We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small hotel good location”
Review of The Middleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Middleton
Ranked #65 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was a very small hotel more like a guest house The bar lounge doubled up as the breakfast room The owners were very friendly and the food was excellent. My husband and I were given a family room.There was no dressing table or suitable height table for attending to my contact lenses or make up. Perhaps this is because an extra bed had been squeezed into the room. However I would not have liked to have been a family in that room as it was very small. The electric toilet could not handle the flushing of the thick toilet paper supplied. The electric shower had a sign next to it stating that the immersion tank supplying the shower should contain enough water for two showers IF USED CORRECTLY but that if a person was to run out of hot water mid shower he would have to wait for the tank to heat up again. Luckily, I had washed my long hair at home so I did not run out of water but this sign did not fill me with confidence. The room however was very clean with stylish bedlinen.

Room Tip: Do not book a family room we didnt but were given one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Many thanks for your review of The Middleton.we are not an hotel as most of our signage states "The Middleton" as we are a guesthouse,the word Hotel for Blackpool accommodation is from times gone by.We are sorry that you were not happy with the size of the family room for 3 people, also the loo and shower were not to your liking,we do our best to please but as the old saying goes you can't please everyone.Hopefully you will find somewhere more to your liking on your next visit to Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for 2 x nights at the end of September during the busy illuminations period, we booked three seperate rooms for our family party.

Terry & Jan, the hotel owners are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is situated at the north-shore end of the town with free street parking available in the surrounding block.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, lovely and warm with extremely comfortable beds and all appropriate facilities included within the room such as tea/coffe making facilities & hairdryer.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice available each day.

My family all enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for your review of The Middleton,I can only say it was lovely to have met all of you,we enjoyed your stay,I need your mum back to keep Terry on his toes!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

just stayed for three nights with my wife, every thing about are stay was spot on, great hosts ,nice cosy room with everything you needed and very clean, breakfast was great you could pick what you wanted and nicely cooked .
thanks to jan and terry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigchrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Many thanks for your review of The Middleton.Terry and myself much appreciate your kind words.We are so pleased to have met you and your wife and hopefully will be seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just spent the weekend here,and were sorry to leave.Jan and Terry were the perfect hosts very friendly,polite and helpful,and nothing was to much trouble for them.the room we had was spotlessly clean and the en-suit was likewise.The breakfasts were first class,freshly cooked and and there was plenty. We neednt look for a hotel again when we return to blackpool which wont be too long if the wife has her way.Thank you both for making our stay a memorable one.
Keep up the good work mike & maggie

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for your review of The Middleton, it was lovely to have met you and we look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here in 2008 and just returned from a weekend stay at the middleton. Really enjoyed our stay again. Having 2 young boys, we found the family room ideal and appreciated the use of the travel cot and bedding for my 11mnth old. Rooms very clean and the breakfasts were 1st class.
Thanks again Jan and Terry!! Will definately be back again soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank King008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review of The Middleton,it was lovely seeing you again and to see the children.look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just home from a couple of days break. Two of us are vegetarian and we were catered for with the excellent breakfasts. Beds were comfy, rooms were bright and cheery. Jan and Terry were perfect hosts, friendly, open and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you both for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your review of The Middleton. It was a pleasure meeting you and we enjoyed your stay.Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at the Middleton Hotel during the week of the Open. The breakfasts that were included in the price were excellent. Jan and Terry went out of their way to assure that you taken care of. They especially helped on directions and where to access transportation in Blackpool for the Open. The room was clean every day. Sitting around in the evening and having a drink with Terry and/or Jan and other guests was very nice. Homey atmosphere. Would definitly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSuzie, Owner at The Middleton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review, we hope that you had a good time in Paris and enjoyed all your sightseeing tours,we thoroughly enjoyed your company and if your ever this way again look us up.
Kindest Regards
Jan & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.3 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 864 in Blackpool
410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Middleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Middleton

Address: 55 Holmfield Road, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Middleton 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing