We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wee place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aysgarth House Hotel
Ranked #147 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The place is very clean the hosts richie and Lynn and the staff are simply the best breakfasts are simply the best,their knowledge of Blackpool is second to none they will do anything that you want they really made you feel at home I stayed he with my youngest grandson who is only 3 and he didn't want to go home

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Aysgarth House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Chose this B & B due to the previous great reviews. What a disappointment ! B & B is centrally located in Blackpool, a 5 minute walk from Madame Tussauds and 10 minutes from Blackpool Tower. It is on a back street full of typical Blackpool B & B's. From the outside it looks very welcoming with lovely hanging baskets and a bench to sit on, There is on street parking available as well as two pay and display car parks nearby. The bedrooms are over three floors. The corridors are very narrow and dingy and are in need of decoration. Our bedroom was clean but small. It had a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. There was a toilet and shower. However if you were of a large disposition it would be exteremely difficult to get in and out of the shower and you would not be able to shut the bathroom door to use the toilet or the sink. There were no shelves at all to put toiletries or even a toothbrush on. Our bed was appalling. When you lay on it you could feel every spring and had no option but to roll into the middle of it. The only thing going for the room was that it was very quiet at night. Breakfast was served in the sitting room which also had a bar area. We were told on arrival that cereal was served at 8.30 am and cooked breakfast was at 9 am. There was a choice of several cereals along with orange juice. We did not enjoy our cooked breakfast as it was very greasy.

This B & B is extremely central and within easy walking distance of Blackpools main attractions. However it is very dated inside and in need of complete redecoration. Breakfast could also be improved. There are so many hotels and B & B's in Blackpool to choose from which are reasonably priced and equally central so I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lovely B&B, very clean and well kept. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The room was clean and neat, if a little on the small side, however we were only stopping one night so was perfectly adequte.

Breakfast was a very tasty full English, and the hotel had a licensed bar for it's guests too if you so wished.

Location was perfect; close enough for a less than five minute walk to Blackpool's Central Pier, but far away from the rowdy main streets, and easy to get a good night's sleep in. A lovely stay, and if we ever visit Blackpool again, we will most likely stay here. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicia_taylor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We chose this rather standard-looking Blackpool B&B based on the excellent reviews we found on Trip Advisor, combined with the very good value price on offer, and now we're pleased to add our own glowing recommendation to the list !

We were lucky enough to be in Blackpool in excellent weather, and were able to find York Street easily, within 5 minutes drive of Central Pier, and found free parking right outside. Even on our pre-season visit (unlike many of their B&B neighbours) The Aysgarth was looking very spick & span with hanging baskets and benches outside all looking very welcoming. And the welcoming extended to the greeting from Richie & Lynn, who couldn't have been more helpful.

York Street is noticeably a very quiet back road, but walking distance to everything you'd ever need to visit in Blackpool - a great location. Their small double room is very comfortable with a great bed, although lack of space means foregoing bedside tables and reading lamps, which wasn't a problem for us on this visit. Breakfast was - unsurprisingly - superb, because they obviously love their business and know what they're doing !

Yep - we can't recommend the Aysgarth highly enough; look no further if you want quality & value under one roof, and we'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillAndRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

At short notice I decided to take my two children(12 & 14) to Blackpool and wanted to stay overnight rather than drive back to Cumbria on the same day. Aysgarth was very reasonably priced, Richie was very helpful over the phone prior to the visit and very accommodating once we arrived. Extremely welcoming, plenty of help on offer but not too 'in your face'. The room was basic but clean and just what we needed (freeview TV which pleased the kids). Lovely hot shower. Location couldn't be better, we parked in the nearby car park in the morning and walked to the Pleasure Beach for the day. Cooked breakfast was spot on. All in all I really think this is a little gem of a place and the owner just makes you feel perfectly relaxed. Thank you Richie.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Wonderful place couldn't of found a nicer place Lynn & Richie were very easy going. Always looking to help with booking tickets to shows and rides. It looked like Richie had come back from the dead most mornings great week- end. We've booked for next year.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Alfiewhitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just had a great weekend stay at the lovely Aysgarth hotel, from the moment we arrived when Richie helped us up to our room with the luggage to leaving nothing was too much trouble.
Lynn & Richie who own this family run hotel are the perfect hosts and make you feel so welcome. You are central for all the attractions but far enough away to enjoy a good nights sleep and you can then look forward to having the best cooked breakfast.
If you have a young family it's good because they have a well stocked bar situated in the lounge/breakfast area so in the evening after a long day out you can enjoy a drink downstairs with Lynn & Richie knowing your children are safe with you. This really is a lovely, clean, friendly family run hotel and when you've stayed here once you'll be looking forward to your next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0bb1esgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Almar Hotel
Almar Hotel
#271 of 859 in Blackpool
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadeby Lodge
Cadeby Lodge
#246 of 859 in Blackpool
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#113 of 859 in Blackpool
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#83 of 859 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#68 of 859 in Blackpool
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gramsford Lodge
Gramsford Lodge
#516 of 859 in Blackpool
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aysgarth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth House Hotel

Address: 30 York Street, Blackpool FY1 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £27 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aysgarth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aysgarth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing