We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have picked a more suitable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't have picked a more suitable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here for one night (01/11/12) and feel this hotel really added to the experience. Came to Blackpool for a short break for our eldest son's birthday. It is conveniently placed opposite a tram stop and is a short distance from the Pleasure Beach. There is parking and we had a room facing the prom on the top floor. There is also free wi-fi. Hotel itself is clean and well organised and all staff are very friendly and personable. Our room was a double with bunk beds and although on the basic side, the facilities were excellent. I particularly liked how the staff left an ample amount of tea/coffee/milk/sugar which was much needed after a long day in the cold exploring! The bar area is family friendly and we all thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast the next day, delicious and plentiful, excellent service also. We definitely want to return for a longer stay in the future.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeccaBook81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    203
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
287
172
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights with a group of friends. Location 2 miles out of the centre which was probably a good thing and not a problem as there is a tram stop right out side the door. £4.50 for a day rover and you could use the tram as much as you liked. Also it's just a stone's throw from the Pleasure Beach. My room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the prom and it was clean and comfortable; the new carpet made the door a bit stiff to open and close but I had probably one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. Ample storage space in the bedroom and the bathroom was compact with an adequate shower and constant HOT water which is nice (possible a warning notice should be in place if children are staying as it is very hot.) Towels were changed both days, again perhaps they could adopt the big chain hotels principle of a notice to say if you want your towels changing leave them (eg) in the shower cubicle (to be a bit more "green").

Breakfast was good with a good choice of juices, cereals and fruit and the cooked breakfast was served hot and the fried egg perfect. Tea, coffee and toast just came coming and the service was good.

The bar was well stocked and the prices the same as a pub, which is a nice touch. There was free wi-fi and and guests' internet and there is a lift for the less able. The stairs are particularly steep.

The staff were friendly, helpful and polite.

I was only there for two nights but would happily have stayed for a week.

The only negative points -
the central heating was on and my room was very hot. I'd have liked to have had a thermostat on my radiator, not everyone enjoys the heat.
The lady tending the bar was efficient and polite but not overly friendly compared to the other members of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view - another room I saw overlooked the fire escape. Double glazing stopped any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan159937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

a party of 60 friends&family stayed at the colwyn hotel&sandpiper apartments.For over a year we had booked our rooms and poeple kept dropping out or new people coming in ,but i wan never a problem for charles the owner he & his staff done everything the could for us.The apartment rooms are great very clean&with a games console in them,the hotel rooms where also very clean & most with great views,the breakfast was great&the bar well stocked (its not now after we left).Every body in our party wants to come back next year so that tells you how good the hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in the colwyn for three nights and couldn't fault it , lovely breakfast staff were really nice and friendly and the kids made good use of the play station in the games room .Rooms were clean and we had nice view of the front from our window . Also thought the hotel is in a good location with a tram stop right out front to take you up and down the beachfront .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Nice clean and bright rooms fab sea view close to all attractions with a tram stop outside the hotel.. breakfast was excellent choice of cereals toast croissants cooked breakfast.. staff were very friendly had a very pleasurable stay... :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toria32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

the hotel was booked for my birthday weekend.
the owners and staff made us very welcome and pampered to our needs with no hesitation.
the hotel bar was very lively with bar games provided for customers to entertain themselves.
the prices in the hotel bar was very reasonable with a good selection of drinks.
breakfast was very good with alll tastes catered for.
the decor is getting a little dated but was told that improvements are planned.
only downside was the walk down to the centre of blackpool, but there is a tram stop oppersite if you don,t fancy walking
overall was a great weekend

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Nice Hotel room with a lovely sea view. Breakfast and Evening meal very good . Staff very nice and helpful.Tram stops outside of hotel.For us it was good because we could bring our Puppy Training Guide Dog. Only downside decor could be updated. But would stay again because of staff and location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Property: The Colwyn Hotel
Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing