We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Friendly Family Run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Lovely Friendly Family Run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have stayed at the Craig-Y-Don several times and have always been very satisfied with the accommodation and facilities. The food is first class and the buffet style facility means you help yourself to the things you like. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, as well as recently being refurbished to a high standard.
The various entertainment provides excellent evenings and a good atmosphere.
With being located on the sea front the views are amazing, especially at sunrise and sunset. There is plently to see when sitting near the front windows just watching the holidaymakers go by!
We also like to sit at the front of the Hotel where the garden and fish pond are.
The staff are always very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We will certainly be going back to enjoy our stay as always at the Craig-y-Don.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    142
    31
    8
    11
See reviews for
317
181
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My partner and I spent five days at this hotel and enjoyed the experience, the staff were very helpful and friendly all very mannerly which is a bonus these days.
Meals were very good, I especially enjoyed breakfast,I would have no hesitation in going back to the Craig-y-Don, in fact we probably will in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thankyou for the great feed back. The staff work hard to make sure the rooms, food, entertainment and service are right for our guests.Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hi, We have just spent 2 nights at the Craig-Y-Don in Blackpool, with our children over Easter.

The hotel was OK, and adequate for a stay in Blackpool.

Cons:

1) Wifi was advertised as being in the room, although the room we stayed in, room 41 had ZERO wifi connection, and if the manager reports a follow up message saying that 'we had to search for it" or anything similar, then be advised that I am a IT professional, and there was NO wi-fi in our room - fact. Therefore, if I has stayed there for a week, or so, and really needed wi-fi, I would have been stuck, unless I wanted to sit in the bar and used wi-fi.

2) Cabaret? The songs sung by the singers were so very old that we were cringing in our seats. If you are anything less than 60, you will probably not enjoy the entertainment. The first night I thought we were in an old folks home. No offense to the elderly at all, but family entertainment does not mean singing 'Jonny Van' all night. The singers were younger than us, and insist on singing music that only those over 60 will even remember or enjoy. Definitely not for the younger generation.

When are entertainment organisers going to realise that 'cabaret' is not just about singing music that came pout in the 40's. What are you going to do in 20 years time, still have you singers singing the same old music? Not enjoyable at all.

You need to remember that although the majority of your customers may be elderly, there are younger customers too. I am 40, and still could not relate to the music being played. It made my ears bleed.

3) Absolutely NO PARKING facilities.

Even though the lady on reception told us that the road behind is where most of their customers park, believe me, there was and is a minuscule chance of parking near this hotel. We had to park 4 streets away, and had to risk that our car would be safe when we returned.

The reception lady also misinformed us that we 'could park along the front, as there is loads of spaces'. In fact, there were cones laid there stating 'no parking, or stopping' for at least a few hundred feet; again this was not acceptable. Misinformed.

Therefore, please be aware, that if you stay at this hotel (no matter what the manager comes back with underneath this message stating otherwise) that parking IS areal problem around this area.

Pros:

1) Breakfast was very good, a real English breakfast, apart from having people smoking just a few feet away from you, which was not exactly what you want when you are eating breakfast.

2) Room was adequate, and basic, but fine for 2 nights, although the view was nothing to write home about. We were at the back of the hotel, and the view was not the best, with toilet seats on the top of roofs, etc.

All in all, a basic hotel if you are elderly. If you are younger than 40 you will probably not want to listen to the cabaret, as it really was painful to listen to, and why younger singers insist on following on from this, and sing older songs is a mystery. One of the singers said (on the second night): "you might not have heard of this singer, but I don't care, I like it". what?? Says it all really.

3) Decent location, apart from the building work right opposite the hotel, which masks the view of the sea. I checked on Google maps and the building works has been going on, for what seems like years, and definitely deflects from the view.

All in all? Adequate, if you have no car, and don't mind listening to ancient cabaret singers who do not care if you like the music or not.

Listen, all that cabaret is simply not what younger generations want to hear. And if you insist on using that as an attraction, then what are you going to do when those older generations are not here anymore, and you have alienated your younger customers?

Good luck, and remember that the manager of such hotels will always place a comment underneath to say something like "Thank you, but we are fixing the problems, etc." The fact is, it should already be fixed, so maybe sort it out, before customers see through all the false promises that are just written to try and repair a damaged reputation based on reviews.

Would we stay here again? No.

Thank you.

Room Tip: See view is a must, unless you want to see back alleys strewn with rubbish. Also, parking IS a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilentHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
The hotel management consider all your comments as inappropriate and unfair.
1) You booked a standard room. An upgrade to a seaview room was available, but you did not ask. (or was not willing to pay the extra).

2)We use a variety of experienced cabaret singers, who sing what they think our guests will enjoy, which is anything from the 1950's to the present day. As you only stayed for 2 nights, you didnt see all of the acts. We receive excellent feed back, even from younger families. All of the artists do requests, maybe you should have asked for a One Direction song!!! There are many hotels in Blackpool charging more than us and there is no entertainment programme. The singer from the Friday night has recently appeared on BBC "The Voice" and can sing anything from the musicals to the charts! He asks for requests from the audience.

3) The building work on the promenade is due for completion early May. The water pumping station is in front of the hotel 4 doors away and our hotel has a completely unrestricted view of the beach and sea. Yes the building work on the promenade has taken rather a long time but this is an issue you should raise with Blackpool council!

4) Our hotel is completely non smoking. There is a smoking shelter in the garden which can be seen from the dining room window, hardly unreasonable. Your comment made it seem there was someone smoking next to you in the dining room.

5) We do not advertise parking on site. We advise guests use the road at the back of the hotel as free car parking is available for about 40 cars. If you could not get on there, it is not the fault of the hotel. We advise guests they can park on the promenade outside the hotel for 30 mins for unloading. There are main car parks available within 5mins either by the police station or near the football ground. This is accurate information.

6) We advertise Wi-Fi is available. Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and in many rooms, however we do not claim it is available throughout the hotel. Furthermore, we provide this service free of charge.

We noticed on your trip advisor profile that when you stay in a hotel you want nothing but the best. You paid £160 for a 2 night stay for 2 adults, 2 children B&B. You want 5 star, then you have to pay 5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just been back to craig y don hotel, as a new user to the Internet, this is my first review of a hotel that I have had so many good times at. Been visiting this sea front hotel for many. Years, ,
This hotel has gone through many changes over last 2 years but 1 thing that has never changed is the guy who welcomes every guest with a smile and his warmth and personality you will not find anywhere that's Neil
All the other staff work hard its clean good food you are made to feel safe at night as night porter John and Scott are there. Val the chef is unique her home cooked foods are Devine me and my family and friends of the family will continue to go back time after time to Blackpool Best Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliawilson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Me and my daughter stayed here for our yearly break together. The staff are amazing, friendly and helpful. fantastic entertainment. Breakfast is self service with a wide range of choice. We will be going there again. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, We really appreciate your great comments about the food, entertainment, rooms and staff. Everyone works really hard to make sure the guests have a good holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

as part of a group of 25 people with an age range of 6 - 92, we had a fantastic weekend celebrating my mum's 70th birthday.

staff bent over backwards to help me make it very special, including decorating the lounge / bar area for her.

we had a problem with a mattress, due to my back problem - they changed the mattress without any hesitation.

Breakfast was delicious, dinner was good but a little too early for my personal taste. however, suitable to children and elderly customers.

they even took photos for us and emailed them all to me.

thank you for making it a very special weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thankyou for the great feedback, we have put some of the birthday celebration photos on craigydon blackpool face book page. See you all in november for Turkey and Tinsel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked into this Hotel at the last minute, after leaving an awful hotel near by.

Upon entering the premises, we were made really welcome. The owners went out of their way to help. I went with my wife and two daughters, they setup the XBOX for my girls which kept them entertained for a while.

Night staff are also really friendly and cant do enough to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. The lounge has lovely elevated views over the sea and promenade and a lot of our guests love to sit in the window watching the world go by. Not to mention the great sunsets! Hope you will bok with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Property: Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our sea view bar lounge,bingo, quizzes, cabaret, games room. Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing