We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed 21-23 Aug 2014” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed 21-23 Aug 2014”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Like most of the other reviews it's not good. Got offer (£59.00 x 2 sharing) off Wowcher. The rooms were small and pokey and if you are on the large size you will struggle to use the ensuite facilities too. We were in rooms 32 & 35 in our room ,32, you could here everything and I mean everything walking down the corridor to rooms sounded like a herd of elephants, very noisy. We were on the 3rd floor and to go for breakfast/bar you had to go down 2 more flights of stairs (5 flights in total). There was a lift but I only saw it being used for elderly in need of a wheelchair. No offer to carry our bags, hotel parking was £10.00 a night when they had spaces, feel that should have been mentioned on Wowcher. We found a car park that was £15.00 for 48 hours at the top of Adelaide street which is on the right as you go toward the hotel. I found the staff quite abrupt but the cleaners were very pleasant and always wished us a 'good morning'. The good thing is it's close to the main shopping area/Tower plus they do a good breakfast and Jimmy who was working in the dining area is a gem, so friendly who loves his job and it shows. The WiFi was free but we couldn't get it work. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have a 'good room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    115
    79
    58
    94
See reviews for
83
151
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend wanted to go on a break and saw a deal on KGB for 2nights with breakfast for £59 (For the 2 of us) so went for it, knowing it was a 2* hotel. Upon arrival, after travelling for 9 hours 30minutes on coach the staff were lovely. Really friendly and told us everything we needed to know. The hotel is virtually opposite the winter gardens and there is a mall just across the road which cuts through to where the blackpool tower is and the beach etc. so you're pretty central.
The room we were in was small, but we only wanted it for sleeping in, which was fine. Also had a small T.V. Had a toilet, shower and sink, but there was no lock on the bathroom door. This didn't phase us, and it might only be some rooms, but it could be crucial for others. My only fault was the hotel was creaky, very creaky. The floorboard creaked, the bed creaked, but it wasn't as bad as I initially thought it would be. Everynow and then you could here someone walk upstairs, but it was fine.
When you go out for the day LOCK THE DOOR BEHIND YOU. It is NOT a automatic lock on the rooms!
You also hand your key in at reception before you go out, and they give it back as you come back in (24hour reception), which was a relief to us as we didn't have the worry of losing the key.

Breakfast was very nice. Early and only an hour long, but if you want to be up and out it works well. Full English is served (Toast, fried bread, hash browns, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomato's, scrambled egg) and a few cereals (Wheatabix, rice crispies, bran flakes etc.) and various jams and fruit juice. Tea and coffee is offered and I think I saw someone with hot chocolate. The staff were a bit quiet and not as friendly as the reception staff, but that's a personal opinion.

There is a bar with a pool table and a small stage (Never saw or heard entertainment in our 2 nights, but we didn't use the bar) and a little lounge area with a T.V. to use if you're waiting for something i.e. taxi.
The hotel is a 5minute walk from the central coach station which was handy for us as our coach was delayed so we got to blackpool later then expected. The hotel held our bags for us on our last day, as you have to leave the rooms by 10:00am, and our coach wasn't until 2:50pm and were happy to do so and do for everyone.

I would go back to this hotel for sure. Really lovely, basic and you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We saw this on groupon but the two night stays had sold out so we called up to see hoe much the extra night would be as an addition if we brought the voucher. They were very kind and gave us the two nights direct for the same price as groupon including breakfast.

On arrival at 2 we were quickly checked in but when we went to our rooms they were still being made up do left our bags and then went to explore.

The rooms on inspection later were functional, however there were a few spots of damp and paper peeling in places. Also the shower was not great, with very low pressure and difficulty getting it to a usable temperature.

The breakfast was okay, but had it not been included in our price we probably would not have had it both mornings.

The bar within the hotel is very reasonable as we were able to get 3 alcoholic beverages for less than 10 pounds.

The "parking available" as advertised on the Internet is in fact a public pay and display car park up the road which charges about 15 pounds for 2 days.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Upon arriving to the hotel we found out our room was right next to the bar so obviously we asked to move to another as they still had a vacancy sign in the door to which we were told there were no rooms actually available but the room should be fine because the music gets turned off at 11. It didn't. The music went on till late and we could hear every conversation as if we were sat in the bar ourselves because the walls are so thin. So on the second night we decided to shut the door to the bar which was a fire door that was propped open with an extinguisher (which for safety reasons is illegal anyway!) the noise was 10x better this way and was much more bearable. But the bar man/night porter kept propping open the door and turned the music up louder than the night before. It was almost 1 so we decided to ask for it to be turned down and the door to be shut. The night porter was so rude and disrespectful, his answer was that he was allowed to keep the door open as there are people in the bar and the music wouldn't be turned off. When my partner then went on to inform him that it's actually illegal to keep the door open he became extremely argumentative. It was only after pulling up online that it was indeed illegal to keep the doors propped open and that if he was still so sure he was right that he wouldn't mind us taking pictures to send in to report the hotel he walked off in a huff and did what we had only ever very nicely asked to begin with. It was bad enough that he had such disregard for the safety of his guests but his appalling attitude was just the cherry on top. A number of other guests had also had a problems with this particular staff members attitude. The rooms are pretty basic and don't look very well maintained as everything in the bathroom and bedroom appeared to be falling apart and the room really shouldn't have been a double as it was quite clearly a single. Breakfast was mediocre. Overall hoping to forget this weekend ever happened.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay in the melville Hotel, upon arrivel staff was sat outside smoking her head off then came to attend to us smelling of smoke. We was told we had to pay by cash as the machine wasn't working so i had to go to a cash machine before our stay. once we got into the room on the second floor the room was tiny, the bed was covered in hairs from someone else. the towels was as hard as sand paper, the main light didn't work and the bedside lamp was cracked and PATT testing was last checked in June 2011 according to the sticker. there was two windows one of which didn't have a curten up, when we asked staff to fix these problems we didn't even get an apoligy. When we got back from our evening out the light had been fixed but the curten was still missing so we had to resort to moving the wardrobe in front of the window so the people across the way couldn't see in when getting changed. We manage only to get three hours sleep as children had been put in a room above and was running around the place at 5am,The floor boards creaked so much we thought the ceiling would come through at one point. when we came to checking out there was three staff behind the counter ,we asked for a receite and was told we couldn't have one as the printer wasn't working and when asked to hand write one one of the staff said we are not allowed to do that. I then started to complain about our stay and never got one apoligy from anyone. I wouldn't recommend sending my pet dog to this place. WARNING,dont stay here unless you absolutely have to,unless all else has failed,because belive me a night under the pier or in a doorway with the local druggie/alchoholic is much more condusive to your sanity and health than a stay in this hell hole

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
9 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towyn, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Disgusted with the service in this hotel, floor creaks very bad every where you walk, towels like cardboard, no curtain up in the room asked for a curtain to be put up never got one , electricals not pat tested since 2011 !! Asked on arrival for receipt to be told you will get reciept when leaving, so asked again on leaving to be told printer wasn't working , avoiding vat man I think !! Staffs attitude is horrible

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have just returned from a four night half board stay. The staff are very friendly,willing and helpful The food isn,t bad but the hotel is awful. We were given a room on the ground floor which was a single room posing as a double very cramped , the bed linen was a bit suspect the fittings ie toilet roll holder bathroom shelf etc either missing or insecure but the real trouble was the room was next door to the bar which had loud music loud conversation and laughter going on till the early hours so we were virtually forbidden sleep till this was over this was every night they might as well have put the bed straight in the bar Never never again !!

Room Tip: Free wifi doesn,t work Avoid the ground floor if you can,t avoid the hotel altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#50 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing