We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baron
Ranked #280 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Ok, you could argue that this is not a Hotel, it's more a B&B or Guest House, but whatever you want to describe it as it is a wonderful, quaint, comfortable, and more importantly, clean establishment, run by a friendly couple, who are only to pleased to help in any way they can.
I stayed here with my family over the Easter BH period, occupying rooms 23, (Twin with sea views) and 24, (Double with sea views).
Both had modern, well equipped bathrooms, and although there was no bath, (which i didn't mind), there was an excellent shower and always plenty of hot water. The bedroom itself was modestly furnished and comfortable, with nice views, through double glazed windows, out to sea and down towards the North Pier.

Breakfast was very, very good. Beautifully cooked, whether it be a full English or simply eggs on toast. There was cereal and fresh fruit if you wanted something lighter, together with a selection of yoghurts and fruit juices, and as much toast & preserves as you could want. I have stayed in some 5* hotels that didn't feed you so well.

My only gripe, if that's what you want to call it, is that there are no evening meals served. I would have gladly paid a little extra for BB&EM, especially if it were up to the standard of the breakfasts. I did raise this point with Graham, the owner, who said that there were so many eating establishments in Blackpool that they couldn't compete, price wise.

After paying, (for two adults & two teenagers), over £60 in Harry Ramsdens, (for fish & chips!), then £80+ in another restaraunt and £120+ in another in the four nights we stayed in Blackpool, given longer I would argue what he was saying!

The bar in the lounge area was an absolute dream! After spending 8 hours roaming round the Pleasure Beach with two teenagers, a very large G&T and to collapse into a comfy sofa was bliss.

Barnaby, (the owners African Grey), has to get a mention, as being a tease. Go to his cage in the bar and try to get him to talk to you and he will ignore you, but if you leave him alone and sit quietly he will chat away for ages, (my two girls loved him).

The Baron will be top of my list when looking to stay in Blackpool again, without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at the front of the building & are a little extra, but i don't mind that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R00ster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a traditional English B and B, complete with a "Basil Fawlty" manager/owner. The decor was terrific, room comfy, breakfast superlative and the location was right on the waterfront near all the action and shops. Parking was a bit tricky as it is in many parts of England. It took a wee bit of time to retrieve the car when we left in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked online through booking.com last minute on Saturday 3rd March. Never stayed in a guest house before as always stayed in hotels. However, The Baron was superb, cannot say anything bad about it and shall permanently book my stay here when I visit Blackpool again! Worth all 4 stars in which it has been accredited!

Upon arrival we were given a very warm and friendly welcome. Elegantly furnished, warm and sophisticated decor! Stayed in room 11, superior room which had modern, stylish bathroom and superking size bed. Bed was very comfortable. Double glazed windows which lead to a well deserved quiet night!

Fully English breakfast included in the price. Well presented and served without any grease, good quality meat, not your cheap cuts and locally sourced. The waiter was very professional and accomadating!

Oh and lastly, free car park which is rare these days!!

We will definately be back and will recommend to others!

Catherine and Craig

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for New year £40 per person Bed & breakfast in a Superior Room. The only thing that was superior was the bathroom obviously just been refurbished to a high standard. Room itself was basic good quality carpet but a bit old fashioned stayed in room 11. Breakfast was very good but felt a bit cramped in the dining room as though everyone was on top of you. Stay in Blackpool on a regular basis and have stayed in a lot better and cheaper than this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gouldingstephen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just got back from a short break at The Baron Hotel. There was more than adequate parking which is a rare thing in Blackpool. The Hotel was very welcoming, clean and comfortable. Both the bedroom and bathroom were a good size, ours had both a shower and bath! Bed was comfortable and everywhere was very clean. Upon arrival we were given a choice of room and the hospitality from start to finish was perfect. The breakfasts were the best ever with so much choice.
Barney the African Grey parrot was a real hit with us both. Will definitely be returning when we visit Blackpool again. Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Able to park on a busy weekend, warm welcome, rooms a good size, beds are very comfortable, the whole place is very clean. Bathroom was big with shower and bath. However, for the same price you could stay in a very modern hotel with 24 hour reception (hotel is tradionally decorated and has plastic flowers/ivy everywhere?), room service, buffet breakfast and a resturant on site, so I thought it was a little over priced at £70 per night. I think £50 per night is a fair price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyaslarry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Hello
Thanks for your kind comments about the cleanliness,size of the room,bathroom and superking size bed it was much appreciated.

There are a couple of comments that puzzled me however.

We know from recent personal experience that modern chain Hotels charge extra for breakfast and parking.We were recently charged an extra £15 per person per day for breakfast which was buffet style and not waitress served as ours is. In addition to that, parking was £7.50 per day extra whereas we do not make a charge.Our tariff includes both parking and an extensive choice of breakfast menu, but it is fair to say that there was a 24hrs reception facility.

When making comparisons you have to compare like for like.If you had done that as we have you would of found our tariff very competative, as we did from our research.
Interestingly whilst staying with us you chose to extend your stay rather than move to the modern hotel,we find that curious.

Now I know that I am not an horticultralist by any stretch of the imagination,in fact when I have laid a lawn my wife has had to lean out of the bedroom window and shout "green side up" but even I know the ivy is real and the flowers are fresh.
Maybe it would of been prudent to put finger to petal before finger to keyboard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just got back from a 2 night stay at The Baron with my husband, brother in law and sister in law, plenty of parking spaces, very warm welcome, rooms were good size and bathroom lovely and clean, breakfast lovely with a good variarty of cereal, fruit juices and yogurts and the english breakfast was cooked to order, there was also a continental choice. we also made a new friend Barny the african grey parrot. Will definitley be returning,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#451 of 856 in Blackpool
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#90 of 856 in Blackpool
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#198 of 856 in Blackpool
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing