We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington
Ranked #384 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2012

i stayed here with my partner and 7 children breakfast was fabulous room was very clean any problems was dealt ith straight away good freindly hotel diane is brilliant and orks very hard child freindly my children done what they wanted and felt relaxed will defentetly be going back well done to all the staff and thankyou for aking our holiday a wonderful week from julie bugsy and te 7 kidsxxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is slap bang in the middle of everything, you have the tower one way and the pleasure beach the other, very convenient for all the pubs/clubs.
The rooms are basic but clean, okay for a boozy weekend. What little sleep I got was not a good experience as the matress was full of sticky out springs.
The bar is open 24hrs which was an attraction for my weekend with the girls, we did have a laugh upon returning to the hotel after our nights out.
The staff are really friendly & helpful and have a lot of local knowledge.
The breakfast was a bit small but nice, you have to make your own drinks and your own toast.

Room Tip: The higher the floor or the back of the building the more sleep you will get as the low room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JarraBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just come back from a last minute short break in Blackpool, with my teenage son. I cant complain, We paid £80 for 2 people for 2 nights with breakfast, the room was small and very basic but clean enough, with a hot shower and a little TV. Perfect for what we needed which was a base to dump our bags, sleep shower and change.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach and walking distance to all the attractions.
All the staff are friendly and Kirsty behind the bar is hilarious, for those with kids, the evening entertainment is proper Blackpool cheesey fun, with Bingo, Quiz and a sing song with the entertainer "Tunes wiv Trev".
The bar sells cheap drinks, and theres a pool table.
The breakfast was fine, with a full english and as much toast, cereal, juice, tea and coffee as you want.
This hotel is fine for those on a budget who are more interested in having fun in Blackpool than inspecting hotel rooms for hairs and dust.
Would defo stay again and it would be ace for a weekend hen doo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Would like to say that I found all the staff to be polite and helpful where needed. Decided on a last minute stay in Blackpool and as I needed a room which slept 6 and was close enough to the beach I settled on the above B&B. In all fairness I didn't spend much time here at all only to sleep at night time, the room was a good size but shower room was tiny, and the shower was leaking in several places leading to only a trickle of water coming out, also there was no curtains, blinds or frosted window in the shower room. There was too window's in the room, one was busted and didn't close over and the other had a make shift handle but couldn't be locked over and when you looked out the window on the sill were knickers, boxers, cigs stubs and packets yuck each window didn't have proper working blinds either. The 3 single bed were comfy enough but the Double was really uncomfortable no head board, plastic mattress and had a single bunk above which I found a bit bizarre. There was a small portable tv whether it worked or not I couldn't tell you as we didn't use it, the single wardrobe in the room was swaying and the door hanging off not good when you have kids about also the hanging rail in the room swayed from side to side mentioned these after the first night but nothing was done. I would not return to this b&b or recommend it to anyone else, which is a shame when it has such nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayrshirelass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here over the weekend for a mates stag. Room was stinking dirty. Bed sheets not washed, floor in room covered in hairs, and room stank like a sewer. I'll not even mention what the bathroom was like. Also room was the size of a matchbox with a 14" TV that did'nt even work. No towels or soap provided either. Bar staff were very cheeky and breakfast was that bad I didn't even try it!! Music was blaring when we landed during the day and that continued all night so expect no sleep whatsoever. Seriously this is not an exaggeration. The place was a dive. I never expected the Hilton but I did at least expect a clean bed!! Did I mention we also expected a bed per person. We were informed upon arrival that we had to share a double with one of our mates! lovely

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are looking for a central reasonably priced party hotel in Blackpool this is it !. As a previous reviewer said " it does what it says on the tin!", The room cost is reasonable and the rooms are clean. All the staff and managers were very helpful , and pointed us in the right direction for clubs / restaurants etc . The bar was great after we came back from the various clubs we went to. We all (8) would stay again , Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just got back from a brilliant weekend at the Wellington in Blackpool.
The hotel was £30 a night and great value for money.
Rooms are basic but have everything you need really (although you will need to give a deposit if you want towels)

Diane and the team were really helpful and let us have use of a function room for some pre-going out games.

It's about a 5 minute walk to the seafront and then 15 minutes to the centre where all the clubs and bars are.

Party weekends are really what you make them and if you're up for having fun and keeping your weekend cheap then the Wellington is a good hotel to have as base. Just remember, if you don't want to party don't stay at a party hotel, in fact, don't go to Blackpool at all!

From
Farmer Girls and Marie the Hen

Room Tip: House double vodka is £3 Cocktails are £2.50
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,293 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#239 of 861 in Blackpool
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#91 of 861 in Blackpool
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westfield House Hotel
Westfield House Hotel
#240 of 861 in Blackpool
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: 20-24 Coop Street, Blackpool FY1 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing