We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just spent a great weekend at the Claremont with the family. Was recommended this hotel by my parents who visited last January on the All Inclusive package. We decided to go along with them as it seemed really good value for money. Not that keen on Blackpool so didn't know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel looks a little tatty from the outside but don't let this put you off! Inside is very warm and welcoming. Although the hotel was full we were soon checked in and were able to choose a table for our evening meal and breakfast in the dining room. Our family room was huge and lovely and warm with plenty of hot water. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The all inclusive was great - all the alcoholic drinks were branded and the food in the restaurant is of 4 star quality! It was quite funny watching all the more mature guests taking advantage of the all inclusive drinks!! I'm sure the staff are well used to this!! There was entertainment in the evening but we were unable to get a table in the concert room as the hotel was full, plus we had two children with us so wasnt really appropriate. The hotel provided a kids club called the base which our two loved - as there were only 4 children using it, they received lots of attention! All in all a great weekend break which didn't break the bank - we will more than likely return again next year.

Room Tip: Family rooms are huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1970206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    463
    140
    68
    62
See reviews for
442
552
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The room was clean and quite big. Plenty of milk tea and coffee. Wouldn't rave on the bathroom very long and narrow. Food was excellent, good service very pleasant staff. The entertainment starts around nine oclock and both nights we were there they had a good act on. The drinks are expensive £3. 40 a pint of mild. Around £15--£20 pound for a bottle of wine The no 1 bus stops right outside hotel takes you to freeport the outlet village. There is also a taxi rank outside the hotel. We got the train to Blackpool and the hotel was just 8 mins walk from the station.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrigout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My friend and I have just spent a weekend at the Claremont. We got a fantastic deal so thought there must be a catch! There wasn't! We had a great time and because the weather was so wild we only ventured out Saturday to shop. The evening meals were fabulous, with plenty of choice, and our waiter great. Breakfast was just ok but we both prefer to eat later anyway! The drinks were a bit expensive but I suppose you are paying for the entertainment, though we didn't watch it as we made our own entertainment with the lovely people we met there. Lovely bedroom, and even though people have stated the bathrooms were small ours was fine and we even had a bath to soak our weary shopped limbs in ;) All in all it was great and we will go back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

this hotel is great for families and couples alike. Good sized bedrooms good meals and good entertainment helpful staff. Been here every year for the last 10 yrs and enjoy my stay each time.the bathrooms are a bit small but then again you dont spend that much time in there.the location is great and is in walking distance to the tower,the shops and north and central piers .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillcheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Spent an all inclusive weekend at the Claremont earlier in the year and enjoyed it very much. So much so My wife and I went back in early November with 3 friends. We found the staff very obliging, rooms clean and tidy, good choice of food which was served quickly, efficiently and professionally. The entertainment was first class with a female singer and male comedian on each night. Yes the hotel is dated but every effort has been made to ensure guests have a good and enjoyable experience at a very acceptable price. The hotel also has a swimming pool which you don't get in many 2 star establishments. Full marks to Choice Hotels, we'll certainly be going back early in the New Year.

Room Tip: Rooms off the main corridors are a bit quieter but the compromise is you don't have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

It was our wedding anniversary and, having married ten years ago on Halloween in Las Vegas, we tried to recapture the magic in the Las Vegas of the North! We went on spec, we'd easily find somewhere to stay because Blackpool is on it's bum in the recession, right? Well wrong it was hammered; nearly everywhere had no room at the inn, little B & Bs, big hotels - all full. This might have been because the lights were on and it was Halloween - by the way ,if your're listening Blackpool your lights are rubbish this year they were much better last year. Anyway we happened upon the Claremont on the front. Yippee they had a room! Hundred quid for the room and breakfast, the reception area was a bit tatty and it was a bit dear for Blackpool, but never mind we were sure the rooms would be lovely! Mmmm...clean? Yes. Tea and Coffee in the room? Yes. But oh... it just seemed so tatty and grim. It definitely needs a makeover. Breakfast was a bit chaotic and we waited ages to be served but the restaurant was huge and really busy (very nice too compared to the rest of the hotel). Location wise it was great for us as it was really close to the best Italian restaurant in the world (including Italy!), Tiramasu; review to follow. We also found a great little jazz pub/club around the corner. If you are booking in advance there are much nicer, cheaper hotels but if it's the only place left, it's clean and the staff do their best.

Room Tip: Probably cheaper to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludlowcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Marchbirdy

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

There is a continual programme of refurbishment in place throughout the company and we try our best to prioritise those areas in most need.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope you may return to see us one day.

Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

i find the clifs hotel in blackpool ,relaxing,enjoyable,very good entertainment,excellant food,for any occasion,for a week or for that needed weekend break.the rooms are clean. and bright . just a bit to warm. good location , a nice walk after breakfast to blackpool shopping, a great family hotel to stay,(but just a good on your own)would recommend to any one .

Room Tip: the best rooms are facing the sea if possible ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#16 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Property: Claremont Hotel
Address: 270 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and pleasantly decorated, 143 bedrooms at the Claremont Hotel in Blackpool offer our guests the privacy and comfort you would expect from a traditional seaside hotelAll with en-suite and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool's promenade and the famous Illuminations, there are a range of sizes sleeping from one to a family of five. In room facilities of these great Blackpool bedrooms include direct dial telephone, colour LCD television, hairdryers and beverage tray whilst irons and boards are available on request.With a swimming pool, sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room the Claremont Hotel makes it the ideal venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing