We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mansfield Lads weekender”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #513 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mansfield Lads weekender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Myself and two work mates stayed here Oct 7th 2013 for 4 days and could not fault it. Nice welcoming staff and Andy the hotel manager goes that extra mile for you. The food is bang on with nice clean rooms.Rose and Nathan tend to the 24 hour bar and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is close by so what more do you need? Would definately book this hotel next time i go on a lads weekender.

Room Tip: Room 111 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    35
    30
    8
    19
See reviews for
33
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely people, ok rooms , quiet and got a good nights sleep, good position close to the main town, great breakfast. No lift so not good if you aren't fit! Free entertainment when we were there, well stocked bar, but more beer choice would be good ?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

simple place great welcoming off andy
needs brightening up appears a bit dull the colours are very bleak
breakies perfect very nice indeed
cleaning is lovely but they need to clean curtains or air them more as smelt bit dusty
perfect location few mins walk to beach and right by tower
would defo reccomend but mainly to families or older people

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I went with a David Urquart 5 day superdeal so they chose the hotel. As other reviews say pleasant welcome by Andy. In fact the main cook was ill and he had to cook "as a novice" He did brilliantly! Food was simple with choice and plentiful. The coffee is very weak so we took extra sachets ! On arrival some with less mobility were in difficulty as no lift so any who dont like steep steps keep clear. (There is a stair lift to first floor) Our average size bedroom (211)was newly painted and bathroom had had a makeover. All fine for what we paid. Tea and coffee in room for first night then you have to pay £1 for pack. We had taken our own ! The fairly small bar lounge was adequate but seats not that comfortable. There was entertainment but as it started at 9.30 we preferred the TV!
All staff were friendly . The central location ..just 3 minutes from the Tower and promenade and opposite Houndshill shopping mall make this good choice .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staff very welcoming, dirty carpets, lollipop stick stuck on stair carpet on arrival still there 5 days later.Room very warm one window sealed off the other jammed once opened wouldn't close again.Tv sound comes and goes . Coffee and tea facilities a joke , 2 cups, 4 milk, 2 teabags, 4sugars no tray or saucers.Plastic under sheet very hard to sleep. Food ok but mealtimes were very disorganised
Staff friendly and great location. No lounge to sit in and chill only hard benches in the bar.Very dim lighting in the bedroom couldn't even read I had to buy a lamp and extension cable.. ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skatterball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to the Calypso hotel in Blackpool for a dance trip about 2 weeks ago. On arrival staff seemed very arrogant and unwelcoming. The rooms were filth, the bed springs had been popped which didn't help the dancers sleep and almost every room which one of us had stayed in had a broken window.

The children had to go bed earlier the first night and only the teens were up and the man shouted at one of the teens for screaming which she never did.
The next morning at breakfast the food was des gusting we hadn't been starved after 20 minuets of waiting and had to ask for food which when starved was uncooked. One dancer and parent had been refused food because there was not enough left

Once home from competition we had been told dancers could stay up as long as they liked for a karaoke and disco which at about 12 the very rude gentleman at the bar said all children had to go up it was a part of the licence which we hadn't been told and he was very rude and was shouting at us adults and our children

Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Staff are very friendly rooms need updating took my parents who have trouble walking and the stairs are steep and narrow so avoided going to room as much as possible house keeping not good tea and coffee never replaced bin only emptyed once good location but would not want to stay there again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carolineheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#53 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#34 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Georgian Hollies
The Georgian Hollies
#775 of 911 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walford Hotel
Walford Hotel
#685 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: 39-43 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing