We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eau De Cooking Fat”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of New Sunset Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Sunset Hotel
Ranked #844 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eau De Cooking Fat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Oh dear, where do I start?

As soon as my family and I walked in through the front door into reception, we started to have doubts. The smell of old cooking fat hit us like a wave from the Irish sea on a stormy day!
We should have turned back and gone along the road, to one of the many other hotels on Albert Road with vacancies, but we thought we should give them the benefit of the doubt and see how things would work out.
One thing that seemed odd, I noticed later, was the lack of any form of Hotel accreditation award, either on the outside or in the Reception. Looking at all the other establishments along Albert Road, they had at least one quality rating, which should have rung all the alarm bells, but we decided to press on with our stay, as we had already paid up front.

The room they had ready for us, didn't have a shower, only a bath, so we elected to wait the 50 minutes for them to get it ready for us. We wish we hadn't have bothered.

When we got to the room (number 101) it was very small, there was a double bed and in the opposite corner a single for my son. The room was a sort of L shape, so that the single bed fitted into an alcove.
The mattress had probably been there since the hotel was listed, because we could feel every bed spring in it! We ended up lying on top of the quilt, so it felt a little more comfortable!

The bathroom was also very small and cramped, with a small basin; toilet & shower cubicle. The shower itself has seen better days, with lots of mould growing in the grouting cracks and rusty shower basket (to hand gels and sponges etc).

There was a radiator so plenty of heat, but it was constantly on - all the time! The valve tops had been removed, so we couldn't turn it down. As a result, it was very stuffy and felt claustrophobic. At least we could open both windows, one in the bedroom and the other in the bathroom. However, the bathroom window had broken (it shut on the catch, but the hinged end did not fit flush to the frame) so we could hear all noises from the streets.

Next morning we attended breakfast, again another blast of old cooking fat! I was surprised to note that part of it was not self-service. The cereals were served by our waiter, who didn't present us with any menu choices and we had to ask to see if they had what we wanted. I had a cooked breakfast, but when it arrived, as will all the breakfast choices, it was very small and not cooked well. The waiter was fairly prompt, but completely lacking in any form of customer facing experience.

The only good things, was that the linen was clean and the location is very central for all the attractions.

We had booked for two nights, but after the horrible first night decided to move to a Premier Inn a few miles away.

If you are ever tempted to stay at this hotel - don't! Sleeping in your car would be preferable!

The proprietors could really make a go of this because it has the potential to the one of the best hotels on the street. But, until some real investment occurs, please do not go near it.

  • Liked — Location in Blackpool.
  • Disliked — Smell.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    3
    2
    18
See reviews for
8
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2007

This is a place to be given a wide berth, its a dump, broken toilet dirty nets and curtains, looks like bates motel, only good point is the food was o.k. and staff friendly, we had to pay up front, so people dont do runners when they see rooms avoid at all costs

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cramped and dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Barnsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2006

6 of us went on a girlie weekend had a fab time
Staff great - nothing too much trouble for them
Very friendly hotel food fantastic
Hotel needs udating a bit but any girlies out there wanting a
fun packed weekend with great food this is the place to go
Already booked for next year

  • Liked — Excellent Customer Service
  • Disliked — Needs upating a bit
  • Tips/Secrets — Perfect for groups of friends
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTottyDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2006

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend in august and had a great time. very clean and staff great. wouldnt advise it for parents with young children, but great if you want a lively weekend. they had a disco down in the basement with proper DJ which didnt start til 12 midnight an went on till about 3.30am.
rooms are quite small but decent, had a bath in our room but couldnt seem to get any hot water so had to use a friends room who had a shower,

all in all tho i had a great weekend here. close to all the main places, only up the road from the tower and round the corner from all the main bars and clubs.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kato_scouser86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mersyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2006

The first time in my life i was asked to pay upfront for our room??? without seeing it, the room was small couldnt get hot water to work and you had to pay to watch the tv in your room. Breakfast was good but door was locked right on 9.00 am to avoid any one coming in who managed to have a lie in, staff in general were friendly but some had trouble understanding english, avoid the damp and musky smelling disco, the ripped pool table that takes your money but avoids handing all the balls out, and the small bar is one to miss ,if you can find it that is

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the accomodation
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

my wife, myself and kids booked here for a week . first impressions were good, outside of the hotel is of a decent standard. first thing which made me a bit wary was being asked to pay for the room upfront without seeing it. went up to our room and was horrified at the state of the room, there was a terrible damp smell coming from the room ,headboard hanging off the wall, mismatched bedding and cramped conditions,{this was a family adjoining room} next thing we found was the shower not working, i had the "handyman" sent up who informed me it was because other people were using showers elsewhere in the hotel????? i immediately asked to be put in another room. this room was of a much higher standard but still smelled a bit of damp and wasnt the cleanest .it was situated in the basement area, the corridors are cramped and arent ideal when you have a buggy.the fire doors were being held open by empty fire extinguishers to be fair to the staff they were nice and helpful the breakfast was good though, the hotel needs a damn good clean from top to bottom and althought you get fresh towels everyday i can safely say the room wasnt cleaned in the week i was there, AVOID IF YOU CAN.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the dirty rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darkblues1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2006

I would not recommend this hotel. Our room was cramped, badly in need of updating, dirty and the ensuite was only suitable for people under 5'2"!!!! The shower door was broken which meant the ensuite was permanently flooded. As the room was not cleaned during our stay, we had to use our towels to mop the floor!
Also, I would not recommend this hotel for those who want to sleep at all during their stay. The bar disco starts at 11 and goes on until 3am on Friday and 4am on Saturday! The area is not sound proofed and it can be heard clearly in all the rooms - and expecially in the basement where we were staying.
The breakfast was ok - but only served between 8am and 9am - not good if you didn't get to sleep until after 4am because of the music.
Generally a hotel to avoid............................

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — One to be avoided
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barney1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#34 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Oxford Hotel
New Oxford Hotel
#398 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#345 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#237 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sunset Hotel

Property: New Sunset Hotel
Address: 77-81 Albert Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #844 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing