We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it, john@pearl were lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amethyst Hotel

Amethyst Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amethyst Hotel
Ranked #668 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
northumberland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“we loved it, john@pearl were lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

had a smashing time here, we stayed for 2 nights and our son and his partner joined us the second night, john @ pearl made us straight at home, laughing and joking with all the residents, it was so easy to walk the 10 minutes in to the centre of blackpool, we had a fab time at the legends show, cant wait to go back. we had the gold room which was lovely, and they put my son and his partner next door, there room was huge, all in all john @ pearl were brilliant hosts, they made the hotel, warm and friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lainyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Well we went again and it was even better and we will be going again.John & Pearl are the perfect hosts and dont read reviews that tell you otherwise.They both have a great understanding of how to accomadate people in a home from home atomosphere.They will always endeavour to help you in any way they can.The rooms are all very clean and pleasent to stay in,with bathrooms being of a very hygienic cleanliness,with tioletries and soft white towels.Our bedrooms are always cleaned and the beds have crisp white cotton sheets and pillow slips.Breakfast is of plenty,good quality and hot,always more being offered by Jonh if you need it.Do not expect to be able to lower the standard of such a good hotel.John & Pearl are always a very polite friendly couple and run thier hotel in the same manor and rightly so.It is a beautiful very well kept hotel and standards are high on the list.I am pleased to know that since staying in July the same standards are being kept.After all there are plenty of sub standard places to stay in Blackpool should you need one,But the Amethyst Hotel is not one of them.I can honestly say this is the only hotel we would stay in in Blackpool and believe me when i say "we have stayed in many over the years that we have visted,not one of them has had such good hosts and standards".Looking forward very much to our stay here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Having booked a family room we were greeted by Pearl who showed us to our room, not a bad size room compared to other Blackpool's hotels standard rooms that we've stayed in.
The room was extremely clean & the hotel well decorated, bathroom was clean & tidy overall the accommodation was pretty comfortable.

Both John & Pearl were extremely helpful in helping us book a meal & a show & bent over backwards to make sure our stay was comfortable despite the antics of some other guests.
A bunch of drunk women whom had no consideration for anyone else in the hotel should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves, clattering about during the early hours outside our room was an absolute disgrace, how John didn't put them out in the middle of the night I've no idea he certainly had the patience of a saint & did his utmost to try & quieten things down for the rest of us staying at the hotel.

Breakfast was typically a Blackpool breakfast plenty of cereal, toast & coffee the full English was just that full English well cooked & presented & hit the spot keeping us going till dinner time.

Overall apart from the idiots that just happen to have been in at the same time the stay was extremely comfortable, our hosts couldn't have done anymore in my opinion to make our stay enjoyable, this hotel is certainly a bit of a hidden gem amongst the trawls of other hotels Blackpool offers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We were given the family room located at the top of the building. The bathroom was spotless, however the same could not be said for the room itself. Spillages and hair in all the top drawers, cobwebs on lights and dirty earplugs on the floor.

Breakfast was nice, 1 sausage, 1 rasher bacon, 1 egg, beans and hashbrown. The only problem was you were not allowed to swap an unliked item for another ie beans for 2 hashbrowns - only allowed to go without what you didn't like.

Hosts were friendly and hospitable, however I didn't like being asked to pay within 2 minutes of arrival

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyerocket1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddyBlackpool, Owner at Amethyst Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
This review is not for our Amethyst Hotel, we have no record of this person/s staying here.
All our guests are asked what they would like for Breakfast, and our rooms are spotlessly cleaned at all times, we also have regular anonymous overnight stays from Visit England
and im sure that if this person was correct with these complaints we would not have a 4****
RATING.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Amethyst hotel was a complete gem of a hotel! my partner and i thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! the rooms were traditional but quirky, elegant and above all comfortable. unlike the hotels we are used to the owners of the hotel made us feel at home straight away! always their to give advice on where to go to eat, drink, have fun and best places to shop!
we felt comfortable enough to spend the last few hours of our evening (early next morning) in the bar with the owners! such a lovely couple.
highly recommend the hotel and well worth the money! we definately will be returning, along with the family! as the hotel caters for all!
but next time we will definately stay for longer!
thank you pearl and jon for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh lancs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We recently stayed at Amethyst Hotel Blackpool. When I made the telephone booking I was offered a choice of room, I chose the Gold Room. But we werent given the room when we arrived, I was disappointed but say anything as I didnt want to make a fuss. Then when speaking to other guests we found out they had been charged £25 each person per night, they had paid £100 for 2 people on a 2 night stay. Yet we had been charged £30 each person per night.? Which totalled £120? For the same 2 nights? We had paid £20 more? than the other guests. Also the Gold Room which I had booked was occupied by other guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzywongLeighLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddyBlackpool, Owner at Amethyst Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
OWNERS RESPONCE.
Dear Sue
First of all you were not promised room 3 (Gold Room) as this room was allready booked by a regular weeks before.
You mentioned that the couple you were discussing prices with had paid less, the reason for that is they had booked on line before we had chance to change prices for new years eve,we charge £25. all year round surely you can't grumble at an extra £5 for new years eve
We even gave you (a couple) a large family room, you also thanked us on leaving saying you had enjoyed your stay even Mick (your partner) said he would definately come back to the Amethyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Only stayed 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel was clean, well presented and i would recommend anyone to stay over. The landlady/landlord are very helpful and pleasant people.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TubeyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#463 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel

Property: Amethyst Hotel
Address: 86 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #668 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 49

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing