We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived as a hen party (which I've just seen from the manager that they do not admit hen and stag parties..UNTRUE.. We were one of 2 parties.. the other being 25 stags.) on Saturday at around 12.30, we were unable to get into all of our rooms as they were still being cleaned, but 3 were available so we could at least store our bags until they were ready.. at 5.30pm 3 of us still hadn't been allocated a room, an were told by a very surly woman on the desk that there were no rooms left..after a LOT of arguing with us, and at one point, we were told to shut up, we finally managed to sort it out..a bit of customer service training wouldn't go amiss..
The cleaning staff also could do with a bit of training.. 1 toilet roll in a room with 4 people, floors not hoovered very well.. clean sheets used to prop doors open before they're put onto beds..
The rooms were stifling, as there is only one small window that opens, maybe installing a small fan in each room would help..
The only saving grace were the dining room staff and the bloke on the desk at night who also ran the bar.. hard working and pleasant..
Best I can say was adequate for what we needed and close to centre of town..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff at the Melville are very friendly and helpful and the place is reasonably clean, but the room that we were in (room 51) was at the far end of the 2nd floor (not good when I had asked about disabled access when booking) the room was very small and in the heat it was stifling. The bathroom was like a closet, with a toilet sink and shower (we couldn't use the shower the first day as the door was hanging off and wasn't fixed until our second day). Breakfast was OK good choice but on a buffet style so the cooked breakfast was only warm and the toast was like rubber.
Personally we would not go back but if you are able bodied and just going for 1 - 2 nights it is ok.

Room Tip: Don't have room 51
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MystifyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

so, many of you read my reviews. so i'm going to be honest and use part of this contribution from my fiancee who wants to ensure we capture all aspects of the visit.
Booked this weekend through a Voucher Deal and it was the first time we'd done things this way. The description of "luxury sea-front hotel" raised my expectations of how great this accommodation was going to be.
To begin with, I'd called ahead a few weeks before and arranged a parking space, which i thought was very helpful with a lovely guy called Tom, who assured me that they would be looking forward to receiving us whatever time of arrival.
We were delayed due to traffic on the Mway, so more out of courtesy i called to check parking arrangements, only to be rather curtly told "no such parking space had been booked and there were none left". This added a little anxiety to the journey as i had visions of £25 per night/day trying to park.
When we arrived the receptionist wasn't even interested in seeing the proof that we had booked parking, however after a standoff, and being assertive, we were directed to an alley parking bay which unfortunately was next to bins and the fire exit although it was better than having to pay full price somewhere else. We were also told that Tom had left because he had done something like the previously. Tom if you read this, it's only something we were told, we have no proof either way.
Secondly to get to our room we were led towards a tiny lift that seemed as though it was from the 1950's (no room for two people and a case), so we went up one by one, safely. Arriving at our room, our initial thought was how tiny it was, however it was comfortable, everything worked, a decent shower with plenty of hot water. For a weekend it was adequate.
By this time we had resigned ourselves to the fact that "luxury sea-front hotel" was a little bit mis-sold, not least of which the view wasn't sea-front, more back street wall and very noisy.
We had breakfast as part of the deal and it was a much nicer arrangement, although bacon and sausage was rationed to one portion per person. All was cooked well and quite a good variation on both days.
The locale was right next to the shopping centre and not too much of a walk to the North Pier, so pretty convenient. The weekend was made much better by the weather. If it had rained we would probably have written off the weekend before we did anything else and come home.

Room Tip: Unfortunately i don't recommend this hotel for anything more than either a one-night stay or pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PedroTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me n the wife stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal that she got off the net and form the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were just brilliant, from telling us where the best car parking was to be had , to sorting taxis and giving information and directions to where the best shows and local amenities were, has for the hotel it was your typical blackpool b&b but on a bigger scale, we had a twin room that was a little small but the ensuite shower and toilet had a little to do with that but it was fine at the end of the day it was somewhere to get washed , changed and put your head down after a night out. We saw in a double room as passing and they were much more spacious but for £59 for 2 nights we aint gonna complain. Breakfast in the morning was lovely full english with cereal and juice if wanted all orchestrated by the jovial Jimmy who has the residents in stiches with his humour. Quality stay will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dazkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at weekend. Rooms a bit dated but very clean and had everything you needed. Staff were excellent and brekkie was tasty. Hotel was right in town so perfect for our night out. Very good price. Will deffo be back next time I am in Blackpool. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank shel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just had a break at this Hotel 8th 9th July ..on Wowcher offer £59 for two nights 2 ppl ,with breakfast ,location is excellent to all theatres,restaurants,shopping galore.hotel is clean and comfortable,very friendly pleasant staff..could not fault it,beautiful dining room,breakfast excellent,,lovely bar,would definantly book this hotel again,,Thankyou Melville for a lovely stay..

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Hildegard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On a recent visit to blackpool we had the misfortune to book the melville as our hotel for the night after a theatre visit. The room was more akin to a hostel fixtures fittings all in disrepair room missing toilet roll and tea and milk this room was also dirty empty coke bottles dead moths and clumps of what may have been hair under the bed this was on arrival (the room had just been prepared), the cleaner sorted the missing items but the wash basin splash back had shaving foam on it from a previous occupant, as the room was for one night and only £60 (no breakfast) we shrugged it off ! what a mistake on returning from the theatre at midnight we went to bed only to be awakened at 2am by a hen/stag party in the next room the night receptionist did very little to stop the noise after another half hour we had had enough and left the hotel to go home. The receptionist just said they ignored him! other normal guest were in reception also complaining .If you are thinking of booking this hotel please be aware they cater for hen and stag parties

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

I would like to thank you Mr Langton for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.. Good or Bad we always welcome the comments of the guests that have stayed with us..I would like to offer our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive The fantastic Melville Experience that i know we do so well.. Having looked in our Daily Diary i cannot actually see any complaints from you in regards to your room, i would ask that if you ever have any issues with your hotel rooms (Wherever you are) then please make a point to bring it up with reception instantly so that they are in a position to move you to an alternative room as of course we want our guests to be happy, I would have made sure that you were moved instantly especially as your room, in your opinion was so bad - it is really frustrating when you go home and then air your views on trip advisor without even giving us the chance to put things right. Just also to set the record straight - The Melville Hotel Does NOT accept Hen Parties or Stag parties, but unfortunately on this occasion the group that were in had booked via an outside booking channel (Booking.com) and had all booked separately in different names so that we would not know they were a party... hence we bonded them all £20 on arrival and made them aware that we would not accept any bad behaviour.. I am very sorry that you felt the need to leave early, having spoken to our night porter regarding this incident he does remember you leaving and did explain that he went up to the group and told them that they had to keep the noise down or they would be evicted.. He did not need to go up again.. I felt the need to respond to your review Mr Langton as i find it a little unfair in regards to your Avoid like the plague comment... We could and WOULD have made your experience here so very different had you have told us of your concerns, but without the knowledge there is not anything we can do about it.. Also i would like to apologies in regards to the Group that were booked in, via Booking.com - we would NEVER have taken them but on this occasion they managed to book via the outside booking channel. I have since spoken to the booking channel and informed them of my concerns in regards to groups booking in this way.. They explained that EVERY hotel is open to this abuse as most hotels (including US) now exclude Hens and Stags from booking directly via the hotel.. This is a concern that we are now looking into and will try our best to come to a conclusion as soon as possible, so thank you so much Mr Langton for voicing your opinions as we have been able to put a procedure in place to make sure that this does not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#62 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing