We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belgrave Madison Hotel

Belgrave Madison Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belgrave Madison Hotel
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic, but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel via Wowcher, so I wasn't expecting anything amazing. The room was basic, but clean. The breakfasts were good and there was the choice of cereals and a full English - which was tasty and the service staff were friendly enough, as were the owners.
The room had a TV in it, but we could only get two channels - not something we were that bothered about. A post on the four poster bed actually blocked the TV, so it wasn't the best layout, but in the small room there wasn't much choice of position, so we lived with it.
The hotel is a couple of miles out of the centre of Blackpool, but the tram stops practically outside, so there's no problem getting to and from - I would recommend buying a day pass from the newsagents around the corner. I think this was about £3.50 for the day and for unlimited stops - really good value if you intend to be going up and down the strip.
All in all - basic but good. If you;re on a budget and not expecting the Earth then you'll be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherise130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    26
    20
    28
See reviews for
27
45
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very annoying reading negative feedback on here! my mother and I paid £89 to stay here for a weekend...that included breakfast and a 3 course evening meal - all of which were lovely. This is a bargain. The rooms were clean and the owners are lovely and more than happy to be of assistance. The 99p bar was also a nice extra. We had a great time. I dont know what people expect for their money sometimes!! We had a delightful time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeppelinbabe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel needs to be draged kicking and screaming into the 21 century. It has a new owner after the last owner gave it up after her husband died. You can see that this hotel was a warm and homely place with regular entertainment, check out the pic on the internet, unfortunately all the lights have gone out!. It now needs an overall refurbishment that sadly i think will not happen in todays financial climate. The new owners are young but enthusiastic and very helpful. Early season the bar is not allways open but there are some very good hostelries nearby, The Conservative Club open to non members, excellent and the newly refurbished Albion in Bispham village. The rooms are very small, in need of new decoration, clean carpets and the bathroom/shower was very poor and minute.Scolding Hot water in the sink but shower went freezing after 1 min. Coffee making facilities plus hair dryer. If we had staye 1 more night i would have neeed a chiropractor Breakfast was very good at 09:30am, we ate out in the evening. The hotel is on the front opposite the Tram line with stops approx 200yds in both directions, one every 12mins until evening then every 30mins , last tram 01:15am. Use your bus pass on this service free. Papershop approx 500yds passed the Con club. We booked this with a KGB £89 for 3 nights. Hotel ok for the lads weekend away, I wish the new owners all the best.

Room Tip: Wait until the hatel has a major refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryJOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Me and my fiancée booked this cheap weekend with a coach company and it's safe to say you get what you pay for. The room was quite small and the bathroom was tiny. The hot water tap didnt work at first then we managed to fix it. The switch on the shower where you change it hot and cold came off in my hand and the bathroom light didnt work. Also there was no hair dryer in the riom. The food was basic not very filling and you'd swear it was from frozen. Breakfast was basic but nice. The bar was ok. 99p bar was only open from 3-8 and it was half pints and not many drinks to choose from. Didnt have many drinks to choose from anyway. The hotel was a fair way from the centre and all the shops but there was like a 2 minute walk to the tram station and trams were cheap. Apart from all that, the staff were very very nice and and we're very helpful. Also the group of people we were on the coach trip with were fun so we had a very good time and had a laugh :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWilliams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Booked this through KGB deals - £89 for 3 nights - you certainly only get what you pay for. This hotel is in need of a good clean, needs decoration and updating. Lights in our bedroom and en-suite didn't work, they managed to fix the ceiling light, but not the bedside light. TV had only 2 channels and unclear picture. Room was small and cold, dirty blinds and curtains, sink taps were grotty and sink had toothpaste marks in it when we arrived. I had to clean it when we arrived. Staff and owners were very nice though.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Outside view of this hotel is awful! Looks grubby, windows need a good scrub! Staff were very rude!The rooms were awful too, no hot water in the shower, only trickled!got locked in my room because the lock was dodgey! The hotel needs a lot of work doing to it! New carpets needed badly, lick of paint an lots of bleach. Thought it was a 99p bar 4-8 but it was on certain drinks an you still had to pay 30p for the coke!!! What a joke! The owner also tried short changing us! ! Couldn't wait to get home..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 85gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

First appearances, run down shabby. Went to look at our room and got stuck in the inadaquate lift between floors. We had chosen this hotel because it has a bar, but they would not open it because we were the only couple in.
We only stayed minutes and left. Strongly advise to avoid.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank victor1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harlands Hotel
Harlands Hotel
#513 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leverdale Hotel
Leverdale Hotel
#354 of 913 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brincliffe Hotel
Brincliffe Hotel
#177 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#445 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Madison Hotel

Property: Belgrave Madison Hotel
Address: 270-274 Queens Promenade | Bispham, Blackpool FY2 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Belgrave Madison, a 2-star promenade hotel, with parking, commanding sea-views, and the best of Blackpool hospitality. Entertainment through the season. Family-run. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belgrave Madison Blackpool
Hotel Belgrave Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing