We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic the best hotel we have stayed in, in blackpool”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a lovely weekend the hotel is decorated to a high standard and is so clean, we had such a laugh with the staff and other guest staying there, we have stayed in many hotels in blackpool and this is by far the best, we will defiantly be coming back!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Craig-Y-Don
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

my friend and i went to hotel craig y don at the end of november for 4 days .it is a family run hotel and the family really do look after their guests they dont leave the running of the hotel to just staff they help out with every thing that goes on.rooms were comfortable and refurbished ,.they have an exellent cook [we were told she is 75] her food is really really good its self service and there is a good choice .if anyone goes away hungry they hve only themselves to blame ...every one is very helpful and friendly.there were a fw good comedienes on and a very good singer .theres afternoon tea an bingo on most days
a boon if the weather is bad, the only downside ? no parking at the hotel although you can park behind in the next street .would we go again ? yes most definatley.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the sea .didnt find it noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliegirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed 2 nights, 2 adults,1 teen, 2 babies. Staff did everything they could to make us welcome. Room clean and beds comfortable. All staff friendly and helpful. Reception organised breakfast to be sent to Winter Gardens to fit in with our early time table. Couldn't ask for more really. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thankyou for taking time to post a response. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and the girls enjoyed the karoke disco on the sat night. Well done to the girls for doing well in the competition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The best most friendly hotel ,in black pool very clean warm and the food best ever top marks all round for every thing well worth a visit any time of the year great location with in easy reach of all attractions 10 min from blackpool tower

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thankyou for the great feed back and for booking with us for Turkey and Tinsel. All the staff were impressed with your line dancing skills !! See you in March 2013 for line dancing weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have stayed here before, and the staff were very friendly and helpful which is why we returned, we had a sea view room and as it was the last weekend of the illuminations, it couldn't have worked our better for us. The room was very clean and comfortable and although we stayed on the Saturday and Sunday nights, the hotel was fully booked for the Saturday night but, hardly anyone on the Sunday, anyway, we enjoyed it and we will return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imac2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great family hotel, after a 6 hour journey check in was late which was a bit annoying. We had the a joining family room on the 1st floor. Room was clean and tidy, although we were under the impression each room had a bathroom in it and this wasn't the case, therefore it was a bit cramped with 5 adults trying to use a bathroom. My dad did try and change rooms but the hotel was full. We had a great seaview from our rooms. However, when the cabaret started at 9-11 it was very noisy in our room as it was directly above the cabaret lounge(it was like the singer was actually in our room!).Breakfast was self service, always hot and eggs were runny, bonus. Evening meals were abit like school dinners but always edible. We would deffo go back to this hotel but wouldn't have the same rooms.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a sea view room on the 1st floor be aware you will hear every word from the Bing...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily11903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear guest, glad you enjoyed your stay. Can we point out out that the rooms arnt ready until 2pm, half term is the busiest week of the year and it took the housekeepers 10 mins longer than usual to clean all the rooms. All the keys were handed out ay 2.10 pm.
The adjoining family rooms that you booked were created to accomodate a family of 5 and the 2 bedrooms share an ensuite, this is always explained at the time of booking.
The entertainment ends at 11pm, most guests usually go out or stay in too watch it, if it was loud in your room all we can do is apologise.
We have a fantastic chef, we advertise the hotel as serving traditional home made cooking such as roast dinners, home made steak pie etc. There are plenty of good restuarants in town if you prefer italian, indian etc. Next time you visit if you want to book on a B&B basis we could recommend some. Book early to make sure you get the rooms you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Friendly hotel, lovely owners and staff. Booked late and a short notice had a family room on 2nd floor so thankful of the lift. Didn't stay or evening meal as it was a set dinner and I have a fussy son with special needs but the buffet breakfast was lovely. Great location near central pier. No parking the only negative but we it a spot on next street and didnt move the car again till leaving.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
1,390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#33 of 73 in Blackpool
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing