We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Enough”

The New Osterley Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Osterley Hotel
Ranked #609 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I chose this because of its location on the doorstep of the Winter Gardens it is also near the Hounds Hill shopping centre. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, The room was fairly small and basic, but to be fair was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. I think the hotel is in need of a refurbishment and was quite expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked online from the photo's, which is always a risk, but we also trusted the Tripadvisor reviews which gives a lot more confidence.

Fifteen minute walk from the Train Station and right behind the Winter Gardens so easy to find.

Parking was available on a first come first served basis but we just thought a train was easier for this trip.

It was raining heavy and when we got to the Hotel my wife was drenched. The owner ran off and came back with a towel before we even checked in.

The room was basic and the colour scheme very seventies, but it was clean and all we needed, we'd have preferred a shower but for one night it was fine to have a bath with shower attachment.

We had a good nights sleep with the lights on Blackpool Tower shining through our window which was really nice.

Breakfast was full english all you can eat buffet style. Hot and well cooked.

Checkout was fast and friendly.

Overall an enjoyable trip and we will be using this Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natwinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful with breakfast being plentiful and nicley cooked.
Found it quieter at night so could sleep well compared to other places we have stayed in Blackpool. Good location as near main attractions. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable.
We needed a room with three single beds and they accomodated this with no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eunybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked at the last minute after a change of plan. At 2 o clock on a Saturday in Blackpool this is difficult! Nice welcome by the owner who directed us to a parking space around the back where his wife guided us in to the space. First impressions were good. Reception area with chairs and TV was clean and a good size bar area was next to it. Family room was basic, one double and two singles with a small en suite toilet, sink and shower. Room was clean which was a bonus. There was also a tv in room, although we never had it on. Beds were firm but decent although you can hear every noise in the hotel at night including other guests snoring. Great location next to the winter gardens. Over all a decent nights stay although at £140 pounds it was more expensive than a few five stars I've stayed in! Great buffet breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's Blackpool, as previous reviewers have said if you want 5* then go to London.

For what you pay, the service is friendly and the hotel and rooms are very clean.

You have a bar area within very good prices, with only a 10 minute walk to the front, it is a great location, and the breakfast is brilliant far beyond what we expected.

The only downside is the parking, if you get there early enough you will be found a parking space,they will tell you about the car park up the road for £20 per night 1st, however be persistent and they will find you a space at the back of the hotel, however there is only 8 spaces available, it is on 1st come 1st served basis.

Room Tip: if you like an early night get a room the furthest away from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's a Blackpool B&B, if you want 5* goto London. Perfect location, friendly staff and great breakfast. Rooms are good enough for Blackpool and very clean and tidy. Could do with a pool, sauna and gym tho. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Came on a coach party for illuminations switch on
Hotel very basic but for what we paid very good just needs a lick of paint
Staff very friendly the only problem I had was the shower was scalding hot and cold water just a trickle

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 70 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boomerang Blackpool
Boomerang Blackpool
#226 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orbiston Hotel
Orbiston Hotel
#541 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Grove Guest House
Manor Grove Guest House
#198 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Villa
Rosebank Villa
#288 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Osterley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Osterley Hotel

Property: The New Osterley Hotel
Address: 80-84 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Osterley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Blackpool, the renovated New Osterley Hotel has emerged as cleaner, more comfortable whilst retaining its relaxing charm. As a family run hotel, we offer professional but friendly service: wholesome food to bar with entertainment. With Winter Gardens next door and a myriad of entertainment - shopping center, Tower, Promenade and Piers - a few minutes away, you will be perfectly placed. Trams, railway station and Talbot bus station are close by with taxis available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Osterley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing