We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our recent stay”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our recent stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

well worth a visit,staff friendly and helpfull.hotel very clean .room was spacious and clean ,.on suit was clean,stayed here with my friend for a weekend.arrived on the friday evening was greeted by friendly staff,was given all imformation by reception,showed to are room,breakfast was buffet style a good selection of choice.will defintly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    142
    32
    9
    11
See reviews for
324
184
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 18-22nd November 2013 on a Turkey and Tinsel break.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, opposite tram/bus stop so easy to get around everywhere.

Originally in room 25 (sea view) but shower faulty so immediately offered another room. So then
stayed in room 47 (sea view) on top floor (and hot working shower) and found the room, as the rest of the hotel, to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

On arrival complimentary refreshments, nice gesture and very welcome after long journey.

Friendly fun staff, fantastic food (10/10 to the Chef who made everything taste home made) especially the roast meats which just melted in your mouth. Breakfast is amazing, everything you could possible want without restriction.

Entertainment was plentiful full of variety and lots of fun. Met some lovely people and we all intend keeping in touch and going back next year for a repeat of the fantastic time we all shared.

Have done Turkey and Tinsel before in different venues and locations but can honestly say this has been the best, in fact it was so realistic I keep thinking Christmas/New Year has actually taken place and is now over !!

One minor mention is that it would have been nice to see more Christmas decorations including lots more sparkle, shimmer and glittery bits and bobs everywhere, but as my nickname is "Tracey Tinsel" and I am one of these people that go OTT with decorations with the motto you can never have too much, think it sets the scene for a magical time, but perhaps that is just me.

Would recommend this friendly family run Hotel to anyone so go on try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the smaller rooms with larger rooms being at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceytEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a fantastic time when we visited Blackpool and stayed at the Craig-y-Don. the location was right next to a tram stop which was a great way of getting around. The food was lovely and the staff welcoming. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Blackpool!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llannerch-y-medd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything about this hotel is great except that there was no entertainment as we were out of season.We would have preferred to stay at the hotel as the facilities were ideal.The staff were excellent,especially the night porter Andrew who did everything for us.We will be back again next year without fail and within season time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. It is in a great location on the prom. The rooms are nice. Bar lounge is a great space to relax and watch the world go by with great views over the sea and prom. Breakfast in the morning is the best I've had in a hotel, served buffet style so you can have as much as you like. But if you want toast it will take a while as the toaster is not the best. The only couple of things that let our stay down was one the entertainment. On the Friday night was a guy who had been on our previous stays he was doing the same bad jokes and singing the same songs badly I won't name him but he is poor. Saturday night wasn't the best either he couldn't sing and no personality. The other thing was when checking in and paying there was a bit of an argument between the staff on the reception we had been given a price by email which I confirmed twice only to be told on arrival as we were just about to pay we had to pay more. Which we did but the way it was done and discussed between the manager and owner on reception I found very unprofessional. And no apology was given by either. But over all a nice hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank donkeymagic2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llynclys, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

the hotel is in a good spot for all attractions on arrival parked outside to take luggage in, and moved it later as unfortunately cannot leave cars there , but parked at back of hotel 5mins away, for free all weekend, the hotel bar and lounge are lovely you can sit and look at the sea, there was entertainment , bar reasonably priced to, the rooms we had were nicely decorated, and nice new bathrooms, clean towels, tea coffee kettle, tv everything you need and beds very comfortable we all had a good nights sleep , breakfast is buffet style where you help yourself, good choice of cereals , fruit , and hot full english , very good to start the day off , and staff are there to help you, if you need anything, all in all this hotel is excellent value for money, very clean, comfortable, foods lovely, staff are nice and helpfull, id definately recommend and visit again ! i actually would of liked to stay longer

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed in Room 46 which I have to admit was the tiniest room I have ever seen - you could sit on the toilet and shower at the same time (not even joking). It was to it's advantage very clean which along with the seaview was a good point. The curtains however did nothing to protect the room from the illumination of the hotels sign which lit the room up all night. It honestly felt like we had left the bedroom light on all night! Breakfast was really good though. The selection was huge if you ate meat.The hotel entertainment was good if you were of the older generation. When we came back from dinner the Cabaret singer had all the old ladies singing along which they all seemed to be enjoying. Personally Jamie behind the bar was the highlight. He was hot as hell!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 46. It really is teh size of a box. You can only get out one side of the bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigYDonBlackpool, Manager at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest, the room you stayed in is small, even though it has a double bed it is normally rented out for 1 person. When you phoned up to book , it was the only room left and the size of it and the bed pushed against the wall was explained to you and we offeded you a discount to allow for there not being much room for 2 people. You wanted to take it so why mention it now. The room is quite adequate for 1 person and we have so many single guests requesting that room. The hotel sign should have been switched off at midnight it is not normally on all night. This will be pointed out to the member of staff on duty that night. Otherwise i am pleased you enjoyed yor stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Property: Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing