We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"If your thinking of staying in Blackpool this is the hotel for you!!!"”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just come back from my latest stay at the marvellous Craig-y-don. What can i say, and where do i start? So lets start by complementing Barbara and Guy for making a fantastic job since taking over in bringing this hotel up to the standard it deserves for it`s location on the sea front . They are a lovely kind and considerate, hardworking couple who always put 110% effort into keeping there guests and staff happy and nothing is ever too much trouble for them to deal with.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and have recently been modernised and brought up to today's hotel standards for this kind of holiday experience.
The food is of an excellent standard and plentiful in supply even to satisfy the most fussy of eaters.
The hotel amenities are a credit to the owners providing a well stocked and varied bar and a large seating area with comfortable chairs with tables for you to relax and soak up the atmosphere of the hotel and the regular quality entertainment that is provided on an evening.
All the staff were brilliant no matter what position they held. They are extremely friendly and courtious and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Finally a special mention to Neil and Laura who man the reception and provide you with excellent and courtious service no matter what your requirements.(service with a smile!)
Neil is a man that every hotel should not be without, friendly ,helpful, hardworking and above all keeps the holidaymakers happy and entertained throughout their stay.
Finally all i can say now is Craig-y-don , keep up the great work, onwards and upwards!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view you won`t be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smithbob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

greetings from blackpool, it was great to see you guys again, especially as you have come from our last hotel. thankyou for the fantastic comments it makes it all worth while knowing that our guests have had a good holiday. i will pass your comments onto the staff, see you all at xmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Spent 20-24 Aug (Mon-Fri) in this hotel. I have been going to Blackpool for over 30 years and always noticed this hotel because of its great, central location and decided to give it a try. Reception was very fast, welcoming and efficient and offered a lot of advice about the hotel. The food was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style which allowed you to pick exactly what you wanted and there was always plenty of it. The evening meals were also of a very high standard and there was always a decent choice. The room wasn't huge but big enough for us to sleep and shower in. The entertainment was of a decent standard and the bar prices were reasonable.
I do not know when we are going back to Blackpool but I know where we will be staying, in the Craig-Y-Don. For the cost it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

thankyou for your positive feedback, it means so much to ourselves and the staff when guests take time to let us know they have had a great holiday. the hotel will continue to see upgrades over the winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

we have just arrived back today from this excellent hotel, we arrived on Saturday afternoon and were checked in straight away by the friendly reception staff, rooms lovely and clean we stayed in room 27 with 2 double beds as we were a family of four 2 adults and two children. We stayed b&b the breakfast was amazing buffet style which I thought was really good as you can each as much as you wanted with a good variety to choose from. The entertainment was good disco and karaoke on Saturday which my kids loved and a singer on Sunday, I would defiantly recommend this hotel as the location is superb to all ages and I will be returning next time we decide on a short break to Blackpool. Thank you Craig y don for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Manager at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

thank you for the great review and glad you all had a good time, it makes it all worth while that we have so many satisfied customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at the Craig y don for 3 nights with my son for a last minute break. Staff very friendly and our room (no 32) was nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. The breakfasts and evening meals were tasty, and the staff very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the entertainment on all three evenings, although particularly enjoyed Paul Chance on the first evening. Yes the music is a little more for the older guests, but there are other things for the children to do as well. The location of the hotel was fabulous, and a lovely little garden to sit out if the weather allows. The only slight disappointment, was that we had booked the hotel particularly to use the wi fi, in our bedroom, as advertised, certainly on booking.com. As soon as we stepped into our bedroom the wi fi ended, despite trying all different ways to keep it connected. The lady on reception tried to help, but nothing worked. Despite this we would certainly stay at the Craig y don again.

Room Tip: Room 32 had no wi fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

its good to hear you had a lovely holiday, thankyou for taking the time to write a review, spread the word and hope we see again in the future. we have had so many familes return from last year, its nice to see them and how their children have grown in a year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Myself, wife and kids have stayed at the Craig y don hotel many times over the years and it is a great hotel,the hotel is now better than before.
the Seaview rooms we had were lovely decorated and very comfortable, the entertainment is great and there is a xbox for the kids to play, great lounge and good selection of drinks at the bar.
we found the owners of the hotel very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was great, good food.
Back home in Glasgow and already miss the Craig y Don and sunny weather we enjoyed, but we will be back again real soon
Many thanks for a great stay at the Craig y Don!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

thank you so much for the great feed back, glad you liked our newly refurbished family adjoining rooms, its means so much to us to have feed back like this. we always keep the chef informed of all the complimetary comments she gets about her cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

stayed 10th aug.to 13th. hotel great breakfast brill. it is a buffet so can eat as much as you like very well cooked.hotel very clean and rooms nicely decorated ,towels lovely and thick not paper thin as we have had in other hotels we have stayed in. we have booked for sept. must be good for MR.T. to want to return, can,t wait. people who own it make you very welcome really friendly, felt as though we had made new friends.this hotel is in a great location close to bus and tram stops.enjoyed the entertainment didn,t win at bingo but never mind, can,t have everything maybe next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, good to see you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Craig y don is a comfortable hotel but the room we had was nothing like the ones shown online, at the back of one of the units the paper was ripped off the wall and it could have been cleaner. The shower drain was blocked, we had to unblock it ourselves before the water would drain. The cabaret was dated and poor, the kids lounge was locked leaving them with limited choice in what to do. I feel the owners could have made more effort to get to know the people staying there. The food on the whole was good although for a 'buffet' the choices were very limited, the staff did their best but were sometimes disorganised. We had to buy an iron as none were available for us to use ,as no one had returned them surely there should be a system for returning them .The price of the cans of juice was shocking at £1.20 a can.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear guest, why were none of these issues raised at reception, all guests on departure are asked if everything has been ok for them.

The blocked shower should have been reported and it would have been dealt with straight away

NONE of the rooms have ripped wallpaper and are very clean

All the items that were in the games room, pool table, x box kinnesct and aracade machines are now in the main longe The gamesroom was down a flight of stairs, so we thought it would be safer for parents to supervise their children in the lounge. We feel there are enough items for the childred to play with, we are not a holiday camp!

The price of cans of pop has gone up by 40% from the wholesaler in recent years, We have absorbed most the cost ourselves. Fruit shoots and cordial are for sale at 80p.

As owners we are friendly to all our guests, bearing in mind we have 90 guets a day staying with us, its impossible to get to know the guests on a personal level. If you want that sort of attention its probabley best to stay at a small B&B.

We have a good reputation for our entertainment, and its free, there are many hotels/guest houses in blackpool charging more than us and you dont get any entertainment.

We find this review very disapointing, our seleves and the staff work very hard to ensure the guests have a good holiday, you just cant please some people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing