We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true diamond of a hotel!”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

There's so much I can say about the Craig Y Don and not one bad thing comes to mind. This has been mine and my family's retreat in Blackpool for years...each year only gets better, that's both Blackpool and the Craig Y Don.
The Owners, Staff & Family are very, very pleasant people who's concern is always made clear. That concern being the quality of their guest's stay being the very best. If I was to have a problem, I know I wouldn't feel guilty nor would I feel like a pest. The owners of this hotel are true professionals.

I've stayed in a number of the hotel's rooms over the years, all being sea view...and when I say Sea View, I mean SEA VIEW. The windows are MASSIVE! :) All of the rooms have been spotlessly clean, fresh and of brilliant size. To also come back, after a long day of walking Blackpool's Prom 10x over, it's great to have your bed made. Don't get me wrong, I can make a bed! Not like the CYD's housekeeping staff though ;)
The location is also perfect. Right in the middle of Blackpool's golden mile with Central Pier (the best Pier in my opinion) on your doorstep! You also get a great view of the Illuminations if you choose the Light's season.

The Craig Y Don is also GREAT value for money. Compared to some of the back street hotels/B&Bs I stayed at before this hotel, there really is no comparison. I was paying the same sort of money for a place which didn't have the views, professionalism and overall quality of the Craig Y Don.

The food is also faultless. I always book in for breakfast and booked in for evening meal when I didn't have any shows of the night to visit. Both meals were hot, fresh and great tasting. And trust me, I have a fussy family of eaters! I have one who likes their bacon still oinking on the plate and another who prefers hers to be cremated- all tastes and preferences are taken care of!

Entertainment! This is one of my enjoyments of Blackpool. To have your hotel provide you which equally good entertainment is a massive bonus for me and my family. Nothing cheap or cringe worthy! Just some great artists, performing some great songs from a range of eras.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone- families, couples, EVERYONE. Never mind 'I will be booking again'...I've already booked for next year!! ;)

Denise & Family. X

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Craig-Y-Don
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

stay in this hotel was great staff room meals all great location fab only down side was entertainment on sat that woman would make your ears bleed did not wait to see next act went to the royal seabank and had a great night . would go back to stay in hotel but may have to go out for entertainment if it did not get any better

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest thankyou for the great comments. On the subject of the entertainment on sat eve, the lady singer is someone we do not normally have she was a last minute replacement for our usual singer who was not well. I have to agree she wasnt very good and we certainly wont rebook her . Shame you didnt stay for the second act he always does the 10pm slot on sat eve and is very good. He also sings at the Royal Seabank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Me And My Husband Stayed There With My 2 Year Old Granddaughter. We Had A Lovely 4 Night Stay. And Were Made Very Welcome By Owners And Staff. Rooms Were Lovely And Clean. And Really Enjoyed The Entertainment. Will Be Booking Again. Would Recommend This Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda-slimmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Craig Y Don is an absolute favourite for all! Barbara is a wonderful lady who I have spoken to regularly and what a great Facebook page! :) Wayne

Great location! Great people! Great food! Great Entertainment, Craig Y Don Rocks!

Room Tip: Have a good dance with Craig Y Donkey!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Lovely clean hotel and fab food, buffet style breakfast and choice of menu for evening meal.Evening entertainment was good, and staff very pleasant.This was our first stay at craig y don and will defiantly be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiganone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

First and best hotel we have stayed in for a long time. Cleanliness was superb. Staff could not do more for us if they tried, gave us extra quilt as bed was too firm for us and extra pillows to easy our comfort :), Entertainment was an added bonus , Can't wait to get back next year :). Thank you to all at the Hotel for a truly tremendous long weekend, Waking up in the mornings without that mouthwatering breakfast just isn't the same :(. See you all again next year :). The fancy dress night on the Saturday was the pinnacle, so much effort was put in by all staff and guests.

Room Tip: we had room 18 and i have to say we never heard a thing at night was so quite :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Went there on the 27th of Sept till 30th Sept.( Glasgow Sept weekend ) Liz and myself went with another 18 couples,fun from start to finish, on the saturday ngt we had a fancy dress party and fair play to nearly everyone who took part in it.(we won it ) lol...maw n paw..
Anyway bk to the hotel.management excellent. Bar staff excellent, restuarant staff excellent, prices at bar, where ok, the food for brekkie was self service,eat what you wanted no one bothered,meal times te staff gave u the main part of your mealthen the rest was yours.
The room we where in was very spacious and very clean,the hotel central and right on the front,everything on your doorstep,the entertainment was ok not to brill but with a good drink it got better lol.
Our crowd has booked up for next year,we cant wait.if you have not been at this hotel..try it,you will love it.

Room Tip: Lifts to all floors, ask for seaview'
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
1,390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing