We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, superb food.”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, superb food.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this trip the day before and recalled it had been recommended by someone to us. On arrival in reception we were greeted by a smiling although busy reception staff, handed our keys and given directions to our rooms. We were presently surprised when we opened the door to the room, it was quite spacious, wardrobe (with extra pillows), kettle, small flat screen tv, dressing table (Hair Dryer in a drawer) and a comfortable chair, not forgetting the beds, divan style with we found to our sleeping comfort later very warm cosy quilts.

We had booked for breakfast and dinner meals, so our first trip to the restaurant was for dinner. We were shown to a table which we would dine at for the rest of our stay, we were quickly approached by a waiter to take a drinks order while we perused the menu, there was a good choice for all tastes for both starters and mains. The food was served without too much of a wait and both courses were of high quality and tasted absolutely gorgeous. The desserts were self service, so no diets being thought about while dining at this hotel, ha !
Breakfast was self service, although if you required something they didn't have on display i.e. poached eggs they would oblige. They brought tea/coffee and toast to your table for you.

There is quite a big bar area with plenty of comfy seating to relax in after the meal or infact any time of the day, in the evenings they have entertainment (a singer and a comedian, while we were there), the showroom is separate from the bar so if you want a quiet drink away from the noise that is possible.
The hotel caters for all ages, there were a lot of families while we were there as it was the Illumination Turn On Weekend. The hotel had a children's club in the basement as well as entertainment before the nights show, so the parents could relax in the bar while there children were well looked after by the hotel staff.

The hotel also has a small pool and leisure facilities.

OVERALL: Like most hotels in Blackpool it was built a long time ago and has an old quaintness about it yet it has had some work on it and is a VERY comfortable place to stay with friendly staff and SUPERB food.
Will we go again? Ohh Yes, we will !

Note; For anyone who holds a concessionary bus pass, you can currently use them on the new trams, which are wheelchair/pushchair friendly (you have to pay after 6pm at weekends during the Illuminations though).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    470
    142
    71
    65
See reviews for
454
567
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very enjoyable stay for myself, wife, children & grandchildren. All-inclusive Bank holiday break. Service in the restaurant was exellent, All loved the food and the wide range of choice. Service at the bar was also exellent with a wide range of drinks available whithin the all- inclusive offer.Rooms are clean and comfortable.Evening entertainment was good with a good variety of quallity artists. Kids loved the base club and the swiming pool but asks if you could put a slide into pool. Positon of hotel is good as it is on the front but just out of the way of the Blackpool hustle and bustle. All staff was very polite and helpfull.Also noticed that there was security personel at the hotel entrance door on an evening which is reasuring when you have children in your party. Overall all familly had a very enjoyable and memorable stay and all have recomended the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel with my husband and it was fantastic, the room we had was clean, comfortable and cosy and the food was amazing, the location was good aswell not too close bot main town just 5 minutes from north pier.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

do not stay in room 334 as this can only be described as a single room, in fact the single room opposite 330 was big if not bigger than our double room. The room was very hot and stuffy, so much so that a fan was provided. There is also an inappropriately positioned toilet roll holder in the bathroom, which is located next to the sink and you would have to have six foot long arms to reach!!!! I don't understand why we got this room as we booked a year in advance. So my advice to the hotel is, have a word with the people who take the bookings and get them to allocate the nicer rooms to the people who book first and to the hotel management, room 334 is a single room, so change it to one then you will have two single rooms in the whole of the hotel instead of the current one!
We did have a really good time though and this was our third year there, we have also booked again for next year already....... but not in room 334.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 334 as this can only be described as a single room, in fact the single room oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceySmith0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel on half board Fri-Sun. The hotel is quite quirky and is a little dated. but what this hotel does do, is offer vlue for money. The food was good with pleanty of choice both at breakfast and at dinner time. In resturant, we were served by the lovely Mel who really did look after all six of us reallywell, she couldnt do enough for us.

The rooms were quite small and during July with no breeze it became quite uncomfortable, but the hotel were qyuick to offer a fan for the room. Rooms were clean and prety well apointed.

There is entertainment on each night or you can relax and enjoy a drink in the sun lounge if not taking to the many attractions in Blackpool.

The hotel has good car parking both at the hotel and just up accross the road at the back of the hotel.

We booked through Venere.com who were cheaper than the hotels website at that time!

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are much larger, but may come at a premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went to the Claremont as a large family group (three family groups plus our retired parents) on the recommendation of my brother who went there with his family a couple of years ago. We were not disappointed.

The hotel itself is in a good location, just 10 minutes walk from the tower and North Pier, and located close to a tram stop. Sadly, and this is no reflection on the hotel, the tram service is NOT what it used to be. Regular "scheduled" trams, without anywhere near enough seating mean that at busy times (from 10am to 11am) trams simply drive past totally full. For all the expense of buying new bendy trams, Blackpool transport have made the service worse. They need to run more trams ! Fortunately there is also a bus stop and taxi rank next door to the hotel, so there are plenty of options.

Upon arrival at the end of July in the continuing heat we were having, we found our room VERY hot. We asked for some fans and two duly arrived. However, it was still very muggy, so we asked for a transfer to another room, and the staff on the check in desk were wonderful in sorting a new room for us which was much more airy. i cant fault their helpfulness and efforts.

The room itself was spacious, clean and we had a decent view. The in room coffee and tea was foul (imagine the cheapest tea or coffee you can buy). This was a shame as penny pinching in this way was not what we saw from the hotel in every other respect.

The bar areas and general decorations, chairs, seating, were good and the bar prices very fair. Happy hour was a good time to buy a bottle of wine, and the house wine was perfectly drinkable.

Food, I have to say, was really rather good. Breakfast was a sort of bog standard full English, with cereals and other fruit/yoghurt choices available, and you couldn't fault it. But evening meals were really VERY good indeed. Great menu choices, varied, good portion sizes and great traditional desserts as well as other more continental options meant that you always left feeling very satisfied. Indeed, my whole family left having put on several pounds. Very satisfying ! The only let down about the dinners was the staff who, yes, seemed very over worked and were never slacking, but found it difficult to muster a smile. I know its hard work, but a smile takes very little more effort.

We used the pool, which was clean and a good size for a hotel of this size. The evening kids club in "The Base" also kept my six year old amused and is a great idea for a hotel of this type.

Overall, price, food, facilities, location and cleanliness were great. We're already looking to go again in two years time (we do the UK every other year).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_EssUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

excellent staff. fantastic room with sea view. beds changed daily and room cleaned
lovely restaurant and food.waitresses tend to ur every need..
well stocked bar with all named drinks. if drink you wanted wasnt on list you paid a £1.
5 minutes walk to tower.
if not leaving til later in the day. you can leave your luggage and pick it up later

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northeast_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Property: Claremont Hotel
Address: 270 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and pleasantly decorated, 143 bedrooms at the Claremont Hotel in Blackpool offer our guests the privacy and comfort you would expect from a traditional seaside hotelAll with en-suite and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool's promenade and the famous Illuminations, there are a range of sizes sleeping from one to a family of five. In room facilities of these great Blackpool bedrooms include direct dial telephone, colour LCD television, hairdryers and beverage tray whilst irons and boards are available on request.With a swimming pool, sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room the Claremont Hotel makes it the ideal venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing