We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“claremont hotel”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

i have visited the claremont several times this year and enjoyed it every time i have been with family and also with friends i find the staff in all departments friendly and helpful the food is good with a good menu served in very nice surroundings comfy beds good entertainment all in all brilliant

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobdor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

i stayed here for a long weekend 21st to the 24th of october 2011 i stayed with my mother, we had a seaview room which was on the 2nd floor, we couldnt see out because the seal had gone in the window........we couldnt fault the food, which was fab ........we only watched the entertainment once because we had alot of children running around, i thought they should have been in bed.........the maid came in every day.......the sauna and swimming pool was a bonus we will come again....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Best hotel for its great meals and swimming pool ****

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tfelgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend 15th to the 17th of October 2011.
We are a professional couple with no children in our early 30's. We where looking for a modern hotel (no stag or hen parties resident), with on site parking for a weekend in Blackpool to meet my folks who where there for the week.

We picked this hotel as the majority looked a bit dated or like you'd be staying with you nan in the spare room and we wanted something a little more modern. Also the free onsite parking sold it to us. We went for a sea view double room on a Bed and Breakfast tariff.

But ........

The on site parking was terrible, basically if you can squeeze your car in and aren't to bothered about it then your OK. But we checked both car parks and there was one space, but where told not to park if our car was touching the pavement so we didn't. We decided it would be safer to pay for the pay and display parking a few minutes walk away at £15 for the weekend. Luckily when we where in reception the following day the car that went in that space was swopping insurance details with another driver as they had a little bump while moving the cars around ??

The room was nice, good view of the sea, nice bed and clean with everything you'll need.
Downsides the decor was tired and the paint was peeling a little on the skirting - I appreciate people saying its an old hotel but it is still a hotel offering a level of service. Most noticeable the bathroom was a bit of a squeeze - especially the toilet, without being to descriptive you couldn't open your legs when you sat down.

Worst thing and the reason we wont go back or recommend this hotel is that when we went for breakfast, we where greeted by a very grumpy bordering on arrogant manager. Who asked where did you sit for dinner? we said we are on breakfast only, to which we got a very snapped and grumpy reply which made us feel like a big inconvenience to him. When the waitress came over she commented on the table we where at when the restaurant and hotel was nearly empty? We decided to have breakfast in a cafe the following day even though it was paid for.

Overall all the positives of this hotel where let down by an excessively grumpy restaurant manager.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea room if you'd like a view and a smaller room or ask for a room at the back if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in this hotel and had it not been a particularily busy time in Blackpool when we were afraid we would not find alternative accommodation at short notice, we would have left five minutes after arrival.
The hotel is very tired looking but this is true of many in the town however we paid extra for a double room with a seaview and did not expect to have to stand on tiptoes to see out the very small window. Although a double room there was only one chair and two people could not move round the room at the same time it was so small. The bed was less than comfortable and had only one pillow. As for the bathroom as picture shows, I can only say I was glad that neither my husband nor myself are large as it was hard enough for us to perform basic functions without hitting off the wall or turning sideways to exit from the room. The towels were replaced daily however I had to clean soap residue from the sink and bath each day and there was no toilet pan brush.
We can only comment on breakfast food which was fair as far as choice but the full English was somewhat greasy and egg almost raw. The waitress, Mel, however was a bright and cheery soul.
The car parking as already mentioned by others is a nightmare and worth serious consideration as we heard of some cars being damaged. Definitely park at your own risk.
The staff were a mixed lot some friendly while others obviously wanted to be anywhere else but there. On the whole they were just doing a job but without a smile and did not go the extra bit to help.
For the size of the hotel there is only one lift which often breaks down and you have to wait for ages for it and if like us you are at the opposite end it is a long walk through many doors down a very narrow passage to reach it.
We only joined the entertainment one night as the noise level was horrendous even after we moved to the back of the large room. Also while it is a family orientated hotel is it really necessary to allow very young children, some just toddlers, to run free until after midnight? It became a dodgem track when carrying drinks from bar to table. Most other hotels demand children leave after a set time and they are not allowed in the bar areas.
We have made many visits to Blackpool over the years and this is the first hotel I have to say we would not reccomend to our friends. I have read comments from others who found everything great so am not sure if we were just unlucky in room 323 or if we are too fussy but for whatever reason it was a great disappointment.
Shame on you Choice group for letting this hotel go downhill so badly.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaD420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Had another great weekend at the claremont hotel, room was excellent and very spacious, had a bay window room with lovely views of the sea, north pier and newly renovated promenade which is looking fab. Staff are always welcoming and friendly and the public areas of the hotel are always very clean and tidy, we had bed, breakfast and 3 course evening meal which cost £258 for 2 nights for 2 people, its a bit more expensive than others weeks but as the lights are on its to be expected. Only slight negative is the hotel needs a lick of paint outside to the front and back as it seems a bit tired and could put people off staying there.. But for me i love this hotel, food is spot on every time i have stayed here and the menu offers enough for every 1 to choose from, breakfast sets you up for the day with cereals, fruit or porridge to start and full breakfast to follow with as much tea, coffee and toast you can eat...Parking is good if you can not park at the front of the hotel there is a private car park at the back of the hotel as well.. There is also a pool in the hotel plus pamper treatments as well, also there is a kids club. On a whole is a great base to stay when visiting blackpool.. Angie from Doncaster

Room Tip: Ask for a bay window room is possible as they are a little bigger rooms and ask for a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiepanjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

i booked this hotel before i read reviews,then i read them and they were mixed some not so good BUT,i am glad i ignored them because i loved this hotel i will go back it was clean staff very nice entertainment was good thanks to ryan he was great , people forget this is an old hotel which i love and for an old hotel it is amazing our beds were comfy clean and maid service every day chloe on reception is very nice swimming great kids club a godsend So don't allways be put off by rewviews some peaple are never happy. thanks claremont for a great holiday, one more thing you can park at tha hotel over the road for £10 per day .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Address: 270 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £59 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and pleasantly decorated, 143 bedrooms at the Claremont Hotel in Blackpool offer our guests the privacy and comfort you would expect from a traditional seaside hotelAll with en-suite and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool's promenade and the famous Illuminations, there are a range of sizes sleeping from one to a family of five. In room facilities of these great Blackpool bedrooms include direct dial telephone, colour LCD television, hairdryers and beverage tray whilst irons and boards are available on request.With a swimming pool, sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room the Claremont Hotel makes it the ideal venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing