We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to begin!”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where to begin!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Well, got to the hotel on Friday evening and we were given the keys to our room.
When we got to the room i had a look around, the room was dirty, the cups still had tea marks down the side and the carpet looked like it had seen better days.
Went into the bathroom to find a bright pink bathroom with no shower so we asked to be moved to a different room.
The room we got moved to had a shower but was just as disgusting as the previous room but we decided to head out and see how we felt when we came back.
We got back to the hotel at night to discover we had not been given a front door key. The night porter was apparently off sick, all the doors were locked and all the lights in the hotel were out.
We were all phoning the hotel and ringing the bell, we later discovered that in fact the 9 on the telephone number on the front on the hotel looks like an 8 when it is all dark as we had 4 people calling and they all thought it was an 8. We stood outside for just under an hour until someone finally managed to get a hold of them.
When they came to the door they hardly seemed bothered at all and gave a half hearted apology. I complained to the owner and he said to come down in the morning.
After a nights sleep i went for a shower, in the shower there was brown bits coming from somewhere and round my feet towards the plug hole. I then decided to go and ask for my money back as it was just disgusting.
I went and complained to the woman at reception who told me that she came to our hotel door at 9pm but we weren't in so she could give us the front door key, therefore there was nothing she could do. The fact she had a contact number for me obviously meant nothing.
I told her the room was dirty for which she told me th room was painted 1 week ago which i don't believe for a second.
She asked to see the room so we went up and the cleaner also came and asked me to point out the dirt. I pointed out the filth on the skirting boards about an inch thick and the filthy bathroom floor with pubic hair on it but they didn't seem to recognise there was a problem. I then pointed out the big tea stain on the wall which lead to the skirting board which i was told they could not clean as it would take the paint off, i pointed out that no guest wants to sleep in a room with a tea stain on the wall. Again no comprehension of this. I was then asked what they could do about the furniture to which i replied clean it as that had tea stain all down it and was filthy!!! I told her as well there was urine over the back of the toilet seat, for some reason they have a plastic one over the normal seat and you have to lift that one to get to the normal one. She then said i should have left the urine there to which i replied it would have gone on my back if i didn't.
They really didn't seem to get that it was filthy and i'm sorry but if that is a refurbished room then i would hate to see what it looked like before.
Rooms don't look anything like the website. Not worth £65 of anyone's money for 1 night, i've stayed in better for £20.

BOTTOM LINE - AVOID!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jb22f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
The guest didnt seem to be in a good mood when she arrived late, she asked for a room with a shower instead of the one she had been allocated, so I gave her a key to have a look at a room with a shower but explained the room hadnt as yet been decorated. She came back down and said it was fine.The night porter rang in sick and I couldnt get a replacement that night, so i put front door keys on all the allocated keys, unfortunateley because she had changed rooms it got missed. I went to her room at 9pm to give her a key but she had gone out. I did expain about the night porter when she arrived and said the front door would be open till 12 and she said she wouldnt be late as she a girl about 10 with her. The hotel next door rang me at 12.30am to let the guest in, he said she had been ther 15 mins. I was very apolgetic. In the morning she said she had rang 10 times and showed me her phone, she had phoned the wrong number and obviously felt embarrased, we even looked at the sign and the last number is clearly a 9.She then started complaining about the room, so myself and the head housekeeper went with her to have a look and she she started looking round for something to complain about and found a small tea stain on the wall (this room has now been decoraeted). She just wanted compensating and to stay another night for free because she got herself locked out and rang the wrong phone number. The £80 she refers to is the price for 3 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    142
    32
    9
    11
See reviews for
329
187
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

staff on reception were lovely and friendly made our stay really enjoyable, our room was in need of a decorate had new curtains and new bedding but bathroom was very old fashioned and shower didnt work propper. The side tables had spilt tea on them so hadnt been cleaned .on day of leaving the cleaner was very rude to us and i was very upset by the way i was spoken to ,she was also giving orders out to the very nice guy on reception .shame about her really get rid and it would be a better hotel and probably cleaner rooms too !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m777chg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value your feedback. I'm very pleased you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and we look forward to you staying with us in the future. However, I note there were a couple of issues. We took over the hotel in mid-April 2011 and have been working tirelessly to renovate the rooms and install new bathroom suites, many of which have now been completed. With respect to your comments about one our cleaners, we have no knowledge of this as it was not reported to us by you at the time, therefore we request you contact us to enable us to investigate the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Thank you so much for a great holiday. You have done a great job of updating. The bedrooms are beautifu comfortable and spacious easy to move about in. The food was excellent so a big thank you to the chef, there was something for everyone. Your staff go that extra mile when it comes to guests, so this makes it even more enjoyable they are so plesant and caring. They even get to know your needs and this was great as my mother-in-law is disabled and in a wheelchair and you couldnt do anymore to help us which made it special for her. Nothing was a task and any problems we had due to her disability there was always someone there to help us so thank you very much for all your help and we would recomend it to everyone. we will come again as we enjoyed it so much thank you Guy and Barbara for everything and thank all staff aswell. take care, IAIN& SUSAN STEVENSON.

Room Tip: sea view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

just got back from craig-y-don today after 2 great nights wife my wife and children had a wonderfull time at hotel which has just been renovated to a very high standerd by its new owners staff at hotel are great and entertainment is good food is first class bedrooms are excellent would recommend anyone going to blackpool to stay here as we will be back thanks for a excellent time from the welshys glasgow

Room Tip: room 44 four poster bed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

just got back from the crag y don hotel? which has been taking over by new oweners?they are planing to make a lot of changes to the hotel.my husband and my family had a great time/ we were all made so welcome. the new oweners could have not done enought to make our stay so good from the moment we walked through the door till wee left. the reception staff are so pleasant as well as the bar staff to the dining room to the night porter? they were so welcoming. they could not have done enought to make our stay fab/ in every way. they had entertainment each night and also games for the childreen. a lot of changes are being made so dont pay attention to any bad reviews. we will be going back in the near future we had a wonderful time. 9 adults and 5 childreen in our party and we all had a ball. thanks to the crag y don once agan for making our stay wonderful. janet mcmullen coatbridge scotland. xxx

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinty-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
845 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 70 in Blackpool
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Property: Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing