We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and vfm”
Review of The Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Regency Hotel
Ranked #608 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Regency for a weekend as a stag party of 10. From the outset the proprietor was vey welcoming and would do anything to make us feel welcome. The rooms were comfortable and basic but we all slept soundly and our belongings were secure. The bar at the hotel was excellent, the drinks were very cheap and served with a smile and many tales from the friendly owner Andy.

We opted to pay for parking at one of the shops opposite, this proved cost effective and convenient.

Breakfast was very good and seved hot and promptly every day (it was a welcome hangover cure).

Our only two criticisms would be the shower in our room was underpowered and difficult to control, and the lady at breakfast on day 2 was very grumpy.

Overall we had a great time and would come back to Blackpool just to have some beers in the bar it was that good, most importantly our stag, Simon had a great time,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Really good accommodation, excellent breakfast would definitely recommend, value for money and central for everything, Great host made to feel really welcome, drinks really good valve for money, had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again, Nelly,Darton,Barnsley,South Yorkshire

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Five Scottish Lads From Hawick stayed here
On reading reviews I was pretty apprehensive to book this place, however after calling around trying to get accommodation for 5 Scottish 18-30 year old lads I soon realised this was more difficult that I thought! Not many want stag, hen doos, groups, or one nighters.
So sod it i booked it.
I booked through their website awsoneweekends, a company that take a commission for booking to this hotel (found this out on checking out speaking to owner Andy)
Anyhow, back to the Hotel,
On arrival it looks pretty dates and run down, but once inside its your typical Blackpool hotel, no frills, budget accommodation. Now to be honest the hotel and it's owners don't make out its the Ritz, you can tell they've done done work and keep on top of it best as possible but this hotel is basically a party hotel! And if you want a quiet hotel or a decent nights sleep then look elsewhere.
If you want a hotel that offers a bed, breakfast, cheapest bar prices in Blackpool a long with friendly owner Andy then this is the place to come. The poor bugger is kept busy and while we stayed the Saturday night, it was cram packed and busy as it could be, he kept smiling and entertaining. The bar prices are dirt cheap....in fact for a hotel bar, far to cheap in comparison. It's to get you to drink there, instead of taking drink to your room etc, but to be honest, it works. The bar was packed and you get a great banter with others and Andy joins in. So all in all e wry one is a winner. He even keeps bar open when you come back in at 3am lol
While your spending Andy will sit there. Poor bugger, 4am still serving, up at 8am doing breakfast ha ha
So if your staying here, leave your drink at home and your the bar and give Andy a turn. He actually deserves it!

You also get Free VIP wrist bands for discounted entry fees into bar clubs, food etc.

Room we got had two singles, and two bunks. Fine for the night or weekend. Was enough room to move and get changed. As there was 5 of us, we also got a double bed room down stairs. Was just a room no en-suit but had a decent shower/bathroom next door. I used this one as 5 lads trying to shower and get changed is a challenge on its own so the extra room was handy.

We came back in at about 4am, place was still buzzing, folk about drinking laughing, partying. But all was good cos this hotel is a lively one so you need to get pissed to sleep. Wasn't loud, or anything just a busy hotel so you do here noises. We were right at top so wasn't to bad. Some lads were banging on doors but didn't last long. Also fire alarm went off too at 4am but went off quickly. Was probably folk messing around.
My only real gripe with hotel was breakfast, we went down at 10am, was packed, think everyone was down at same lol
Waiting around 5 mins then sat down at a table once folk got up. Was a table that sat 12 I think. We sat 20 minutes before his wife I presume actually acknowledged us enough to offer a glass or fruit juice. A further 10 minutes to get a pot of tea. Still the table hadn't been cleared and it's now 40 minutes and she brought a rack of toast. We sat with dirty breakfast plates and no clean anything. Now she was busy and we were aware she was running about. But she looked pissed off to the max and was a little dis - interested in serving a clean table and a breakfast. Was almost as though she thought its only 5 young lads ill not bother. Maybe she was having a bad day but it wasn't a good look considering Andy works his butt off to make you feel welcome. I actually got up and left my friends 50 minutes later without my breakfast or a clean table as I was so fed up.
I was going to speak to Andy up stairs but decided not to.
This B&B would actually Benefit from not doing breakfast, lower the price a few pounds and stick in sandwich machine or just do filled rolls or something. Either that or offer a cafe round the corner a deal to do the breakfasts for them and send the guests there. They were run ragged but it wasn't run efficiently. Two older guys behind us got up and walked out also.

But apart from that, it's a decent enough hotel And I'd stay again, but I'd tell Andy I'm not wanting breakfast lol
Ignore bad reviews, if your looking for a bed for the night and your young and want a laugh and cheap pre-drinks before heading out then this is the place for you!

Remember they don't put up with trouble or really loud noise or groups that disrupt others, but if your fair then they are fair with you and you'll get on fine.

So don't hesitate you'll be fine.


Top tip, book direct with hotel, you'll get if for around £25 pp
If you book with agent they charge £30 pp

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyFinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a hen party, had a twin room, very small and cramped. All doors are fire doors so no matter how quietly you try to shut your door it slams which results in a restless nights sleep. The bathroom was tiny but the water was hot and the toilet flushed,

Rooms were clean but could do with decorating - very dated and unappealing.

Breakfast was lovely. wouldn't stay here again out of choice but ok for the price

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heva34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a brilliant weekend in Blackpool @ The Regency Hotel. Where do i start.... Andy is deffo the host with the most, from check in to check out it was a breeze, a great easy going atmosphere, small but functioning rooms that were clean and fresh, no tv in bedroom but there is one in the lounge bar (who really goes to Blackpool to watch tv??) To sum it up clean rooms, comfy bed, power shower (en suite) lovely breakfast, cheap bar, great owner, good location Will be back thanks Andy. From the Scots on the shots :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikiandmikeyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here last night. It was a terrible experience. We were told around 6pm that the electricity would be going off for about 15 minutes, for some planned work. An hour and a half later it came back on. This was really bad since we were getting ready to go out. No showers, no lights and no straighteners. Only 2 mirrors (1 in the bathroom and 1 in the bedroom), which isn't enough for 4 guests. The rooms were really small too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HED_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here last weekend. Location is perfect, just a couple of streets back from the tower. On arrival had to leave a £10 deposit for each room key (No issue with this as I can imagine how many keys go missing). Andy was very helpful and bar prices were good - 3 bottles for £5. Our room was quite small for three people but was ok for one nights sleep. Only real negative was no hot water in the morning. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walbradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#342 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel

Address: 50 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £49 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing