting a good deal on groupon. The hotel staff were all friendly on arrival and check in was quick. Rooms are ok if a bit on the small side but we werent planning on spending lots of time in them!! They were clean and cosy and had all we needed which was great although the walls are slightly thin and there were a few rowdy guests who made quite a lot of noise!!! Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it to go around and plenty of tea/coffee and juices which was nice. Hotel is very close to all the shops and bars etc so fab location. Would definately stay here again!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Somerset_UkHoney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had a girly weekend here was really nice, on arrival staff were lovely and helpful. Rooms are small and walls are really thin. The hotel was full and some guest were extremely noisy and lacked consideration for others. But the staff were great, breakfast was lovely and Jimmy's tea service was super. It's really close to every thing and we would stay here again. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here on a kjb deal.we didn't like our room. It was dark.had to have curtains shut aswell because our room faced a room in the hotel next door.Bed was awful.Even for a well worn divan bed it was so squeaky when turning over and more spring than cushion.Definitely past it .Nothing matched in the room.Paint chipped everywhere.Wallpaper peeling away.If I was to stay here again I would try another room.The hotel it's self Was fine and staff was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zukiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good little hotel, Close to all the attractions and most importantly two mins from the winter gardens.

Rooms were Clean and Comfortable. Hot Showers. even if there wasnt a lot of space in the shower.

great bar area and good selection of beer and its cheap!!!

breakfast was ok. kept you fed!!.

good freindly staff who were only too happy to help.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Eight girls have just got back from a Friday and Saturday night stay at the Melville Hotel on Adelaide Street, on a KGB deal (£59 for two people sharing an en-suite twin room, for two nights with breakfast... beat that!!) and what a great time we had. Staff at the hotel were very friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean and bright (view of the tower from my room). There is a great lounge area just off reception with comfy seating and big flat screen TV. There is a lift to all floors, although we used the stairs to burn off the beer & donuts! To the back of the hotel is a bar area and dance floor. Downstairs is the bright breakfast/dining room. The breakfast was plentyful and tasty (cereal, fruit juices, full English breakfast, toast etc and as much tea and coffee as you want). The sea and beach is just a 10 min walk away from the Melville, as is the Tower and the Comedy Carpet on the sea front. I fully recommend going to the top of the Tower, even if you don't do the rest of the Tower attractions (Ballroom etc). You get a 4D cimema experience which is great fun before you get in the lift to go up the tower. The Skywalk is a strange experience but you've just got to do it and take photos to prove you have! Blackpool has had a 'face lift' since I was last there. I would highly recommend Blackpool as an enjoyable English seaside holiday destination

Room Tip: We liked our room at the front of the hotel because we could see the Tower and we had a big bay wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarmSummerDays03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#57 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing