We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Superb for family break”
Review of The Hurstmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hurstmere
Ranked #19 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great B&B - Superb for family break”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at the Hurstmere for 2 nights in a family room. A very warm welcome was given to us by Barry and Andrea who after booking us in offered us a variety of discouint tickets for the various attractions in Blackpool and provided plenty of knowledge of the area. The hotel offers a garaged car parking facility which we used throughout our stay.

The hotel operates a daily pre-ordering system for cooked breakfasts so your food is custom made to your tastes. There is also plenty of cereal, toast and fruits available.

A great feature of the hotel is the bar/games room, which is ideal for families to relax with a drink whilst the children have lots to play with ie.pool table, darts. electronic games and not forgetting Barry's magic tricks. .......

We would recommend and return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codgeblackpool, Owner at The Hurstmere, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Hello guys, Thanks for taking the time to review us and for such lovely feedback. We do love to give people a happy time in Blackpool and we are always pleased to give out any discounts we can. Barry will try and learn more tricks for the kids next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
212
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Allways top of places to stay list in Blackpool. Barry & Andrea look after you as if you are part of thier family. Great Food (Bed & Breakfast) only.Families & Couples only. Barry has great knowledge of things to see, places to visit, to make your stay perfect. Once visited you can't wait till next time.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Fingers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codgeblackpool, Owner at The Hurstmere, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We value any feedback and so do other visitors who use review sites before booking a holiday. Our families and couples only policy has proved popular with all our guests over the years and we shall continue to do our best to ensure you keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed for one night and had a great time. Rooms spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, TV good and easy to operate. Food excellent, Barry and Andrea were really good company in the bar, I found them both really nice people and nothing is too much trouble for them. When we left we felt like we were saying goodbye to friends, we would stay again.
Loads of choice for eating out within a 5 minute walk, including a Wetherspoons.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codgeblackpool, Owner at The Hurstmere, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
We really appreciate your feedback and we thank you for taking the time to review us at The Hurstmere. We are also pleased that our local knowledge of Blackpool was useful to you especially when finding somewhere to eat out. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We had a very good time at the hurstmere. Breakfst was excellent. Beds very comfy! ~All round extremely clean! great card tricks! totally enjoyable stay.
only down side for us was the bar does not open till 7pm strictly. As we are afternoon drinkers (we like bed early) found this slight problem, as we had to go out and find alternative. But we survived! but would definately still return and also recommend to our family and friends.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cheers to you both x
Thanks for a lovely stay.
Hayley, Lee, Danielle (15) Jake (3)
Wolverhampton

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codgeblackpool, Owner at The Hurstmere, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
As a family friendly B&B, we are so pleased you had a lovely stay with us and value your feedback.
We certainly do look forward to welcoming you and the children again soon, take care and we thank you once again for taking the time to review us at The Hurstmere. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I originally chose this hotel because of its closeness to Blackpool fc, i then started to read the reviews. All i can say is to be greeted like two old friends by people that you have never met before was lovely the room that we stayed in was warm and clean the breakfast was superb and the information given to us first class. When we go back to Blackpool this hotel WILL be top of our list to stay at. If it's fully booked then it's our loss.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmass0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codgeblackpool, Owner at The Hurstmere, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for your valued feedback, we do make it a priority to know the best places to visit and we are always glad that people find our knowledge so useful. We will be pleased to welcome you both again whether its a football related visit or perhaps some shopping and relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Fantastic hotel and wonderfull people who run it..
Kids had a brilliant stay there.. Barry and Andrea made them feel at home..
Friendly and warm welcome to everyone.
Yes we will be back ....
Thankyou Barry and Andrea you are two great people who made our holiday fun and friendly....
See you soon........ XXX

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark,Notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Had a brilliant stay at the Hurstmere Hotel this weekend. Just 5 mins if that from the main street and illuminations, but you cannot hear any noise. Lovely warm friendly welcome from both hosts Barry and Andrea. Beds really comfy, warm and ensuite shower room, plus flat screen telly and freeview etc. Breakfast is a FULL ENGLISH, and was terrific with cereals etc and very good quality. We love the place, it is like home from home, you can put your feet up in the bar or walk down in your slippers then sit and chat and put the world to rights while Barry entertains the kids with his magic tricks and flashing light trick ( the kids love it) and the adults get to know one another too. It is a good family or couples hotel and we would recommend it to anyone as a must stay place, eveything is on your doorstep and you don't want to leave, but, you know you will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnBernie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilbre Hotel
Hilbre Hotel
#40 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossall House
Rossall House
#18 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#13 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#52 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hurstmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hurstmere

Property: The Hurstmere
Address: 5 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hurstmere 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house exclusively for families and couples with secure parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hurstmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hurstmere Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing