We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“claremont hotel *****”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“claremont hotel *****”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

my daughter and i stayed at the claremont hotel for a week, the hotel was clean, room spotless, reception very helpful and always managed a smile for you,.the food was excellent and so was the service we got from waiters/waitresses. the base for children was particuarly well run and i felt relaxed that my child was bein well looked after,. she enjoyed the base so much she did,nt want to go out at night and just play in the base. overall excellent place to stay and will recommend to friends. i will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    475
    142
    71
    65
See reviews for
463
570
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were due to stay here for five nights last week, but left after two nights as the hotel was so awful.

The whole hotel needs refurbishment, there is paint peeling from the walls and doors and it is dark and dingy. It smells like an old peoples home if I'm honest.

We were initially placed in a standard double room which literally had space for the double bed and nothing more. As there were three of us including my child I requested a family room. The family room was larger but still small. The rooms are decorated in a faded yellow which gives the impression they are nicotine stained even when they are not. The windows in our room were broken and rattled all night long and our room was by a massive fan which also kept us awake. When we laid on our bed the fan made our bed viabrate! Our view from our window was of a wall! The bathroom decor was also dated, with wood panelling on the bath, there was nowhere to out anything in the bathroom. In the family room my childs bed was by a large window so she could not sleep in it as there were no safety measures on the window to prevent her from opening it and falling out.

The hairdryer in my room was broken and gave off smoke when I tried to use it. The bulb was gone in one of the lights. I asked twice for these to be replaced but this was not done during our stay.

The restaurant food was not good. We were unable to eat the food presented to us the first night as it was disgusting. We are all vegetarian and so only had one option of food each evening.

The carpark is a nightmare. If you do actually manage to park in it, it is likely you will get trapped in and be unable to leave again.

The evening entertainment was terrible, and the staff ranged from rude to bonkers. Our waitress was a mad Irish lady who could understand us being vegetarian and kept offering us fish when there was nothing else suitable. The receptionist did her job but was unfriendly and stonefaced as she did it.

Whenever I was in reception i heard several people asking for their rooms to be changed and reception seemed to accept this as the norm. When we explained why we wanted to leave the manager did not seem suprised however she was quite accomodating in ensuring we could leave easily.

Overall, terrible hotel and advise noone to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. Positives: beds were very comfortable and clean. Housekeeper every day to tidy up. Food was exceptional and choice very good. Our waitress (Sharon) was extremely helpful and couldn't have been more friendly. Service was very quick. Negatives: Like all Blackpool hotels in urgent need of refurbishment. Room was letting in water and dripped on to the windowsill. Staff were very apologetic and gave us more towels to put on the sill. Not ideal but it wasn't their fault. It is Choice Hotels responsibility to make sure the rooms are water tight. Entertainment was not the best but at least it was something to take you out your room at night. Parking is something else. Although on their website it does say there is a car park, but it is a nightmare. Be warned!! If there is no room at the front of the hotel which is already double parked you have to walk about 5 minutes to their other car park where you might get a space and you might not! I would think about re-visiting this hotel in the future but I certainly will not be travelling by car.

Room Tip: The extra for a sea view room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I think the hotel is FANTASTIC, first class service from all areas, from the very friendly welcoming greeting and helpfullness of the reception staff and the porters to the excellent food and entertainment.
We had a room on the back, which was nice, spacious, had a bay window which made it nice and bright and was also very quiet.
and as much as some of the staff are foreign, they are lovely and most memeber of staff are an absolute assett to the hotel and it's chain.
the food you receive is so nice and you definately go home a good few pounds if not a stone heavier :-)
nightly entertainment would consist of a childrens disco for half an hour followed by either 2 singers or a singer and a comedian.
The kids were also kept busy with different activities in the kids club which they really enjoyed.
Location is good too, only a 10 minute walk into the town centre or there's a bus stop quite literally outside the front to go to the pleasure beach or sancastle etc and one across the road if you fancied going to fleetwood cleveleys.
The only downside is if it is busy and all the irons are out you might have a bit of a wait to get one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danNjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I had stayed in this hotel about three years ago so we kind of knew what to expect. On arriving we were welcomed at reception with no delay. We had a front room with a bay window on the first floor. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The only critisism was the bathroom was a bit on the small side but this did not disappoint us too much. The meals were delicious and we heard others comment about how lovely the food was. There was a good choice each evening. The service was excellent and the waitress very pleasant. The hotel has excellent entertainment and during our weekend visit there were 2 acts each night. Both nights consisted of one singer and a comedian. The entertainment was to a good standard especially the Friday night comedian. A tip you don't have to get a seat in the cabaret room too early as even though the hotel was full there were plenty of seats. There is a quiter bar if you prefer the peace and quiet. Overall a great stay and we will be back again. Just hope the weather is better next time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at this Hotel 30th Sept to 3rd Oct, Being on a special diet the food was good and staff very helpful. Dispite booking a superior room it was tiny but clean. Entertainment average . Overall enjoyed our stay and would book again , just one complaint Parking was a nightmare so be warned 7/10 .

Room Tip: Stayed in 319 , tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Our room on the first floor had bubbles in the wall paper as though it has started to peel off the Walls. Stains on the walls and just no room at all! The bathroom had yellow damp patches on the ceiling.holes in the Walls with raw plugs hanging out of them. It is by far the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. I've slummed it in Goa, I don't expect much from hotels at all but I found this one disgustin for £105 a night.
The main front door is broken to point where it is a health and safety hazard! It slams shut behind you to the extent where it would take an adults hands off never mind a child's! The whole hotel needs a lick of paint, it looks like dogs have been chewing at wooden door frames
etc. Just no attention to detail whatsoever. So dated and run down. Breakfast is basic, good choice of evening meal but quality not good as it's just mass produced and tastes no better than school dinners did. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellyoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 69 in Blackpool
1,889 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
2.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 69 in Blackpool
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Property: Claremont Hotel
Address: 270 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and pleasantly decorated, 143 bedrooms at the Claremont Hotel in Blackpool offer our guests the privacy and comfort you would expect from a traditional seaside hotelAll with en-suite and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool's promenade and the famous Illuminations, there are a range of sizes sleeping from one to a family of five. In room facilities of these great Blackpool bedrooms include direct dial telephone, colour LCD television, hairdryers and beverage tray whilst irons and boards are available on request.With a swimming pool, sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room the Claremont Hotel makes it the ideal venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing