We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW DID THEY GET 4 STARS”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Baron
Ranked #334 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2011

not sure how this hotel got 4 stars,just got back from a weekend stay there,the room was not too bad except there was 3 lights not working in the ceiling,shower door was off the rails and dint shut properly,the shower its self was coming away from the wall,there was no signs anywhere where the dining room was,the breakfast were very skimpy and was served on like a sandwhich plate,wasnt asked if we wanted beans or toms just got 1/2 a tom 1 sausage,1 bacon,ahs brown egg,the pot of tea we had was like dishwater must use cheapy tea bags,it says it has ample parking but it hasnt,you have to leave your car keys with the owner incase he has to move your car ,no mention of that on the website,we used our car one day when we came back we couldnt park anywhere ,on the door as you go out it says have you left your keys with reception (car keys) there is no reception what so ever ,when we left there was no have you enjoyed your stay or anything and his wife is very moody not someone you could approach ,the tea and coffee making facilities you had in your room was very skimpy 4 little milks (we needed 4 in one coffee)4 coffee sachets i suggest you buy some milk and take it with you,for £70.00 a night for a double room with breakfast in my opinion was not woth it the breakfast was very skimpy,and they dont even tell you were the dining room is and there are no signs up any where and no reception ,i would not return to this hotel and would not recomend it and the whole of downstairs stunk of fag smoke

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed at The Baron with my partner Friday-Monday to see the illuminations in October. I use to go to Blackpool yearly but my partner had never been. It was my first stay at The Baron. After a long search on the internet The Baron was chosen for its location (nicer north end of Blackpool and seafront location). Parking was available and we selected a seaview room.

When we arrived the car park was full and there was a lot of people waiting to check in. Which was fair enough as we had arrived at check in time (2pm). The owners kindly informed us that there was another car park around the back.

We were shown to our room. The Baron has a lift but I chose the stairs as I don't like lifts. There was a lot of stairs!

The room was a double with a single bed also. En-suite toilet and shower. A lovely sea view, Ample storage, tea and coffee making facilities. The room was clean and the owners were pleasant.

The negatives for the hotel was that there was no bath mat provided so had to step out of the shower onto a cold tiled and slippery when wet floor. There were no plastic cups or glasses to rinse you mouth out with after cleaning your teeth. The opening did not close securely so on our last night when there were 60mph winds this made the room very cold and you could see the curtains moving! We were given biscuits only on the first night and they were never replenished and I remember seeing something on the website about complimentary mineral water which was not in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandora26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Hello Pandora,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review and all the positive things you have kindly written.
As you rightly say we are extremely busy at The Baron and unfortunately we overlooked the hygenically wrapped beakers and the mineral water etc.
We have whipped the member of the team concerned with rusty barbed wire to within an inch of his life and hopefully he will not forget again!
In fairness had it been mentioned when the omission was noticed it would have been attended to immediately.As it was things were put right the following morning when the room was serviced.
Regarding your concerns about the slippery en-suite floor you need not have worried.Approximately 2 years ago when we refurbished all 20 en-suite bath and shower rooms we specifically chose non slip flooring recommended by our builder.
Incidentally the heating in all our rooms is controlled by thermastatic valves on the radiators.
Thanks once again for your review we look forward to welcoming you to The Baron on your next visit to Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Have just returned from Blackpool after a three night stay at the Baron Hotel. A pleasure to stay there. Spotlessly clean rooms comfortable beds and excellent shower. Breakfast wonderful, with very accommodating staff. Landlord and landlady very friendly. Only a short walk from the Tower and Winter Gardens. Would highly recommend this Guest House, which has the bonus of a car park.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sea view, but if you do not intend to stay in the room all day, it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were a family of five and chose the Baron Hotel for its proximity to the town centre and tower amusements etc. I would highly recommend this Hotel for the friendliness of staff and the high standards of cleanliness and superb food on offer. We really appreciated their assistance in booking Taxi's Restaurants etc. very helpful. They also have a wheelchair available for anyone that needs it, how thoughtful. To Marian, Graham and Bob thank you very much as Craig Revel Horwood would say FAB-U-LOUS and as Arnie would say WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: All rooms very comfortable we enjoyed a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

went to veiw the rooms on arrival asked to be near lift,taken to 2nd floor told to climb 2 flights of stairs as lift never went to top floof ,complained was shown other room at back of hotel?,we had booked 2 seaveiv rooms ,
the attitude of landlady was more or less take it or leave it she said she had told us on booking about the rooms. as we are 2 people over 65 with 2 grandchildren if i had known tis i certainly would not have booked .4 star must be from another planet ,needs to learn manners. do not think of this place.salvation army may have better vaccancies,this is only a guest house.

Room Tip: stay in a proper hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ken a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

If, like us, you prefer peace and quiet, this guesthouse is for you. Very friendly and helpful staff and lovely and clean, which makes a big differece. The room we had was pleasent and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was spot on, really nice man serving it too. Oh, and compliments to the chef. Abit of a walk into the centre but trams and buses stop right outside. Could't fault anything, thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July for my other half's birthday and we weren't disappointed. As soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome. Marian and Graham are really down to earth.

The room was lovely, especially the bathroom which looked like it had recently been refurbished, and thought the swans made from the towels was a nice touch! In fact, the whole hotel was decorated to a very high standard. The bar area was also nice, with a little terrace to go out for a smoke. Breakfast was very good, the waiter Bob was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

It was ideal for what we wanted as it was a short walk to the town centre and nightlife but far enough out so you weren't in the hustle and bustle. It also had good parking facilities which is hard to come by in hotels in Blackpool.

The only bad thing about the whole weekend was the awful weather!

We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayz2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing