We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely rotten!!”
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington
Ranked #375 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here over the weekend for a mates stag. Room was stinking dirty. Bed sheets not washed, floor in room covered in hairs, and room stank like a sewer. I'll not even mention what the bathroom was like. Also room was the size of a matchbox with a 14" TV that did'nt even work. No towels or soap provided either. Bar staff were very cheeky and breakfast was that bad I didn't even try it!! Music was blaring when we landed during the day and that continued all night so expect no sleep whatsoever. Seriously this is not an exaggeration. The place was a dive. I never expected the Hilton but I did at least expect a clean bed!! Did I mention we also expected a bed per person. We were informed upon arrival that we had to share a double with one of our mates! lovely

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are looking for a central reasonably priced party hotel in Blackpool this is it !. As a previous reviewer said " it does what it says on the tin!", The room cost is reasonable and the rooms are clean. All the staff and managers were very helpful , and pointed us in the right direction for clubs / restaurants etc . The bar was great after we came back from the various clubs we went to. We all (8) would stay again , Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just got back from a brilliant weekend at the Wellington in Blackpool.
The hotel was £30 a night and great value for money.
Rooms are basic but have everything you need really (although you will need to give a deposit if you want towels)

Diane and the team were really helpful and let us have use of a function room for some pre-going out games.

It's about a 5 minute walk to the seafront and then 15 minutes to the centre where all the clubs and bars are.

Party weekends are really what you make them and if you're up for having fun and keeping your weekend cheap then the Wellington is a good hotel to have as base. Just remember, if you don't want to party don't stay at a party hotel, in fact, don't go to Blackpool at all!

From
Farmer Girls and Marie the Hen

Room Tip: House double vodka is £3 Cocktails are £2.50
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just came back from a hen weekend with girls / woman of a wide age range. Okay it's a party hotel, but you would expect people to have a little consideration for those who are not drinking all night in the bar. Instead, people were shouting, swearing, music blaring all night and to top it all, someone activiated the fire alarm at 5.30am causing everyone to have to leave their rooms. Rooms are grotty, had to request towels and toilet rolls. No soap or basics. I was afraid to look under the bed sheets for fear of what state the mattress was in. Four women in one room with only 1 small window that could be opened meant the room was stifling and in my opinion a fire hazard. They charged us just over £30 per person per night but with 4 of us in the room that was £120.00 per room per night! Other guest houses were charging £30 per ROOM per night. No breakfast choices - full english or nothing (not as nice as it sounds). Get your own cutlery and plate and make your own toast, tea or coffee and pay for orange juice. Was more like a canteen than a hotel breakfast room. When 2 of my room mates skipped breakfast, I asked if I could have 1 of their sausages and was refused!! even though it had been paid for!!
If you like getting drunk around the clock without having any consideration for other residents then this is the place. If you like to get any sleep at all (and I'm not exaggerating when I say you won't get any) DO NOT BOOK IN HERE!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiO871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned home from a stag weekend at The Wellington. After arriving we were shown a cctv tape of someone emptying there bowels on the landing. The whole place smells of sick and the breakfast was awful. If this wasn't enough on checkout they con you out of your room deposits by finding problems in the rooms you have stayed in. Are group of 16 were split across 5 rooms and we lost 75% of are deposit. All of the issues raised by staff were already in place so check your rooms. They ranged from broken blinds to broken bed bases.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyG600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed in the Wellington for a mates 30th Birthday, there was a group of 18 lads and even though they couldn't fit us all in the Wellington, Joeanne arranged for half of our group to stay in a B&B 2 doors down. We paid £15.00 deposit each and then the balance upon arrival (£35.00 in total). Something to point out that they didn't tell me until we booked the rooms, was that they would require a £20.00 "bond" which was a deposit we would get back for not trashing the place. This is fair enough and we all got our money back the next day.

Upon arrival we all got checked in, had a few beers in the bar (which was fairly priced, you could get 4 bottles of Stella for £10.00 each. The room we had was fine' no complaints was clean and the bed was pretty comfy (for the 3 hours I spent in it). In terms of location it is about five mintes walk from the tower so you are near all of the bars.

At the end of the road there is a pay and display car park which charges £6.00 for 24 hours which isn't bad at all.

I got back to the B&B about 3.30am and the place was rockin, and basically the bar doesnt shut. Also speak to Dianne and she will get you on the guest list for club sunuk.

Had breakfast which was pretty small to be honest but filled a hole, check out was no problem as well.

I would return to this hotel no problem. One thing is that this isnt a hotel for families, it's a party hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holmezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Recently went on a stag weekend here. Rooms were clean, reasonably equipped and the service was good and friendly. Central location which is nice and a decent breakfast as well.

GIven the price, its excellent value.

One caveat is parking - on street parking is available, but very limited. There is car park 30 yards away, £6 a night. But beware, they will tow away your car and demand £250 at the slightest excuse. Read the signs very carefully, including the hidden one!

Room Tip: The higher the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eldar_cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#222 of 863 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#148 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: 20-24 Coop Street, Blackpool FY1 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing