We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Colwyn Hotel is a great hotel. Fantastic location next to the Pleasure Beach and the tram stop. Very pleasant, clean and friendly staff to welcome you. Breakfast was really good and the quality excellent.

We only stayed the one night. However, I would have no hesitation in returning and I would highly recommend it.

Staff also go the exta mile as I have left one of my belongings behind. The owner telephoned me and I was able to return to collect it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenhouse14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    203
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
288
172
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I had the misfortune of visiting this hotel from 1st to 3rd August, 2014. During our stay there was a distinct lack of staff, we were asked to vacate the bar area because the only member of staff on duty was required elsewhere. My friend was told to make his own bed as the twin room we booked was made up as a double. Bedding was handed to us and a quilt was left on the floor outside the room door. The hotel is in need of redecoration. It is small and extremely depressing. The toilet/shower room was a joke, absolutely no room to move and the shower was the worst ever. I would strongly advise others to think carefully and book elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JAL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not impressed with my stay weekend 1st august to 3rd, hotel very old fashioned in desperate need of updateing for the price paid of £135for two nights with breakfast included.(recently stayed in a hotel in manchester , faMous chain, for a lot less money and very impressed with decor etc)
Walls very thin, loud and noisey during the day . Room was very small, bed ok. Ensuite room, shower very small and im only 5ft 7 average 45 year old male visiting friends and a business trip for weekend. Hot water took a while to feed through and wasnt a power shower but a dribble.
Breakfast was small portioned , but ok. Staff however were very friendly and professional .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely friendly place,owners and staff could't have been more helpful and friendly.Breakfast was fantastic and sets you up perfectly for the day. Tram on the doorstep perfect after a night out.Rooms spotless an all round enjoyable stay will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend.Thumbs up from the White family

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely Hotel friendly staff spacious family rooms and amazing breakfast nice to go back to after a busy day having fun in Blackpool away from the nightlife so could have some chill out time nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff and were lovely to chat to about your day

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortnkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and enjoyed every minute.Owners very friendly and were great with children.The rooms were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely and everything piping hot.Lifts to all floors. Tram stop outside hotel so easy to get anywhere.We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and the Blyth family will certainly return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Warm friendly place to stay, close to amenities and attractions. Hotel as described with rooms having a sea view and very clean inside , friendly staff who are always happy to advise on where to visit on your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Property: The Colwyn Hotel
Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing