We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff made the stay”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #61 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
shipley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff made the stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Me n the wife stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal that she got off the net and form the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were just brilliant, from telling us where the best car parking was to be had , to sorting taxis and giving information and directions to where the best shows and local amenities were, has for the hotel it was your typical blackpool b&b but on a bigger scale, we had a twin room that was a little small but the ensuite shower and toilet had a little to do with that but it was fine at the end of the day it was somewhere to get washed , changed and put your head down after a night out. We saw in a double room as passing and they were much more spacious but for £59 for 2 nights we aint gonna complain. Breakfast in the morning was lovely full english with cereal and juice if wanted all orchestrated by the jovial Jimmy who has the residents in stiches with his humour. Quality stay will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dazkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    115
    80
    58
    95
See reviews for
84
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at weekend. Rooms a bit dated but very clean and had everything you needed. Staff were excellent and brekkie was tasty. Hotel was right in town so perfect for our night out. Very good price. Will deffo be back next time I am in Blackpool. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Just had a break at this Hotel 8th 9th July ..on Wowcher offer £59 for two nights 2 ppl ,with breakfast ,location is excellent to all theatres,restaurants,shopping galore.hotel is clean and comfortable,very friendly pleasant staff..could not fault it,beautiful dining room,breakfast excellent,,lovely bar,would definantly book this hotel again,,Thankyou Melville for a lovely stay..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildegard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On a recent visit to blackpool we had the misfortune to book the melville as our hotel for the night after a theatre visit. The room was more akin to a hostel fixtures fittings all in disrepair room missing toilet roll and tea and milk this room was also dirty empty coke bottles dead moths and clumps of what may have been hair under the bed this was on arrival (the room had just been prepared), the cleaner sorted the missing items but the wash basin splash back had shaving foam on it from a previous occupant, as the room was for one night and only £60 (no breakfast) we shrugged it off ! what a mistake on returning from the theatre at midnight we went to bed only to be awakened at 2am by a hen/stag party in the next room the night receptionist did very little to stop the noise after another half hour we had had enough and left the hotel to go home. The receptionist just said they ignored him! other normal guest were in reception also complaining .If you are thinking of booking this hotel please be aware they cater for hen and stag parties

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I would like to thank you Mr Langton for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.. Good or Bad we always welcome the comments of the guests that have stayed with us..I would like to offer our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive The fantastic Melville Experience that i know we do so well.. Having looked in our Daily Diary i cannot actually see any complaints from you in regards to your room, i would ask that if you ever have any issues with your hotel rooms (Wherever you are) then please make a point to bring it up with reception instantly so that they are in a position to move you to an alternative room as of course we want our guests to be happy, I would have made sure that you were moved instantly especially as your room, in your opinion was so bad - it is really frustrating when you go home and then air your views on trip advisor without even giving us the chance to put things right. Just also to set the record straight - The Melville Hotel Does NOT accept Hen Parties or Stag parties, but unfortunately on this occasion the group that were in had booked via an outside booking channel (Booking.com) and had all booked separately in different names so that we would not know they were a party... hence we bonded them all £20 on arrival and made them aware that we would not accept any bad behaviour.. I am very sorry that you felt the need to leave early, having spoken to our night porter regarding this incident he does remember you leaving and did explain that he went up to the group and told them that they had to keep the noise down or they would be evicted.. He did not need to go up again.. I felt the need to respond to your review Mr Langton as i find it a little unfair in regards to your Avoid like the plague comment... We could and WOULD have made your experience here so very different had you have told us of your concerns, but without the knowledge there is not anything we can do about it.. Also i would like to apologies in regards to the Group that were booked in, via Booking.com - we would NEVER have taken them but on this occasion they managed to book via the outside booking channel. I have since spoken to the booking channel and informed them of my concerns in regards to groups booking in this way.. They explained that EVERY hotel is open to this abuse as most hotels (including US) now exclude Hens and Stags from booking directly via the hotel.. This is a concern that we are now looking into and will try our best to come to a conclusion as soon as possible, so thank you so much Mr Langton for voicing your opinions as we have been able to put a procedure in place to make sure that this does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Took a gamble on this budget hotel for a quick short break in Blackpool, and so glad I did!
I do not associate my experience with the recent reviews. It isn't really fair to judge an hotel based on the stupidity of other guests. It is not the Hilton, but it is a taste of the old-school Blackpool, and it's very very economical. I found the hotel to be a little gem, if a tad basic.
Spotlessly clean, the staff are amazing (top marks to all the reception staff, who dealt with any concerns we had in a really friendly and helpful manner, and Sean (who seemed to do everything) specifically) the breakfast is good, and the location couldn't be more central.
To all the knockers, take a look at what you paid. You paid for a cheap trip away, and you got a safe haven to rest your head and a decent breakfast of a morning, for less than a round of drinks in a decent lounge bar. Get real!
This is ideal if you're looking for a budget hotel in Blackpool.

Room Tip: Just ask for a larger room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

4 of us had a weekend-2 nights staying at this hotel. The staff were really lovely and so was the breakfast. The rooms were clean and adequate for the money we paid. It was such a shame the very drunk large 'old enough to know better' rugby team staying there at the same time were so badly behaved banging on doors, shouting etc etc keeping all other guests awake all night. It was not the hotels fault but perhaps they could have done more to stop it? The next day there were so many complaints. With such little sleep it ruined the weekend. it would have been nice to have been offered something in compensation even if only a free drink at the bar? Otherwise this would have been a good weekend.

Room Tip: the double rooms are small - pay extra for a triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments here, firstly i would like to thank you for your positive comments in regards to the staff and the hotel itself, it makes a big difference to us all to know that people notice when we are trying our best and really WANT to make the experience as good as it can be.. On this occasion i appreciate that you were here whilst we also had a rugby tour staying (This tour had been booked for over 18 months), please be assured that we did as much as we could do in regards to the problems that occurred on the Friday night.. We evicted a whole room from the hotel by 10.20am on the Saturday, as these were the ones causing the problems..We made sure that these were no longer in or allowed within our hotel at any time. Having spoken to the organiser of the tour, he was more than happy for this to happen as he himself did not want anyone else within the hotel upsetting..
I am very sorry that you experienced these problems whilst you were staying with us, i can assure you that we do as much as possible PRIOR to a Groups visit to ensure that they know the hotels terms and conditions and the behaviour that we expect from them. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again within the future, to give you the experience that we know we can and do provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is not what it looks like on the pictures. Its really small, old fashioned and the bed was so uncomfortable, it was like sleeping on springs. Staff arguing really loudly at breakfast time, of an evening it was understaffed same person on receptions as the bar. I also had a dead fly on my fried egg at breakfast no apology just would you like more toast. Not impressed a all. Staff were quite disrespectful too.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel/bnb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us here at The Melville Hotel. Having looked back through our Daily Diary i cannot see any entries from yourself in regards to any complaints as mentioned within your write up. In regards to being understaffed, we are a family run hotel and try our best at all times to make sure that every department is covered as and when required, if you saw the same person more than once this is because we are a very close family unit and work accordingly, this then reflects on your comment about arguing within the breakfast area?? I have spoken to our staff and can assure you that no arguing took or takes place at all. We respect every comment that we receive both good or bad, but would also like to point out that had you brought any of these issues to our attention whilst you were here then we could have done everything possible to try to make your experience the best it could be.. If we are not made aware of any problems then we are not even in a position to put them right. In regards to your room, Room 24 is one of our standard Double rooms which is what is on offer on the Deal that you purchased through KGB, by all means we would have been prepared to change your room and even upgrade you at no cost had you made us aware......Once again, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave YOUR views on our hotel, just a tip from us... If you are not happy with something then please voice your concerns whilst at the hotel so that the staff are able to sort things out for you and make a difference as best they can...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#46 of 70 in Blackpool
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing