We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberford Hotel
Ranked #255 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Neil and Deborah are great hosts and will ensure that you have a fantastic stay. Located very close to the beach and in walking distance of many attractions. Ask them to get the karaoke out!

Breakfast is plentiful and the choice is great. This is a happy and fun place to be which would work for people of all ages.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    27
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Have just spent Easter weekend in the Aberford hotel and would defiantly stay again. The good reviews are well deserved the owner went beyond helpful and the staff were just as pleasant. If your a breakfast fan then this is defiantly the place for you. Beds, toilets and shower all lovely and clean overall a friendly comfortable place to stay really near to the beach but enough back to be quiet .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumper1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stay at the Aberford every year when i visit Blackpool and always have a fantastic time here. The Hosts are brilliant and go out of their way to do anything for you. when me and my partner stayed here there was a party going on the Saturday night which everyone was able to join in, they had put entertainment on and a free buffet which was totally unexpected in a small family run hotel. The atmosphere was lovely and we had a brilliant time, it really made our weekend. The breakfast was between 9am and 10.30am and i can say that i have never had a better full English breakfast! and the girl's that serve the breakfast are always pleasant. The location of the hotel is perfect, just off the sea front and about 5 minutes walk into the town we had never felt the need to get a taxi unless the weather is really bad. We have already booked to come again next year with some friends and i can't wait :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopy-lou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Recently stayed at The Aberford Hotel and felt that I simply had to write a review. I've stayed in many B&B's in Blackpool, but this is by far the best value!
The owners were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the room was modern and more importantly it was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was huge and cooked to perfection!

We will definitely be coming back in the Summer (We've already booked for a full week!)

Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

This week I had to stay in Blackpool as I was attending a course throughout the week. I booked into the Aberford from the Sunday night until the following Saturday.
On arrival I was greeted by Neil and Deborah the owners an they made me feel very welcome. As it was late I went straight to bed and I was very pleased with my room as it was very clean warm and comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. In the morning I had an excellent grease free full English breakfast.
This was the same every morning... Awesome :-D
Neil was a great laugh through the week as I had a drink in the bar most nights.
All in all it made the week go by hassle free. I have booked for may to return for a weekend with my girlfriend :-D

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

stayed at the aberford for my birthday night . bedroom was spotless and had everything that you needed . breakfast was excellent and staff were always asking if we wanted anything esle , but the size of the breakfast you could not eat anything else . the only downside was the guests in room 18 , they were very noisey till 4 am in the morning. but you cant blame hotel for bad mannered guests

Room Tip: ideal central blackpool hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Glad you had a great time on your birthday. Hope we will see you again next year. Its a good time to visit as the annual Shozam Festival is on with many events around the theme of circus and magic on the streets and theatres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
912 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights during July when the British Open was on. Major disappointment for us was that breakfast was at 9am and there was no flexibility on that. We had travelled from the other side of the world to see the golf, which meant we would be leaving every day well before 9am. So we then had to buy our breakfast elsewhere, which was ridiculous when we were staying at a bed & breakfast. My room was at the back of the hotel and was surprisingly quite nice with a bit of room to move and a decent bathroom though you had to wait simply forever for the hot water to come through. The tv didn't work nor did the light in the bathroom but all in all happy with my room. My friends room, however, was dreadful. So small you could hardly move and it had the smallest dingiest bathroom I have ever seen. Hardly a thing worked in this room. It was dismal. So if you were to stay in this hotel I think it would depend on the room you get because they obviously differ quite a lot. It was ok but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Our breakfast times usually start at 9.00am so that guests can have a relaxed start to their break in Blackpool. We are flexible with the start times as some guests come for competitions at the Winter Gardens/Tower and sometimes need to check-in early at the venue and so we provide an earlier breakfast to accommodate their needs.However, this particular couple arrived late one evening and requested a breakfast for 5.00am. We had no advance warning of this request.This meant we would have to get up at 4.30am and as the other guests and,consequently, ourselves would probably still be in the bar at midnight, I felt this wasn't a reasonable request and so politely refused. This has abviously upset them as the event was in June and they didnt post a comment until December!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farnborough
The Farnborough
#811 of 911 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#243 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberford Hotel

Property: Aberford Hotel
Address: 12-14 Yorkshire Street, Blackpool FY1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mid-Victorian hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool. It is situated in an excellent location close to all major attractions, bars,theatres and restaurants. Whether you wish to visit for a romantic break or a family enjoying the school holidays or a large social group having a getaway weekend, The Aberford can cater for your needs. The friendly owners have an in-depth knowledge of Blackpool and are willing to assist you in whatever way possible to ensure that you enjoy The Blackpool Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aberford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing